We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
565
197
59
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
197
59
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolwater slidesactivity directorhot tubstory buildingkids lovea huge hitfull kitchengreat place for familiesbasketball courtcorn holehigh risebit datedyear after yearfamily vacationeasy access to the beachstaff was very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
627 - 632 of 870 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked 2 rooms over Labor Day weekend. From our arrival on, it was a GREAT hotel. I have medical problems and did not book a ground room, the staff was so helpful and moved us to a ground room. Our children loved the slide, complimentary surf boards and sand castle building accessories. The pool attendant was very nice and when we called the front desk to ask if there was a specific restaurant close by, he went above and beyond to find it, even calling me back with directions! Fabulous Stay!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write such a nice review. What makes us happy is when we make our guests happy. We constantly get compliments on our staff and I am not surprised to read that our staff was able to relocate this guest to a room on the ground floor. I agree, the waterslide and guest activity program are both very popular with our guests.

Once again, thank you for such a kind review; we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Sun Viking Lodge. It was our first stay there and we loved it. We enjoyed the beautiful indoor garden pool with beautiful waterfall and lovely flowers. The outdoor pool was enjoyable, too. We had fun watching the kids (and grownups) on the waterslide. The hot tub was so relaxing after a day on the beach.
Our oceanfront room was nice and clean with a wonderful view of beautiful Daytona Beach. The bed was very comfy and just as nice as our pillowtop at home.
Our stay was right after Hurricane Irene and we found some nice shells that washed in.
We appreciate that the facility is smoke-free and pet-free. We highly recommend Sun Viking and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejacket69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2011

How nice to read that this first time guest enjoyed their vacation with us. Many of our guests agree with your compliments on our indoor garden pool, outdoor pool and definitely, kids of all ages love our waterslide! The beach and ocean certainly gives the viewer a beautiful picturesque landscape to see any time of the day.

We are glad you enjoyed our new comfy beds and we are happy that you feel comfortable in recommending us to your friends. Thank you for submitting these nice comments and we all look forward to welcoming the back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My daughter and I spent 2 nights. We arrived early in the day and our room was not yet ready. They expedited the cleaning and gave me a call on my cell phone as soon as the room was ready. All staff in the office and maids were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a little outdated, but very clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the ocean. Enjoyed the pools... inside especially, so I could stay out of the sun part of the time. We arrived just after Labor Day weekend, so there weren't really many activities while we were there. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the ocean.... it was perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cindylu2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

I would like to thank this guest for submitting these comments.

I was happy to read that this guest and her daughter enjoyed their stay with us and that they found their room clean and comfortable. Our outdoor pool and waterslide are very popular and in addition, our indoor garden pool is a great hit, especially when trying to stay out of the sun. It does not surprise me to read about how friendly and helpful our employees are; they are always willing to lend a helping hand to our guests. Many times guests come to the front desk to express their gratitude for the helpful hands of one or more of our employees. We are very blessed to have such great guests and employees!

Our slow season does start after Labor Day when our poolside activities are not as numerous; however, we still offer activities most days of the week and they remain very popular.

Thank you again for this review and we look forward to welcoming this family back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The pool and waterslide is why we stayed here. My kids had a blast on the waterslide The room was clean.....very out dated but clean. They also have an indoor pool that was nice. This place is GREAT for kids!!! They have a small game room and small place to get breakfast and lunch. The whole outside pool and deck area was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank footloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Hotel was a bit dated. Customer service was phenomenal and the location was beautiful. Playground needs to have a fence protecting open access from the parking lot and road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfkj3k4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We agree with the many comments we receive from this guest and others that our employees give phenomenal service. Although we are not an upscale, luxury hotel, our employees always go out of their way to make our customers feel welcoming. They all wear a smile and it’s genuine!

Our beach location is also very much desired; we are located on a quite section of the beach; our guests enjoy a beautiful open view of the sparkling blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean.
Yes, we are a bit dated – however, due to the economy, it has become quite the challenge; to keep our rates as low as possible and at the same time, keep the property well maintained. We have recently purchased all new comfy beds (200) and 300 new comforters. We also replaced both elevators using all our upgrade funds. However, this Fall, we are planning to order all new room carpeting, a new large shade awning near our indoor pool along with a few other projects. We are also taking a look at your suggestion of a fence near the playground.

I would like to thank this guest again for taking the time to send in this review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews