We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ma Johnson's Hotel
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
165
59
14
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
59
14
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetma johnsonthe ownerhistoric hotelunique experiencetiny roomone of a kindopen mic nightno electricityneillobbysaloontownlodgealaskashuttlecharm
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 248 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Stayed here as part of a group. Charming hotel in rustic town. Rooms quite small with shared facilities, but very comfortable and clean. Good restaurants in the street nearby. Friendly staff. Lots of stunning walks nearby and a visit to the Copper Mill in Kennicott is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MittensMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK400400, Owner at Ma Johnson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience in our "One horse town" on Tripadvisor! The ghost town of McCarthy is the real deal. Ma Johnson's Hotel was the Boarding House in town and the rooms are indeed about as small as rooms could be.

We have maintained the integrity of the experience since 2002 when we began our restoration of McCarthy. We love to hear that authenticity in staying at a real Alaskan hotel resonates with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Ma Johnson's. Very clean, authentic and beautiful rooms, decorated as it used to be 100 years ago. Excellent breakfast, with high quality products. Very friendly personnel. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK400400, Owner at Ma Johnson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

H M:
Thanks for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

We stayed here just one Thursday night in June, and it was one of the highlights of our two-week trip to Alaska. We arrived in the evening and were greeted in the charming and pleasant drawing room by Sven, the young clerk. The room we had was very small but very nice. The hotel only has shared bathrooms, but we never once had to wait to use one.
When we checked in, we mentioned that we had a reservation at the Michelin-starred restaurant across the street, but Sven said in some consternation that the restaurant was closed that evening, as several of the staff in saloon (also owned by the hotel) had taken sick, so the restaurant staff had to cover for them, since Thursday night is Open-mic night, and the place is always packed. But when he saw our reservation in the ledger (the only reservation for that evening), Sven dutifully called the owner, who said that they would provide us dinner.
The restaurant was indeed closed, but the second chef cooked for and served us himself: a delicious three-course meal, including grilled salmon and elk medallions, along with a bottle of Burgundy--all in the middle of the wilderness. Fantastic!
After dinner, we joined the throng of young people crowding the saloon. And I sang a couple of Motown songs (accompanied by the local drummer, Spencer, and trumpet player, Adam), while the dancers sang along. The next day Spencer saw us returning from a hike and came over to hug me.
We had a great breakfast and a wonderful picnic lunch packed for us the next day.
In short, Ma Johnson's and the restaurant and the saloon helped us have one of our most memorable evenings of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Ma Johnson's has a great feel. It is full of history and charm. Just the right touch of laissez-faire makes you feel comfortable as soon as you walk in the door. The location is perfect. You can comfortably retire to your room or walk out the door and be in the heart of town. Aline is such a gracious host from placing a call to reconfirm the booking to answering all our questions and to upgrading us due to missing lightbulbs. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWRWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay in McCarthy. Lots of history in this Hotel and very charming and cute atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious. Super friendly and helpful staff work here and they make sure you are happy.
My only message is to travellers that stay in these rooms, please be more respectful and considerate with the noise you make going in/out your room or bathroom. People open the doorknob and shut the door 2am in the morning without careful thoughts that others stay here as well and it's shareable. This is not your home. Travellers be more courteous.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews