We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming museum in a delightful setting”

Chiltern Open Air Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed September 4, 2018

I was not sure whether this would be worth the visit but I was really very glad that I went. On a fine day it was a real pleasure to walk round the site which features a range of interesting and often quaint old buildings, many furnished inside. Some reviewers have been very negative and I suspect that if you went on a cold dull day the enjoyment would be rather less and there were few if any re-enactors / activities the day I went but there are animals, woodland walks, a cafe, farm buildings, a thatched cottage, chapel, prefab, beautiful toll house and plenty more. Unlike some reviewers I thought the Edwardian toilets were fantastic - a rescued building you can still use! It is not Blists Hill or Beamish but it is a very nice visit if you are in the Chilterns and compared to other visitor attractions the entrance fee, while hardly cheap, is not by any means excessive. Access by public transport is not too difficult - take any bus to Chalfont St Giles (from Uxbridge, Beaconsfield, Amersham or Hemel Hempstead) and get off at London Road - from there a footpath leads directly to the museum entrance in about 15-20 minutes brisk walk.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"open air museum"
in 37 reviews
"large site"
in 8 reviews
"an iron"
in 7 reviews
"special events"
in 9 reviews
"tea room"
in 15 reviews
"shire horses"
in 9 reviews
"village green"
in 9 reviews
"re enactment"
in 7 reviews
"different buildings"
in 9 reviews
"enthusiastic volunteers"
in 3 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 10 reviews
"run around"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 14 reviews
"iron age house"
in 13 reviews
"step back in time"
in 4 reviews
"tea shop"
in 4 reviews
"horrible histories"
in 3 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

The weather was nice so we visited this museum and were genuinely surprised at how great it was.
The shop entrance leads you to a really interesting and special place.
It is spread over a large area there is a path which takes you round an array of different buildings from different times.
Around each building there are plants and fauna from the era. There are benches and seating everywhere so you can sit and enjoy the experience.
From an old Manor House with garden , Iron Age house, prefab ,barns and farm buildings to an old toll house and more.
There are tea rooms a candle making hut where you can try your hand and make a candle.
There is plenty of play areas and activities for children
Just a great outdoor day out destination. The staff and volunteers are charming and helpful. If you have mobility issues you can hire a scooter and if you want a lift back to the main car park they have a golf cart too come and get you.
Really special

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank hmlhhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Went with my family of mixed ages from my husband of 71 to my great granddaughter of 3. we all had a really great day. It was funny watching the kids washing dirty nappies using a washboard and dolly then putting them through the mangle. The old toilets opened their eyes and seeing how people used to live. The staff were all very friendly and we hope to come again as there is so much to see and do.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kiwifudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

I took my daughter here and was so impressed we brought an annual pass as I know we will return many times. Such a lovely place for a walk, to experience history and to eat. Food is reasonably priced and very nice. Every staff member was extremely friendly and helpful. They have events on often during busier times which we haven’t experienced yet but certainly plan too.
Had such a great time

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Rosemary123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Two grand-parents, a 2 year-old, a 5 year-old and an elderly dog enjoyed their day on many levels. Grandpa enjoyed the car-show, especially being able to show the boys the model of car he first owned. The boys enjoyed the space to run around. The exhibits were all interesting. The cafe was good value.
Best all though was the unexpected pleasure of watching the boys dancing to the music of folk-singers under the huge tree in the village green. They'd have stayed there all day but the dog was feeling the heat so we had to leave,
Everyone there was very friendly and helpful too, which always improves a day out!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Ann023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiltern Open Air Museum also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
Chenies, Buckinghamshire
 
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Wendover, Aylesbury
 

Been to Chiltern Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing