We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,318)
Filter reviews
1,318 results
Traveller rating
992
252
57
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
252
57
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones course dinner kit kat little touches superior room every member of staff brownie from start to finish special occasion relaxing break four poster cooked to perfection staff were attentive birthday treat wedding venue restaurant manager visited this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,318 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is exceptional for service and quality. The rooms are very tasteful and comfortable. The nicest touch for us that the management were very thoughtful, and left a card in the room congratulating us on our diamond wedding. We booked for ten, including eight family members, and everyone was very impressed with the quality of the rooms and food. The staff are very friendly, and we had a great time. Another nice touch was the half bottle of Prosecco in the room provided as a welcome. We all highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was pleasure to look after you all over the course of the weekend and to see you enjoying time together as a family. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to do so and for putting your trust in us for such a special occasion.

We hope to see you for the next anniversary if not before! Thank you for your kind words and recommendation.

Warmly
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Fairlawns recently for a family get together before we paid our last respects to a longstanding friend and family member who had been a regular customer at Fairlawns. The Reservations team were very helpful in assisting us to book rooms and dinner for what became quite a large party of people. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable, and contained everything we needed for our stay including Elemis hand/body wash, hand cream and iron/ironing board. The room did seem a little hot, which was easily resolved by opening the window which, unusually for a hotel, did open more than about 4 inches! The staff were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived and the check in process was nice and quick.
The lounge had plenty of seats for us all to have pre-dinner drinks and the selection of drinks and wines was good. The quality of meals at Fairlawns is such that whatever I chose I knew would taste delicious and the meal I had did not disappoint in any way. I had a plain cooked steak for main and the meat was perfectly cooked and seasoned and very tender. It was accompanied by equally perfect triple cooked chips. The hazelnut parfait was one of the best desserts I have ever had. Service at dinner was very good and staff were quick to respond to any requests that we had.
Without exception all the staff at Fairlawns were very friendly and willing to help and I would definitely like to return for another visit in the future. I would particularly like to thank Attia Abu-Khalil whom we had got to know from previous visits. He was wonderfully attentive to us all, supportive and provided his usual level of excellent service whilst making us feel like friends too.
Breakfast was delicious with a good range of cooked items to choose from and our breakfast orders were served quickly.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank theresalovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing such a special occasion with us. Given our long association with your friend/family member it meant a lot to us.

We appreciate all of the lovely things you have said about the occasion. We are all really pleased that it went well and I know that Attia worked especially hard to ensure that this was the case for you.

We hope to see you again

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for one night, the hotel was lovely easy to find with it being well signposted. Plenty of parking too.

Got upgraded to a superior room which was nice and big, with a nice big bathroom. Nice touch with the kit kat.

My colleague got upgraded to a suite which was fantastic.

Only had a sandwich but the service and food was really good. Overall a really nice stay and would stay again and hopefully get more use of all of the amenities the hotel has to offer.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank ID19801980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Its always great to get a positive review from a business traveller because we know that often you know most about what to expect from a hotel.

We are happy that the stay was good, that you appreciated the upgrade and that our service levels were on point.

Hopefully we will see you again next time work brings you into the area.

Warmly

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently went to a wedding reception, the setting and ambiance of the hotel is excellent. The staff were friendly and very professional.
The room was just a nice size and well presented.
The only negative for me was the ice cold larger wasn't and the chilled wine was a bit tepid. But the complimentary wine was nicely chilled.
On the whole I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank theonlyviewyouneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that the wedding went well and you were able to celebrate in style.

We will investigate the cooler and beer temperature/condition immediately with our suppliers as we expect it to be spot on. Thanks for the feedback; it's really useful and we appreciate it.

Next time you come, please drop me an email (johndp@fairlawns.co.uk) and the first pint is on me.

Warmly
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Myself & my partner took advantage of stop off at establishment in late Sept 18. We were celebrating a special occasion & I’d like to thank the Fairlawn’s team for our celebratory card and the little touch that was added at lunch, these were both appreciated & made our stop more memorable.

The facilities were on point as per normal. We took advantage of the mud chamber experience and it was well worth while. The new hot tubes are fantastic and a great way to spend the afternoon watching the world pass by. The hotel room was clean, tidy and spacious, the rooms seem to have had a face lift of recent and the complementary Elemis body treatments are wonderful. The evening 3 course meal and breakfast both were out of this world, complements to the chef.

Would I stay again, yes, do I recommend Fairlawns, yes, should you stay overnight, yes.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pauljL9589CX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We continue to invest in the property and are pleased you enjoyed the new spa additions. We are refurbishing the gyms extensively in November and we hope this will offer guests and members further improved value and experience.

We appreciate the trust people put in us when celebrating special occasions at Fairlawns and are pleased that the small gestures in acknowledging this were appreciated along with the overall service we offered. Hopefully Fairlawns can continue to be a place where you can celebrate and enjoy time away from home for many years ahead.

Warmly
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews