We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean good for Families”
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My family and I stayed at the Sun Viking for a long weekend and had a very nice time. The hotel is very clean and the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. The pools were very clean as were the rooms. The Lodge is remniscent of more of a "motel" with outside room entrances etc. If you are looking for luxury or resort style facilities then the Sun viking isn't for you; However if you are looking for a no frills, inexpensive, clean and safe place to spend the weekend then it's perfect. the rooms are very dated but the cleanliness makes up for it. Beds were mediocre but the room size was fantastic; we are a family of four and had plenty of room without climbing all over eachother. The balcony overlooking the ocean offered breathtaking views. The Cons: Exterior of building and rooms are dated and made me think of a "Wally World" vacation as we pulled up although we were pleasantly surprised. They offer no on site restaurant or food off season; (however there is a Denny's just a short ride up the street); the pool is fairly small (although very well kept). All in all it was a good vacation; nothing really bad to say but I think I'll be looking for a new place next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLTraveler0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review; saying we are friendly, clean and good for families is a very nice compliment, thank you. Also, we appreciate all the high ratings in the different categories; however, I was sorry to see that you did not find the beds comfortable; all rooms have brand new beds and generally, we get many compliments on them.

It does not surprise me that you found our staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, we often hear this compliment about our staff. We are happy you found the rooms and pools very clean and that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean view from your oceanfront room.

I am sorry to hear you plan on looking for a new place to stay the next time you are in town; the Griswold’s really like it here.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to send in this review. Should you change your mind to give us another try – remember you are always welcome at the Sun Viking Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked 2 rooms over Labor Day weekend. From our arrival on, it was a GREAT hotel. I have medical problems and did not book a ground room, the staff was so helpful and moved us to a ground room. Our children loved the slide, complimentary surf boards and sand castle building accessories. The pool attendant was very nice and when we called the front desk to ask if there was a specific restaurant close by, he went above and beyond to find it, even calling me back with directions! Fabulous Stay!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write such a nice review. What makes us happy is when we make our guests happy. We constantly get compliments on our staff and I am not surprised to read that our staff was able to relocate this guest to a room on the ground floor. I agree, the waterslide and guest activity program are both very popular with our guests.

Once again, thank you for such a kind review; we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Sun Viking Lodge. It was our first stay there and we loved it. We enjoyed the beautiful indoor garden pool with beautiful waterfall and lovely flowers. The outdoor pool was enjoyable, too. We had fun watching the kids (and grownups) on the waterslide. The hot tub was so relaxing after a day on the beach.
Our oceanfront room was nice and clean with a wonderful view of beautiful Daytona Beach. The bed was very comfy and just as nice as our pillowtop at home.
Our stay was right after Hurricane Irene and we found some nice shells that washed in.
We appreciate that the facility is smoke-free and pet-free. We highly recommend Sun Viking and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejacket69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

How nice to read that this first time guest enjoyed their vacation with us. Many of our guests agree with your compliments on our indoor garden pool, outdoor pool and definitely, kids of all ages love our waterslide! The beach and ocean certainly gives the viewer a beautiful picturesque landscape to see any time of the day.

We are glad you enjoyed our new comfy beds and we are happy that you feel comfortable in recommending us to your friends. Thank you for submitting these nice comments and we all look forward to welcoming the back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My daughter and I spent 2 nights. We arrived early in the day and our room was not yet ready. They expedited the cleaning and gave me a call on my cell phone as soon as the room was ready. All staff in the office and maids were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little outdated, but very clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the ocean. Enjoyed the pools... inside especially, so I could stay out of the sun part of the time. We arrived just after Labor Day weekend, so there weren't really many activities while we were there. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the ocean.... it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cindylu2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

I would like to thank this guest for submitting these comments.

I was happy to read that this guest and her daughter enjoyed their stay with us and that they found their room clean and comfortable. Our outdoor pool and waterslide are very popular and in addition, our indoor garden pool is a great hit, especially when trying to stay out of the sun. It does not surprise me to read about how friendly and helpful our employees are; they are always willing to lend a helping hand to our guests. Many times guests come to the front desk to express their gratitude for the helpful hands of one or more of our employees. We are very blessed to have such great guests and employees!

Our slow season does start after Labor Day when our poolside activities are not as numerous; however, we still offer activities most days of the week and they remain very popular.

Thank you again for this review and we look forward to welcoming this family back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The pool and waterslide is why we stayed here. My kids had a blast on the waterslide The room was clean.....very out dated but clean. They also have an indoor pool that was nice. This place is GREAT for kids!!! They have a small game room and small place to get breakfast and lunch. The whole outside pool and deck area was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank footloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Hotel was a bit dated. Customer service was phenomenal and the location was beautiful. Playground needs to have a fence protecting open access from the parking lot and road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfkj3k4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We agree with the many comments we receive from this guest and others that our employees give phenomenal service. Although we are not an upscale, luxury hotel, our employees always go out of their way to make our customers feel welcoming. They all wear a smile and it’s genuine!

Our beach location is also very much desired; we are located on a quite section of the beach; our guests enjoy a beautiful open view of the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean.
Yes, we are a bit dated – however, due to the economy, it has become quite the challenge; to keep our rates as low as possible and at the same time, keep the property well maintained. We have recently purchased all new comfy beds (200) and 300 new comforters. We also replaced both elevators using all our upgrade funds. However, this Fall, we are planning to order all new room carpeting, a new large shade awning near our indoor pool along with a few other projects. We are also taking a look at your suggestion of a fence near the playground.

I would like to thank this guest again for taking the time to send in this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We liked the how clean the property was.
Slide at the pool was great for the kids.
Room was large.. ask for the rooms in the tower.
We had 6 people in the room and had plenty of space. It had a sofa bed too.
Location was good.
The only drawback was the price... a little high for the area.

Room Tip: Stay during off season not mid summer when rates are over $100.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porkchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to send in this review. We were glad that this guest found the property clean and they enjoyed their room. It is no surprise to read the kids loved our waterslide, it is always a big hit!

I agree; rates certainly are more reasonable during our off-season which is generally September through January, excluding special events and holidays. Also the month of May is generally a good bargain as well. It is a great suggestion to come during our off season to help stretch the vacation dollar. Many of our guests enjoy full kitchens in their rooms where they can cook in for breakfast and lunch, saving both the time and money of going out to a restaurant. Our kitchens offer full refrigerators with ice makers, full oven with 4-burner stovetop, microwave, dishes, pots & pans, silverware, toaster and glassware. Another favorite is the free use of gas B-B-Q grills which offer poolside cookouts while enjoying ocean breezes.

Most of the rooms in our 8-story high-rise are oceanfront; the rooms in our 2-story lodge offer almost identical accommodations but views of the ocean are limited. Our best pricing is in our 2-story lodge.

Once again, thank you for your kind review of our property, specializing in families and couples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach Shores hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
#4 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,040 reviews
1.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#3 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,466 reviews
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#12 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
635 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express and Suites O...
#9 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
843 reviews
4.5 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#6 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach Shores, FL 32118-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
Price Range: $127 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach, 2017 thru 2011 Award of Excellence Award Winner and Florida's only Winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing