We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place to go with little kids!”
Review of Sun Viking Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Viking Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We're actually still at the hotel and love this place. We're here with a 3 year old, 21-month old, 3-month old, mom (me), dad and grandma. We didn't know what to expect but this place is GREAT for families with little kids. We're on the ground floor (highly recommended) and 50 feet from the pool and 200 feet (?) from the beach. They have a playground, heated indoor pool (we haven't used yet) and the pool with slide is great for the 2 older kids - they love it. The room was fine. The kitchenette worked out nice so we didn't have to leave the hotel since we didn't have a car. We're talking about coming back again next year.

The only downfall is that it's $50+ for a late checkout even though there's LOTS of empty rooms. Our flight doesn't leave until 6pm. I guess I can see $50+ if it's a weekend or they were busy but it's slow now and it's Wednesday!

Very friendly hotel with great amenities for families.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2009

We traveled to Daytona Beach on some personal business. We booked four nights at the Sun Viking, looking for a decent, clean, comfy place to stay that had a kitchenette so we didn't have to eat every meal in a restaurant (for the health of our waists as well as our wallets!) I wasn't expecting luxury (thank goodness) but I was really disappointed. Our room was modestly furnished (as expected) and did have a working kitchenette. The room had a really musty smell but we thought a little "airing out" was perhaps in order so we didn't think too much of it. After our first night our eyes were watering and we were having allergy-type runny noses. They'd get better during the day and then after a night in the room they were bad again. I know the hotel is aimed at families but the pools and jacuzzi were so overrun with children that it was really unpleasant for adults. We checked out a day early (sans refund) because we couldn't take the smell, noise, and itchy eyes/runny noses anymore. I also had some type of reaction (detergent, perhaps?) to the sheets and was very itchy on my arms and legs.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Dylaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2009

We would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write this review. We do take all reviews seriously and use many of these suggestions to make improvements.

We apologize to these guests, if they felt the room was musty. Due to our oceanfront location, we are always challenged with dealing with humidity and salt air.

Our property is and has always been family-friendly, so children are welcomed. It sounds like this guest recognized that we catered to families, by making the comment “I know the hotel is aimed at families” but then added, “the pools and Jacuzzi were overrun with children”. This may be due to the time period in which this guest stayed at our property. From the date of this review, it appears their vacation dates were during the Easter Holiday; a time when we have many families vacationing with us.

We are not sure what may have caused this guest’s eyes to water, or what caused itchy arms and legs. This guest suggested maybe the detergent used to launder the sheets could have been the cause. This of course, could be an individuals’ personal reaction. We have never had anyone ever complain of these symptoms, either before or after this complaint.

Our goal is for all guests to enjoy their vacation at the Sun Viking Lodge and we do feel bad that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us.

We certainly hope that these guests will continue to vacation in Daytona Beach and we feel sure they will find a hotel that will be a perfect fit for their vacation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We drove down from Atlanta and decided to stay in Daytona Beach for one night before heading to a friends wedding in Ocala. My 8 year old daughter loves water so we chose this hotel due to the many positive reviews and the 60' water slide. Sure enough, she had a blast at the outdoor pool and really enjoyed the water slide. We ventured onto the beach where she was able to dig into the sand and look for shells. The only downside to our one day was that it was very windy so it made it difficult to stay warm . We're looking to come back when it's a little warmer and we can stay a longer.

When we walked into our room we did notice a slightly musty/humid smell. However, I attributed that to out proximity to the beach. The bath tub also did not drain properly but I made a note on the review sheet provided by the front desk upon check-in. Hopefully, someone will address that. Again, as others have stated, this is not the Ritz, but for a great little spot on the beach, it's a great find!

The kitchenette in the room was very convenient and if we were staying longer would have been a huge plus! WI-FI worked really well. Jacuzzi was nice and relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Went on the spur of the moment and still had a great time at the Sun Viking Lodge. Only stayed one night but it's one the best hotels for families. They had all kinds of activities(Easter egg hunt, balloon toss, etc.) for the kids besides the pools, play area, and the beach. The little cafe makes a quick inexpensive breakfast or lunch. It was Easter Sunday and they had a free cookout for the guests. We unfortunately missed that but they gave us a cute little basket of chocolate eggs when we got there! The kid's loved that! The pools are clean and relaxing; we really love the indoor pool with the waterfall and plantings and the boys love the 60 ft. slide at the outdoor pool. They're both heated but not overly warm. The rooms are always well maintained with plenty of clean towels. The bedding is a little worn but it's clean and comfortable. When I inquired at the desk about finding a certain bank branch, they printed out a listing for me of locations. They have always been welcoming to my family and once you stay, they give you a discount on future visits. **One warning for all Daytona hotels that are on the driving part of Daytona Beach. Be careful going down to play in the surf and sand. This year(2009) there has been a huge increase in auto vs sunbather accidents and it's only April.**

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clanlamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

This family owned hotel right on the beach was wonderful. The cost of the room through a web site was reasonable. But if you are looking for a hotel that is fancy or elegant then look elsewhere. This is a VERY family oriented, down to earth lodging. The style is like a combination of motel and hotel. ALL the staff members were friendly and helpful. EVERYTHING was clean. The room was spacious and had all the basics and more that we wanted for a room with a kitchen. There was no "motel" smell that I sporadically have encountered. The beds were completely comfortable. The extra cot we ordered was not comfortable though, even for a young child. There is an indoor pool, outdoor pool and small hot tub. There were even a few activities for children and a snack bar that served breakfast & lunch items. I really enjoyed all aspects of my stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigismommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

My children and I and another family decided to drive the short distance (we're from Orlando) to Daytona for a a couple of nights. We chose the Sun Viking principally for the reviews found here and the waterslide. Wow-we were disappointed. We found this hotel to be very dated. While the waterslide was functioning, the basketball hoop was being worked on 2 of the 3 days we were there. Upon entering our room we immediately noticed ants in the bathroom and on the dresser. The odor in the room was an odd mix between cleaning supplies and room freshener. I have never seen a bed that had wrinkled sheets and pieces of white paper in it when you pulled back the bedspread. When we checked out I commented on the way that each guest is required to wear an arm band to get near the pool and was given a very annoyed look and quite a rambling lecture on why I should be happy with their system. All in all-I knew we hadn't booked at the Ritz, but still felt we should of been able to expect a clean room with the few desirable ammenities that were promised actually functioning. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraBrown-1, Barbara Brown, Owner at Sun Viking Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2009

We would like to thank this guest for sharing her thoughts and suggestions. We certainly welcome constructive comments; it allows us to find out what is important to our guests and how we can improve. It does upset us that this family was disappointed – our goal is to make every guest happy.

We understand that some guests do not like to wear our pool I.D. bands while using our oceanfront pools and amenities; however, there is a specific reason for this. Because of our popular 60-Foot Waterslide, Outdoor Heated Pool, Heated Indoor Garden Pool, Heated Kiddie Pool, Hot Tub, Large Children’s Playground, Basket Ball Goal, and Poolside Kafe – we attract a lot of people “sneaking up from the beach” If we did not have a way of identifying them from our “paying” guests, it would be unfair and very crowded for our guests, forcing them to share our amenities with these “free-loaders”

Unfortunately, our very popular Basketball Goal was under repair at the time of this guest’s visit. Because of its location on the oceanfront, the bolts had rusted in place, which made it very difficult to remove. In addition, when the new rim was being installed, the holes on the backboard did not match up with the original holes; regretfully, this took longer to remedy we expected.

Certainly, ants in the room would not be inviting and occasionally, we have some due to our tropical climate. Every room is safely treated every month by a national pest control service. No complaint of ants was reported to management either before or after this guest noted she stayed with us. Our normal response would be to either treat the small area where ants were noticed, or move the guest to another room.

Generally, an “odor” from room freshener & disinfectants after a room has been cleaned is not a complaint we often get; however, we do have an Ozone air purifier that can completely remove any unwanted odors in a very short time if a guests has a concern with a smell. I am not sure how “pieces of white paper” got on our sheets – it may have been a part of a dryer sheet. However, this too would have been changed immediately, if brought to management’s attention. Our cotton sheets do show some wrinkles if not instantly folded when taken out of the dryer – this sounds like the case with this complaint.

I agree with this guest, we are not the Ritz nor do we pretend to be. We do try to offer quality accommodations and extensive amenities in a relaxed atmosphere. In addition, our room décor does not equal the Ritz’s nor do our prices; so occasionally, our family-friendly atmosphere does not always appeal to everyone. A large majority of our guests feel our rooms are clean and comfortable, and we are fortunate that, most of our guests are happy with the family experience the Sun Viking Lodge offers.

Again, we sincerely appreciate the review from this guest and we are sure she will find another wonderful hotel; Daytona Beach is a wonderful place to vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We recently stayed for an entire week (Spring Break) and it was the first time we had been back in nearly 12 years.

Checking in was very smooth and the staff was very nice and friendly (Espically Ramesh)

During the week we were there, every single time we encountered a member of the maid staff we were greeted with a hello and a smile. You wont find that at many places.

The Viking Kafe is great if you want to get a nice breakfeast or lunch without leaving the hotel. We had both during our stay and the food was great. The lady behind the counter who made the food was also very nice.

Also was glad to see that Bingo is still going in the mornings, it is one of the things I look forward to the most while at the hotel.

All in All this was a wonderful vacation for our family and we are already making plans to come back again next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohio75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach Shores hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
#4 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,040 reviews
1.6 km away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#3 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,466 reviews
3.5 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#12 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
635 reviews
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express and Suites O...
#9 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
843 reviews
4.5 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#7 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Viking Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Viking Lodge

Address: 2411 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach Shores, FL 32118-5400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach Shores
Price Range: $129 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Viking Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Viking Lodge, located oceanfront in Daytona Beach, 2017 thru 2011 Award of Excellence Award Winner and Florida's only Winner of the 2012 Trip Advisor "Family Travel Award" for Small Hotels - offers spacious guest rooms, kitchenettes, suites and private cottages. Expect casual accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere with a beachy flip-flop ambiance! Kids love this "Unique Family Resort" featuring a 60-foot waterslide, kiddie pool, beach volleyball, basketball goal, game rooms, playground, poolside bingo and free recreation program providing beachside fun for all ages! Work out in a complimentary fitness room or jog on 23 miles of scenic beach, then relax in a sauna or an oceanfront hut tub. Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, spacious oceanfront sundecks. The Sun Viking Lodge . . . a place where you are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Viking Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Viking Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing