We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hells Gate
from US$24.60
More Info
from US$52.60
More Info
from US$656.30
More Info
Reviews (1,515)
Filter reviews
1,515 results
Traveller rating
631
510
223
88
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
510
223
88
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud bath sulphur spa skin feels bathing suits geothermal park cold shower sulphur smell guided tour hot waterfall spa experience unique experience self guided thermal area new zealand george bernard shaw pool ammonia
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,515 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This was pretty cool. I did the mud bath and the spa which felt amazing. I had 20 minutes in the mud bath which was warm and felt nice on my skin. I then had some time in the spa which was nice and relaxing. Would recommend.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The Thermal Park part of this place is really interesting and it's so cool to see all the bubbling mud baths etc, however I would caution anyone to think carefully before entering the mud-bath spa! The mud is very smelly and stays on your skin/ clothes for a long time after (two weeks later and I can still smell it!) Quite expensive too when you consider that there isn't too much to the spa outside of the mud-baths.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 171brianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

It was a nice experience to have the mud and sulphur spa. A bit over priced ($75/person) compared to other places. The walk to the reserve was not included in the price. I am giving it 3 only because of the price.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank bkoustubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Cruising New Zealand in January and booked a few day trips before we left with Zealandier tours. Weren’t disappointed. Didn’t really know what to expect but we absolutely loved this. The work around the thermal pools takes about an hour and a half (you can take a shorter route) and for someone who has never been to Rotorua this blew our mind. We then did the mud bath experience which was a fantastic way to end the day. Really good facilities, great staff and good value for money. Takes a while to get the smell out but worth it.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank jasona662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

If you are visiting the thermal baths take the time to do the guided tour of the the reserve with the traditional guides
Rachel did a great job, really friendly and knowledgeable
Obey the signs though or the tribal chief may put you in a boiling mud pool for punishment

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Nomad752247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews