We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
cosy detached cottage 3 acres, your perfect escape! days on the beach, summer evenings in the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cosy detached cottage 3 acres, your perfect escape! days on the beach, summer evenings in the garden
view of house from country lane room to run ! view across your own lawn down to your river house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
cosy detached cottage 3 acres, your perfect escape! days on the beach, summer evenings in the garden
view of house from country lane
room to run ! view across your own lawn down to your river house
house on country lane - stone walled to front, mature setting.
sunny south facing landscaped terrace off sittingroom
view from top of lawn down towards the cottage
Smart BBQ area for ultimate easy summer dining
romantic summer house
Al fresco dining in the river house
Romantic evening setting in garden summer house !
view across your grounds from lawn towards stable courtyard
sunny stableyard terrace ideal for BBQ- stables used as summer games rooms wi pool table
view of al fresco table perfect for breakfast , lunch or BBQ
Comfortable snug with views over lane and rear garden. open fire , music system and cds.
Gleaming Aga with beams in country kitchen. NEFF electrical oven also available for those aga shy!
some dry stores provided in nook beside Aga
Fining area with bench ( unseen ) and chars seating 6. Overlooking country lane to front and garden
evenings in your snug room , fire to foot , book to hand , friends by your side
second sittingroom with TV and DVD library
Stairway with ornamental stag
the country lane outside the front of your house
4 poster bed in cottage bedroom
Selection of holiday reads left for you to enjoy !
Pretty family bathroom with mini cathedral ceiling, bath and power shower
little window seat in bathroom
part view of back showing original stables and rear of your house
View from front gate across to stables with pumpkins cut for Halloween
view to optional tippee den from the always popular old school tyre swing !!
wooden platform at your river's bank, dip ur feet , float ur homemade boats!
Your fenced off river has a pretty stone bridge ideal for poo sticks- gated access
safe fencing at river with gated access
favourite beach for swimming surfing and crabbing! just one of many local clean beaches
View to top lawn with lovely mature trees for plenty of shady seating
old twinkly Hook Lighthouse oldest working lighthouse n Europe - The view from the top is amazing!
Local beach for crisp winter walk !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmore Quay, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luke5273
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Only stayed for 2 nights as a couple, but this was an amazing cottage. It had everything you needed and the housekeeper Kay really helped us settle in. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for posting ! I'm even more pleased you enjoyed your short stay so well and I'll pass on your thanks to Kay. Hopefully you can come back soon for a longer stay - Kate x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review us !! More importantly we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and came away thoroughly relaxed! We look forward to welcoming you back ,
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mary f
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained house full of style and warmth!”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband, my daughter and grand daughter and this is definitely by far THE BEST self catering experience we have had. The house is gorgeous -we all fell in love with it! We understand we arrived just after its annual repainting and we appreciate a holiday home being so well cared for. It was spotlessly clean and furnished to a very high standard. When we arrived in the evening the huge open fire was lit for us and Kate had left us a home baked apple tart ! The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and well dressed and we all enjoyed great nights sleep. Very thoughtful touches like the provision of a child's nightlight were much appreciated, as we had forgotten to bring one. The kitchen is lovely and well equipped and I LOVED the aga ! We enjoyed relaxing in the little snug with the diverse music library and my grand daughter enjoyed the drawing materials and toys thoughtfully provided. The larger sitting room was also very comfortable ,warm and stylish. The garden was really gorgeous and we all enjoyed pottering about in and around the river. The large lawn would be ideal for family games and my grand daughter spent as much time as she could on the swings. The area is full of interesting day trips, activities, restaurants and we were pleased to have this information in advance to help us plan. However we didn't stay long enough to see all we wanted so will definitely return to Scar Bridge Cottage - and many thanks to Owner Kate for all her help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfectly clean and well maintained
Liked least: Could'nt stay longer !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2014
What a great compliment ! We are thrilled ! You are of course welcome back anytime and thank you so much for your review and for your lovely words in our guestbook!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick one thing - the garden and the cosy fire
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you ! We love to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us and you would certainly be welcome back anytime!
Thank you for taking the time to post your review .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lsfdublin
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“House tired and dirty”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were very disappointed with our two weeks in Scarbridge Cottage this August. The house was dirty and tired. We spent a morning cleaning the bathrooms, vacuuming and cleaning the fridge. This house needs a deep and thorough clean not just a few hours after each rental which is presumably what has allowed the build-up of dirt over time. At least four light bulbs had to be replaced, the grouting around the bath and sinks was a disgrace, the toilet brushes and other bathroom furniture were old and rusty Although the garden is lovely, the house is in need of some TLC.
We rang the owner to tell her that the shower was broken and also told her that the house was not up to scratch but she made suspicious enquiries about the number of people staying in the house, told me that she had not been to the house this summer when she had emailed me on 13 July saying that she was at the house for a few days, blamed the lovely housekeeper for everything and did not follow up on whether the shower had been fixed or even have the courtesy to reply to my text message confirming that we had fixed the shower and no longer required a plumber.
On our return, I sent the owner a detailed email listing the problems we had had with the house. She never replied to that email.
I would have been happy to pay the €1900 we paid for two weeks if the house had been as described but is was sadly lacking and very poor value for money.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke P
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Stunning and gives you 24 hours back into your day'”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Kate - really helpful owner. Kay - really helpful local person for meet and set up.
Really enjoyed our stay at the cottage, Sunshine for the week, local fish served is the best i have tasted and the beaches are fab. Lovely little touches throughout the home and you can't do much other than relax and enjoy family time here. Remember to leave feedback in the kitchen guest book as we got some great tips and places to visit from there!!! Book and Enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and grounds
Liked least: The fact i had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you - the best thing we can hear is that our guests enjoy their precious holiday times with us ! We'd love to welcome you back anytime and thank you again for taking the trouble to write your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BekaBR
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rural retreat”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful cottage set on extensive gardens, plenty for the kids to do with the games room and the tire swing proved a massive hit! Excellent spot for touring nearby villages and towns. Plenty of near by beaches to pick from to keep the kids amused for hours on end! I would recommend the silver fox restaurant in nearby village kilmore quay, food and service are outstanding! We loved our stay here and have it on the list for a return visit in the future!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay - thank you for taking the time to review us !
You are of course welcome back anytime - just let me know !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing