We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at shoreline”
Review of Shoreline Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kannur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shoreline Resorts
Ranked #7 of 62 Kannur B&B and Inns
Pondicherry, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at shoreline”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were fortunate enough to arrive in Shoreline. The location is gorgeous, right on a desert beach, and the place is very nicely taken care off. The staff is very helpful and we enjoyed a lot eating the delicious food on the terrass with a view on the sea. In other words, great place to stay near Kannur!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed three nights at the shoreline resort, also at new year. The rooms were really clean and furnished nice, the food well prepared and the people there took always care of use. At new year the owner made a nice little party. We had reserved two cottages and the price was more than reasonable. Also food was included in the price. You enjoy lunch and dinner together with the other guests in a very familiar atmosphere. It is very close to one of the most wonderful beaches I have ever seen. You are almost alone there most of the time. Summary: A perfect place to stay in Kannur!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Fabulous place, a little out of the way from backpacker trail but actually really worth it. I just stayed for one night because I had a busy itinerary but would have stayed for a couple if i could have. Every mealtime was a feast, really enjoyed the food. And felt very comfortable here; more like a very relaxed guesthouse than an actual homestay. Location cant really be beat, but be WARNED lone women dont swim alone- besides the decseptivly strong currents the local boys are a real nuisance (though pretty harmless). Lovely private and clean room. Very little to do here but lounge on the beach and stare at the gorgeous views- would be more suited to couples, otherwise take a good book. Shockingly they have working WIFI here but no devices so take ur laptop/iphone; this was a great aditition as i used this time to catch up with people at home. Would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed for six nights in two phases separated by a few days. In both phases, there were no other guests and we had the place to ourselves. We took the two upstairs rooms and had exclusive use of the beautiful large balcony - a lot of our time was spent on this balcony. Food was served on a large table on this balcony too.

The first phase was accompanied by torrential tropical rain of a kind we have not witnessed too often. You would think that we would be bored indoors. Wrong! It was the most beautiful monsoon we have ever experienced. When it rained, the availability of free wifi took care of the kids while the adults relaxed around the balcony. You didn't need
the outdoors as the balcony was a place of sublime beauty and peace. Thirty yards in front of the balcony is the Arabian sea - furious and hypnotic in the rains. Immediately behind the house is a serene backwater river called the Thottada river - the serenity contrasted with the fury of the sea. On the side of the property is a small stretch of water where the river meets the sea. All you have to do is sit in a corner of the balcony and swivel your head for fantastic vistas. Great place to read a book, have a drink or a cup of tea or just daydream. The neighbouring piece of land has a few coconut trees and the toddyman comes every day to collect the coconut tree sap. It is great watching him climb one tree after another - it is such an ancient sight.

When the rains stopped intermittently, we would dash out to the beach. The beach is pristine and long with very few people. Swimming in the sea is not advisable at this time of the year but you can go for lovely walks on the beach. One can also check on the catches of the fishermen who come out when the rain abates. My son would occasionally join the local kids in a game of cricket. Managed to see a theyyam performance in a temple on one of the mornings.

Our second stay had less rains and we ventured out more to the beach. The owner (who lives in Dubai) was in town (in a different property in Kannur town) with family and treated us to some marvellous hospitality. Particular mention must be made of a delightful Kerala Sadya meal prepared by his wife. We were also invited to join in some family temple rituals which we enjoyed thooroughly. The kids became friends right away.

Hamza, the cook and the caretaker was a delight. He is a hardworking, patient, pleasant man who takes a ot of pride in his job. You just have to ask him what you want to eat but please give him a bit of time (at least a day) as the place is far away from shops. He served us delightful food right through both our stays. We ate all kinds of biriyanis and parathas, served with curries (both veg and nonveg), salads and fruits. The seafood range through the stays encompassed crabs, prawns, mussels, squids, pomfrets, karimeens, mackerels and other fishes - all cooked very nicely by Hamza. Thanks Hamza and Raju (who supplied the provisions every day) for making a beautiful stay possible for us.

Would certainly go back for another monsoon stay in the future.
- t1nkud

Room Tip: The upstair rooms are the ones with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t1nkud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed two nights in March 2011 and loved it. It is a new relatively newly built guest-house with large bedrooms and a very large eating place/veranda on the first floor with views out to the beach. We had the place to ourselves and the manager attended discretely to our every need. He prepared delicious meals (except breakfast which was a bit unimaginative - hard boiled eggs and toast). We could spend hours on the balcony looking out at the beach. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at Shoreline Garden for 3 nights in mid December 2010. The location by the beach was fantastic and the balcony on the first floor was a great place to sit out and read. The food was great and the caretaker was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had the place to ourselves which was slightly surprising but made for a very relaxing stay. I had to do some work whilst I was staying so the wi fi connection was very convenient. If we ever go back to Kannur we'd definitely stay again. It wasn't amazing value for money but given the location and the amount of food we ate it worked out pretty reasonable!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skybluedave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We booked this location over phone for the weekend, and were pretty satisfied with the deal offered by Mr. Renith (Rs. 2500/- including three meals for the weekend). However, he left India soon after, and most of the further discussions/interactions happened with the caretaker at the property.

On arrival, we found that none out of the 5 rooms we booked had proper working A/Cs. On requesting for help, the immediate answer from the caretaker was that we only provide these, but have no idea how to operate them. Since it was pretty hot, and we had small kids with us, we were desperate and had to keep asking them for help. Finally, they changed the batteries of the remote, which fixed the A/Cs in all but one room. We finally had to call up Mr. Renith (who was still out of India) to get this fixed, and at the end of the day, we had to switch rooms to get a working A/C.

We also found that none of the TVs were working (subscribtion with Reliance BigTV had expired), and again had to "work hard" with the caretaker to get them fixed. Even when the connection was revived, the number of channels available were extremely limited (no movies, no cartoons, no soaps, no useful channels). Ultimately, we had to stay away from the TV for the weekend.

At this point, I must mention that rooms were pretty good and clean (initially, at least), with a nice lawn and direct access to the almost secluded beach.

Anyways, next came the breakfast. All that was provided was some puris (fried Indian bread) and gravy. And the quantity wasn't sufficient for all of us. On complaining about it, the caretaker was adamant enough to tell us right in our face that they only expect visitors from outside India, and they had accepted our stay only because they did not have any foreign visitors over this weekend. And that visitors from abroad never complain about such food. He even went on to tell us that he (they?) did not care how we Indians rated the property or what feedback we have!

This is when we had to call up Mr. Renith and told him about all of the above.

The rest of the meals were decent, though we had to literally bargain for what would be prepared. Well, considering a homestay in Kerala, the variety and quantity of the food was certainly well below expectations (just for reference, compare with Chera Rocks http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g777115-d1439644-r63695873-Chera_Rock_Beach_House-Kannur_Kerala.html).

Last, but not the least, the caretaker was extremely rude. Any kind of requests were met with a frown and grumbling. Requests to clean the room were simply refused (the rooms were not cleaned even once during our two days of stay).

Well, coming to the other aspects, the place is very well located right next to the beach and is very conveniently accessible from the rooms. There's also a small freshwater lagoon right behind the property.

The beach was lovely, with coarse golden sand. However, the sea was very rough, and the beach had a nasty incline which made it very dangerous.

Overall, the scenic beauty, as the usual case with Kerala, was simply too good.

Had the service and behavior with guests been any better, this would have made a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoumitraChatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kannur
0.0 km away
The Malabar Beach
The Malabar Beach
#2 of 23 in Kannur
185 reviews
0.0 km away
CLUB7 Beach Resort
CLUB7 Beach Resort
#6 of 23 in Kannur
68 reviews
0.0 km away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Asokam Beach Resort
Asokam Beach Resort
#4 of 23 in Kannur
282 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue Mermaid Homestay
Blue Mermaid Homestay
#1 of 3 in Thottada
287 reviews
0.0 km away
Mascot Beach Resort
Mascot Beach Resort
#7 of 23 in Kannur
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Resorts

Property: Shoreline Resorts
Address: E S I Road, | Thottada, Kannur 670007, India (Formerly Shoreline Home Stay)
Region: India > Kerala > Kannur District > Kannur
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kannur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best beachfront hotel at Kannur, right on the beach, ideal for swimming. Fresh cooked food served by in-house cook is a specialty. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing