We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a fabulous experience!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived at the hotel very tired and let down having expected to stay in Varkala but the hotel we had booked was dreadful. The staff were so attentive and helpful especially a lovely lady on the front desk and found us a beautiful heritage room overlooking the backwaters. Although it was Easter and there was a weekend party going on we were not bothered by noise or disturbance. It really is a 5 star experience. The location is just wonderful so tranquil overlooking the lake and backwaters. The pool was fabulous - very clean and there was always a spare hammock in the garden to lie in overlooking the water. The only slight let-down was the food, the 'western food' was not really to western taste, probably better to stick to Indian food. But restaurant staff were again only to willing to be helpful and very attentive. A wonderful relaxing few days.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lour123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    171
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
319
184
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochin, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Raviz is good getaway but lacks activities - as a product its awesome and the service , impeccable. The evening boatride , cultural programme was nice . teh restaurant is very good but could serve better food.

Room Tip: take lakeside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AsifBasheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I walked into The Raviz just to check it out and see what the hype is all about.And they delivered beyond my expectations. Beautiful location, well designed property, exceptional staff, quality food, beautiful swimming pool and the boat ride made me feel like i was somewhere else. It didn't feel like I was in the same Kollam I grew up in, Raviz changed my view about the city. Hats off to the management and Mr. Ravi for bringing a world class destination to our city. I will definitely be bragging about the hotel to all my international friends. Will be proud to bring them here and not worry about having to make sure everything is up to their standards. The friendliness and the personal care given by the staff, the quick service, the attention to detail when it comes to the guests needs, the cleanliness of the rooms and a world class SPA. Its all there folks!. I would recommend a stay at the Traditional Cottage if you really want to experience Malabar. And check out one of the suites to experience how times have changed. I was lucky to experience both during my stay. And to be honest the prices where quiet reasonable for a five star property. Special thanks and appreciation to Mr. Felix, for making us feel at home. I would definitely go back. Again and again and again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a stay at the Traditional Cottage if you really want to experience Malabar. And ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnaizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The best feature of The Raviz is its team. Get set of folks all around be it front desk, staff at the Riverside resturant, security great set of folks. We traveled with our 1year old daughter and the staff made us feel real comfortable with challenges that come with infants.

The hotel in itself has a great location, with lovely view of the Lake. I must say few other Hotels have better view of the lake but this is nothing to complain.

The rooms are comfortable, clean with bath tubs. Even though warm water may not be required but you may have to request warm water to the staff before the boiler gets switched on. Wifi is not free and is charged. The rates are extremely high.

The resturant is good with great staff. Extremely friendly and nice with kids. The food was good. The dinner buffet could have been better considering similar hotels have better spread and quality. Still nothing to complain and I am sure local and international traveler can find something that they will enjoy.

Traveler may try the overnight stay at the house boat, we were not aware of this but should be good fun. The evening cruise was good fun and was pleasant.

Overall great experience and a definite recommend. One catch everything comes at a price which will be higher than any other place in Kollam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The location is simply to die for and the rooms and food are of top notch quality, if you simply don't care about money. I especially loved the jacuzzi. We had spend our new year in this place and though the recreational program and party was not worth the money, the buffet dinner was superb. All this is topped by a very well kept lawn and houseboat ride. The overall wonderful stay was a bit marred by an experience in the end when we got into a slight argument with the hotel personnel when they overcalculated the total amount, otherwise the service was very good. So keep track of what you spend and use in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbes_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Fabulous new 5 star hotel set up high on the banks of the Ashtamudi Lake in Kollam. Every room or suite with splendid views of the lake. Stunning entrance hall and reception. Multi-cuisine restaurants and a fantastic health spa. A hotel you can really relax in, eat well, enjoy a moonlight cruise around the lake and be treated like a Maharaja.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor suites but costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandpiper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We booked a 4 night stay as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is pretty new and in great condition as you'd expect. Beautiful grounds and setting, and even the cheaper rooms are of an excellent standard. We got a good deal off Expedia and this was amazing value for money. We weren't happy with the building noise outside our room so they moved us to a quieter room, even moving all the clothes we'd unpacked for us. The sunset cruise (free, daily) is wonderful. And complimentary tea, coffee and snacks for everyone at 4pm is a great touch. The food was excellent, and the staff were amazing. Some of the best we encountered in Kerala. We were very sad to leave!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natlefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kollam
0.4 km away
Hotel Allseason
Hotel Allseason
#1 of 21 in Kollam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
10.3 km away
Lake n River, An SKB Resort Munroe Island
3.9 km away
The Quilon Beach Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Aquasserenne
Aquasserenne
#1 of 1 in Paravur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.6 km away
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
#1 of 1 in Thekkumbhagam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
23.9 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi

Property: The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi
Address: Thevally, Mathilil P.O., Kollam 691601, India (Formerly WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam)
Region: India > Kerala > Kollam District > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. What's more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you. Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raviz Resort and Spa, Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing