We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
775
303
51
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
303
51
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud pools across the river geothermal activity boat trip self guided hot springs off the beaten track hidden valley boiling mud board walk own pace walk takes worth the detour new zealand natural beauty lovely walk take your time
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

This park is very special, as you can only enter it by boat. The park itself is very divers, lots of beautiful spots and places, views. We visited the park during a heavy rainfall, so we were soaked! But still we had a great time, with al the heat and steam around us.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank jeroenb818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrakeiKorako, Manager at Orakei Korako Cave & Thermal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thanks for your review Jeroen. The park can be quite different during rainfall and even more spectacular with a lot more steam evaporating making it even more atmospheric so it is a great place to visit even when it is raining. Of course, good waterproofs always help if you want to stay dry!

Enjoy the rest of your trip to New Zealand and a safe journey back to the Netherlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

The first time I went to New Zealand, we explored the thermal area in Rotorua. It was very touristic and crowded there, so when I came to the Taupo area again just recently I decided to try the Orakei Korako area instead. Good decision!

You need to cross a small lake by boat to approach the thermal area. The area is a self-guided walk that shows you hot springs, mud pools, silica terraces and apparently also features a geyser. The last one was not active, so I can't tell how attractive that is, but the other area is very nice! As it is off track it's not very crowded, so you can enjoy the beauty without too much disturbance (we drove through Rotorua later and passed Te Puia - when we saw the crowds and the buses there, we were so happy that we went to Orakei instead).

Recommendation: book your tickets online (you can do that the same day you visit) - you save 10% compared to buying the tickets at the location.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Wolf_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrakeiKorako, Manager at Orakei Korako Cave & Thermal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks for your review Wolf. The park actually has 23 active geysers (more than any other NZ geothermal park) which go off according to their own timetable. Like you have, many people comment on how nice it is to find yourself alone at Orakei Korako as you wander around the boardwalks and tracks in the park and how that heightens the experience.

Enjoy the rest of your trip to NZ and a safe journey back to the US.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

I loved loved loved this place. After a visit to WaiOTapu the previous day, I was unsure if we would find another geothermal park worth visiting, but decided we would give it a try, and was so glad we did. I was so excited walking around here, taking heaps of photos, and marvelling at nature. Out of nowhere a geyser erupted. Around every turn another colour would present itself in the rocks. It truly did look like an artists palette. I enjoyed WaiOTapu as well, but definitely this was my favourite of the two. I suppose this one felt less contrived, like seeing an animal in the wild vs in a zoo. It is much more exciting watching a geyser erupt spontaneously and naturally when you just happen to be walking past, than sitting with 100 other people waiting for a guide to put a surfactant into the geyser to make it erupt as at Lady Knox. This place had way fewer people wandering around, less fences, more amazing rock colours. Here most of the colours were in the rocks, at WaiO Tapu which was much bigger, the colours were more in the water. So both were good to see. More plopping mud pools at WaiO Tapu though, although some small pools of mud here. Lovely food in the cafe overlooking the water. I should also mention that I loved it so much, I walked around a second time to see it all again!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank annelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrakeiKorako, Manager at Orakei Korako Cave & Thermal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your wondeful review Annelou! We have done our best to keep Orakei Korako as natural as possible with the minimal amount of impact from the boardwalks and signs around the place so as to make the experience better and I really like your metaphor of seeing an animal in the wild versus in a zoo. Yes, seeing a geyser go off on it's own timetable is indeed much more exciting, like a tiger springing out of a bush versus a door to their pound opening :) And we've got 23 active geysers at Orakei Korako!

Enjoy the rest of your trip and a safe journey back to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Well worth the pleasant ~2hr walk around the amazing thermal wonders. The famous silica terraces alone are well worth the 30 min. car trip from Taupo.

A small boat takes you across the river to the start of the walk which is mostly boardwalks with steps so unfortunately not suitable for wheelchairs.

Orakei Korako has the lot: Multi-coloured silica terraces, boiling mud pools, geysers, lots of slightly sulphurous steam and a lookout on to the Ruatapu cave with its jade green pool, though I found the colour hard to see.

The walk also passes through lovely forest areas with many local trees labelled.

At the visitor's centre there's a cafe and a souvenir shop.

Not so cheap at $36 for 17 years old and over; $15 for 6-16 years old and the under 6s free. A family ticket for 2 adults and up to 6 children is $92.

Hint: 10% discount if tickets are bought online which are then valid for 12 months.

Great experience; highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 361KimD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrakeiKorako, Manager at Orakei Korako Cave & Thermal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks for your lovely review Kim, you've summed it all up rather nicely! Enjoy the rest of your trip and a safe journey back to Germany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

First saw this place in the 90a. Amazing new visitor centre and cafe. Plus the paths have all been upgraded. Nice easy walk around a stunning thermal wonder land.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank geofft629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrakeiKorako, Manager at Orakei Korako Cave & Thermal Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks for your review Geoff, we are delighted to read you liked the visitor centre and cafe. The views from the cafe across the lake from the huge deck are quite spectacular as you enjoy a coffee or snack from the cafe. Yes, the boardwalks have been rebuilt and we like to think blend in nicely with the natural vista. We hope we will see you again at some point in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews