We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
104
28
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
28
8
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 144 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2020

Been here quite many times now and we are always very satisfied with our stay here. The cabins are really nice and cosy, the guides are very good and there are activities for all ages. It´s the best place to relax for some days in the djungel, it´s calm and silent, the only sounds you can in the night are the sounds of the rainforest. Best of all; the amazing food! Even though we needed special food due to allergies the food was always delicious and varying.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gbg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
René H, Manager at Liana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2020

thank you very much for your comments describing your positive experiences during your recent stay with us. we would be pleased to welcome you again here in the rainforest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2019

Forty five minutes out of Tena, then a 10 minute boat ride out of Puerto Barantilla. Guest community area was lovely to look at, but no comfortable seating. Meals were good, tons of food if you are a hearty eater.
Cabins were rustic but had everything one needed.

Our issues had to do with the overall vibe of the place. Not really friendly or welcoming anytime during our stay. We are English speakers and none of the included activities had an English speaking guide. One member in our group spoke a tiny bit of Spanish and spent his time translating. Many of the activities were a bit repetitive. The area is not very remote and it takes a long time to get there from Quito.

Not sure I can recommend heartily.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We stayed three nights at Liana Lodge at joined several of their tours. We always got the same guide assigned and Christian did a great job sharing his homeland with us. We visited the jungle, the local community and could try out several activities. Beside the tours we were embedded in the caring and helpful environment of the lodge with delicious food, supportive staff and a beautiful setting on the riverside.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rangkaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Did not stay at liana lodge but at the nearby runa huasi which is less a lodge than some neat cabanas and communal area/hut where the meals are provided. Run by a friendly local family it provides the same activities as liana lodge at half the price. Plus more authentic athmosphere with tarantulas in the dining hall and giant grasshoppers on the river facing balcony. For reservations call jorge 0969277710 or 063062312. excellent value for money, highly recommended!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank encamino18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Liana Lodge offers a fantastic holiday experience

Arriving by canoe to the sound of birds calling gives a flying start

Good food

Comfortable beds in private cabins with a terrace, hammock and bathroom with warm showers - no electricity in rooms but WiFi and electric light in the large reception area
Helpful small touches like dry matches to light candles and a stock of wellies for tramping around the reserve

Staff are very capable and welcoming

The profits go to help run the sanctuary for indigenous animals which are offered shelter ( after poachers or as discarded pets etc)
The animals are kept in good conditions and if they can be rehabilitated they are released in the reserve
Worth visiting

Lying on the hammock listening to the warm bubbling cries of oropendola and other birds overhead is a treat

And listening to guides such as Juan recounting what leaves / plants can be used for - and identifying birds and frogs and insects is both humbling and awesome to a western educated mind

Highly recommended

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rosalindj491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews