We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
161
229
119
59
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
229
119
59
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel head waiter perugia airport umbrian countryside lovely break top floor hire car beautiful hilltop hill town small town terrace luigi plain museum views total bath
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 600 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Quiet, friendly hotel with excellent service. Clean and well maintaied. The staff couldn't do more to help. Even though it was November really enjoyed our stay. Fabulous restaurant with local wines. Franco is a great guide showing us off the beaten track sights.

Room Tip: Top floor with panoramic view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

We booked through Inspired Luxury Escapes. Perugia airport was only a short distance from Betonna so very convenient. It was our first visit to Umbria and we loved it. The hotel has so much character and has been sympathetically and tastefully furnished. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful, not least the head waiter. The views from the hotel are so beautiful. From our room we could look across to Perugia and also Assisi. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and we also enjoyed a couple of dinners. Betonna is a small but beautiful hilltop village. There are a couple of restaurants, only one of which was open during our stay (Thurs-Sun), but we did eat there and it was very good. There was one bar open and also a small shop. We also visited the museum which was very interesting. We didn't hire a car but it would be a good idea in order to get around this fabulous area. The hotel arranged for their driver to take us to Perugia one day, and to Assisi another day, at a time to suit us, and then pick us up later in the day. Franco, our driver, had an excellent knowledge of the area and it worked out cheaper than having a taxi. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our five nights there.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Meg055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

What a find. The drive to the top of the town was an adventure and the view across the valley looking over Assisi and Perugia was stunning. I wish we had stayed there more than one night. The rooms were modern and comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful. This is a small town with only a few shops but the quaintness was welcoming. The on site restaurant was small but very good. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip to Italy. The Perugia chocolate factory tour close by was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: We did not ask for special rooms but lucked out as we had a view out our window.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile

We have travelled extensively and this is a real value for money find. I have read the other reviews some are a little harsh. I look first to see if the place is clean and tidy. Here it is spotless this is a very old building but not a cobweb around. Rooms are simply furnished practical and clean. TV, fridge, desk, wardrobe. We would have liked a bath but the shower was clean and water hot.
The pool is not an olympic size but ok if you wish to cool off or exercise.
The staff are super friendly and efficient. We wanted an extra blanket and that was delivered within a minute of me getting back to the room. That is service.
The food menu is not extensive but will keep you happy for the week, and is beautifully cooked and presented, I congratulate the kitchen staff excellent service. The ravioli is outstanding. Luigi head waiter is great with the wine tasting and knowledge of the area excellent. (Vetunna wine visit a must local and cheap we have shipped 72 bottles £3.40 a bottle).
The rooms are super quiet I guess 2ft thick walls help. We have had a great stay and would happily recommend this hotel as a base to stay to explore the area. The views are great, but make sure you have a hire car.
The village has one bar, one church and one other restaurant, which was closed whilst we were here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank El-tel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Generally short of staff, but the head waiter - Luigi - was excellent and helped to make the place enjoyable. The pasta dishes were good but the menu lacked creativity and variety. Location is very close to the centre of small town and Guiseppi's bar.

Room Tip: De Luxe rooms over the restaurant have a great view over the Umbria countryside
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank G-and-J-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews