We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stephan S
Munich, Bayern, Germany

Amazing experience in the jungle

Review of Liana Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 10, 2017
Staying at Liana Lodge is an amazing experience starting with the last leg of your journey there, which you have to take by boat. There are plenty of interesting activities on offer (look at the web page) that will teach you so many things about the jungle and the local people. Don't miss the night walk!
The rooms are located in wooden bungalows, are very big with private bathroom and warm shower, and include balconies to watch and listen to the jungle wildlife. There is no electricity in the rooms but you can use the sockets at the main building.
The main building offers a hotel bar to relax right at the river and from a view point you can watch various kinds of monkeys feeding on leaves and fruits.
Staff (both locals and foreign volunteers) are very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. There is always someone at the main building to answer your questions.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Liana Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Sep 11, 2017

Thank you, we hope to see you again soon.

Saludos,
Liana Lodge and Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$103
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$94
  • Expedia.com
    C$94
  • Trip.com
20.5 km from Liana Lodge
Free parking
Pool
C$49
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    C$49
31.7 km from Liana Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$20
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
32.1 km from Liana Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$278
C$166
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$278
  • Hotels.com
    C$278
  • Priceline
33.2 km from Liana Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
16.2 km from Liana Lodge
Hostal Tena Ñaui
C$21
C$19
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$21
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$21
33.4 km from Liana Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$221
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
33.6 km from Liana Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Our lodge, built with breathable earth plastered walls!
C$55
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    C$55
41.2 km from Liana Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Vista interior
C$183
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
33.2 km from Liana Lodge
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$62
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$47
  • StayForLong
    C$63
21.1 km from Liana Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Tena
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
107
29
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
29
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity the river several activities boat meals lodge guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 148 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

Very beutifull lodge at the Arajuno River. Very friendly staff, comfortable cabanas, a nice restaurant area with a great view to the jungle. Daily offered are interessting jungle tours, which are included in the price. The food is great, prepared by a professional cook from Otavalo. Staying in this lidge is not really cheap but it is a great place to relax!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TK1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
René H, Manager at Liana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Many thanks for your visit to our lodge and your excellent rating.
Great to hear that you liked our all inclusive service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017

Very well run, all naturally build and right on the river front. The food and service was very good, the rooms very comfortable and quite open but all netted so you don't get unwanted visitors! The walking is good and they provide wellington boots as it is muddy. You do need to take a torch as apart from the main building there is no electricity. The sky is amazing on a clear night with stars and the Milky Way easily visible. There are night and day walks and riving trips available. At night the natural forest sounds are beautiful. Sadly one of the night we were there the locals had a party/celebration and the music was so loud it drowned out all the natural sounds, went on for over 24 hours and kept us awake all night.... make sure your not there when that happens it totally spoilt it for all of our group.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennywinter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2017

Thank you very much for your rating, Jenny!
We're really sorry that there was a party this night and disturbed you. Unfortunately our neighbours don't always respect that there is a hotel on the other side of the river. But big parties like this are rare in the kichua community and we will take care of this problem. We hope you liked your stay anyway

Kind regards
Your Liana Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2017

We stayed here on their 3 day 2 night package which we felt was just right for an introductory tour. The only downside to the visit for a mobility challenged individual was the amount of stairs required to reach our accommodations so I would advise letting them know of any mobility issues when making any reservation requests so that they can try to situate you as close to the main lodge as possible. Because there is no electricity in any of the cabins, when you go down for dinner don't forget your headlamp to help you find you way back to your cabin along the pathways.

Otherwise it was a throughly enjoyable experience. The staff were very friendly and accommodating , the quality of the meals served was good and quality of the various daily activity programs was also very good and informative.

Room tip: As close as possible to the main lodge for anybody with mobility issues
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2017

Dear David,

thank you very much for your recommendation and your advice! It is absolutely right that there are a lot of stairs but I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay anyway.
When we know before, it is always possible to follow special requirements and wishes :)

Kind regards

Your Liana Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

This is a well run place close to Tena (1 hour drive + 10 min boat) to get a first good impression of the Amazon. While this is probably not comparable with the isolated amazone lodges, we got a great feeling with nature and people. We stayed for 3 nights and 2 days which is sufficient to do most of the activities that are all offered into the package. Food was very good and offered 3 times a day. One day, we took the lunch with us on trip. We did 3 hour walk with visit to Amazonicon (highly recommended!) and tubbing back on the river. We had fishing lessons and made a small raft to come back to the lodge. The other day we did a day trek with lunch at and swimming in a creek.
The treks and walks are not easy, muddy (but you get boots) but well done. The local Spanish speaking guide gives you a lot of information along the road on insects, animals and plants.
The huts are indeed basic and it's very noisy at night but that's because insects and animals are just noisy in the jungle. Yes, there are no real windows in the huts (only musquito Windows) and most blocks are composed of two huts so you can hear your neighbours. But this is the jungle in the end and rooms/bathrooms are clean and there is hot water. No electricity, no wifi, chargers at the reception.
Great experience!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded September 9, 2016

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked your vaccations in our lodge. We really hope to welcome you back some day!
Kind regards,
the Liana Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2016

A very special place, great service, very special, good guides, Eco-friendly in the middle of the Ecuadorean Amazon area. You do not want wifi or electricity, you're in the middle of the Selva! Only already the sound of the night is more than perfect. Beautiful river, great fireplace, good food, great butterflies....

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded September 7, 2016

Thank you for the comment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the stay in our Lodge and that you liked the amtosphere and the nature surrounding the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
the Liana Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews