We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Experience”
Review of Gaultier lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gaultier lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Woodstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Here we experienced the warmth and friendliness of the Irish. My wife and i received a keen insight to the famed Irish Hospitality that you hear so much of. The strolls on the beach in the morning were extremely relaxing as was the view from our room. The furnishings were so very comfortable so as to make everything perfect. Sheila expert knowledge of the area helped us considerably in our logistical planning for our sightseeing adventures. This is a place to go to.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Gaultier lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2009

We began our golfing tour with a couple of days by the beach at Gaultier Lodge. What a fantastic place to shake off jetlag! The view from our room was spectacular and we enjoyed watching the ship's lights at night from the comfort of that truly cosy bed, a stone's throw from the water's edge. We LOVED the decor, the character of the lodge and Sheila's hospitality. Breakfast - all skillfully prepared by Sheila herself - was unparalleled throughout our 10 day journey.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddressTBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Gaultier Lodge was the first of quite a few places we stayed in during our two week (almost) round trip in Ireland and it easily stands out amongst the best.

Sheila was a wonderful host and helpfully gave me directions to avoid the New Ross traffic on our approach from Wexford by taking the short car ferry journey from Ballyhack to Passage East (about 10 mins and €8).

It turned out that Gaultier Lodge was as close to the beach as it looked on the website, in fact our beautifully laid out room overlooked it giving us a great view. The local pub can be accessed via the beach too which meant no walking down a dark road at closing time although the Thai restaurant there was closed so we drove down to Dunmore East first to eat. Watching the sun set with a bottle of wine on the beach was a great end to our first day.

The next day started just as well with a fantastic breakfast in the large dining room. This was one of the stand out culinary experiences of the holiday. Because we were the only ones staying that particular day we felt like lords of the manor with a large table all to ourselves. The freshly baked scones and assorted breads and muffins tasted fantastic, along with a great range of fruit and cereals, topped off by a traditional Irish breakfast which fortified us for our onward journey.

I would highly recommend this to anyone as a special treat for their holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

We stayed at this sea-side bed and breakfast for two nights Aug 11-13th, 2007. Gaultier Lodge is truly a hidden gem of a hide-away and is approximately 20 minutes from Waterford and Tramore. Although it can be a touch difficult to find, it is well worth the hunt!!
Sheila Molloy the owner of this gorgeous 18th century georgian manor house, formerly a hunting lodge, is relaxed, accommodating, and a fabulous cook! No keys required here, the last person home locks the door for the night when they get in!! A lovely trustworthy touch lost years ago in so many other areas of our world. This B & B is set up completely with the house guests in mind. The bedrooms face the beach and ocean beyond, as does the dining room and the incredibly inviting lounge/sitting room.
All rooms are ensuite, and are furnished with period furniture. The views from the floor to ceiling windows over the Woodstown strand and the ocean side are maginificent.
Breakfasts here are served in the dining room where all share a large dining room table and great conversation while taking in the oyster harvesting going on at low tide right outside your window. Sheila is a gourmet cook and often provides a delicious "breakfast surprise" in addition to the usual full Irish breakfast that most B & B's in Ireland provide. Sheila will also create a lovely dinner in the evening upon request and with advance notice for an addtional fee.
The property is lovingly maintained with a plethora of plant life, and add to the quiet elegance of this beautiful property.
This property is truly a hidden gem. We were fortunate indeed to have found it on the following web-site www.hiddenireland.com as we never came across it on any of the other bed and breakfast websites for Ireland. We were also surprised to note it had never been reviewed on tripadivisor, and felt TripAdvisor users should know about this fabulous retreat.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.
Thanks Sheila!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CrazyCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Antoine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bénédicte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstown
7.8 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
5.9 km away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
684 reviews
10.9 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Three Sisters Inn
The Three Sisters Inn
#2 of 3 in Dunmore East
75 reviews
8.5 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
4.3 km away
The Strand Inn
The Strand Inn
#1 of 8 in Dunmore East
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaultier lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaultier lodge

Address: Gaultier Lodge Gaultier Lodge Woodstown Strand | Waterford, Woodstown 33422, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Woodstown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstown
Price Range: $212 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaultier Lodge is an 18th Century Georgian Country House designed by John Roberts, which overlooks the beach at Woodstown on the south east coast of Co. Waterford in Ireland. Enjoy high quality bed and breakfast guest accommodation next to the beach and Waterford Bay. Relax and unwind in the tastefully decorated rooms and warm inviting bedrooms.Enjoy an Irish breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gaultier lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing