We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zhilam Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here 2 nights in august 2011, in a private room with 2 beds. High occupancy rate, lots of other travelers (chinese and western). Clean, good food and travel tips for western Sichuan!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manon_Koopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Really lovely beautiful peaceful comfortable place!!We are all impressed by the great landscape outside the room, the adorable staff Andy, Daniel and Tashi, of course Kris and Steph. Maybe next spring we will go Zhilam again to see you guys and the Azalea flowers in Kangding around.
See you next time!

Room Tip: the 8 peoples room is excellent, btw, the red room is a little small but it's warm and fit for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Individual reading lights and sockets for recharging, privacy curtains for dorm beds, internet and wifi, convivial common areas, beautiful scenery, two clean sheets and pillowcase, friendly English-speaking staff, good food, stylish clean bathrooms, reliable local information, overall good looks and style, good-looking fellow guests - Zhulim has it all! It was a wrench to leave after only two nights. Thanks Kris, staff and family for creating this China-enhancing accommodation. Anyone else interested in hosting foreigners should visit to see how it should be done.

Room Tip: Dorm is subterranean but geeat value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheehac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Spent a few days in Kangding on route to Tagong. Kangding itself isn't a beautiful city but the surrounding mountain area is worth a couple of days and Zhilam Hostel is truly wonderful. The owners and staff are helpful and friendly and the building is great. Prices are cheap and food is excellent. Check with Chris about trekking and hiking in the area!

I definetly will recommend Zhilam and hope I can come back someday!

Thanks for a wonderful stay, Zhilam-Team!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We planned to stay a single night but we ended up staying 3 nights. Although the place is a bit hard to find, it is REALLY worth finding. The staff is extremely helpful, warm, friendly and knowledgeble, the western food was very good, the rooms were really comfortable, and the shower was great too. The best dormitory we have ever been to. If you are in the area - don't miss out on this amazing hostel !
Hila and Reshef, Israel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilaReshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

As the only visitor on this cold day ,I must say Zhilam is beyond my imagination.The rooms are very clean and beautiful,both of Kris and his wife is so kind .To somebody who complained about here, my opinion is the same with Kris' answer. Those factors makes what can be called a hostel. I even love the uphill way to it . Though a little tired ,I can enjoy a silent night ,as many hotels in Kangding are noisy because they are near the street or Chuanzang Highway. The reason I gave "Location" 4 points was that I thought you may set more marks to help people find the hostel. One place, for example ,is the lane near Kangding Hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gromit_Gao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thanks Grommit for your nice compliments and suggestion. Please do come back some day and bring Kate with you.

Kristopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

After reading the reviews we were excited about staying here and booked one of the delux rooms with wooden bathtub. Throughout our stay the bathtub didn't function and several days workers were trapassing in and out trying to fix it leaving us cold and the floor muddy and still no bath, for which we booked the room. The woodstore in the lobby was never lit even though it was very cold, a couple of electric heaters were passed around, but if one person had the heater others sitting other places in the lobby were freezing. These heaters aren't expensive and if they aren't going to lite the stove they should have plenty of them. The owners live in a spacious apt above with nice views, while the dormitories are in a damp basement like a dungeon with no windows except in the hallways. The decor is nice with a Tibetan flavor but the dorms are so damp and dark. The overall experience was expensive and disappointing and we felt cold the whole time we were there. Menu very limited, no imagination. It's up a very steep hill, and good if you like to hike and get exercise but otherwise inconvienentt

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Always cold, muddy floors, limited repetitive menu, dark rooms, up a steep hill…now this sounds oddly similar to the description of something else we love: Tibet. Despite the negativity of the reviewer our heart warms that we have achieved some small measure of oneness with where we are located.

Regarding the cold. Yep, the hostel is cold in the winter. Maybe try coming in the summer? The goal of our project is to show locals they can create their own similar places with what they already have locally available which is why we’ve made the choices we have in setting our place up. Hopefully you can carve compassion from your experience for all the people here who live like this in the cold year after year. But if you comeback again, we’d definitely lite the stove for you. We wish it was lit during your stay! Too bad Mr. Unmentionable had to go make fuel sources scarce and difficult for us to acquire in town…which is why we sometimes use it sparingly.

Regarding the hot water. Many other homes in our village don’t have indoor running water and almost no one we know of has indoor running HOT water. It was a royal pain to create and remains a pain in the . . . (trip advisor does not allow the use of profanity) to keep working. But of course in the cold, having a hot shower or bath in Tibet is the best and can change your whole mood...so we love being able to give it. Sorry it didn’t work very well for you…but didn’t we give you a discount because of it?

Regarding the menu. We’re sorry to say that what was left of our imaginative brain cells was spent on the creation of our beautiful little darling daughter, Indira who came to us unexpectedly. We were planning on using them on the menu, but well…the menu just had to wait. Well that and the amusing part of the story where the local newspaper invented our menu for us and printed it before we were open. But Indira’s 20 months old now, and the real menu rolls out this season…with an attempt to again be created primarily from locally available supplies…of course with a few extra indulgences that just might help you change your mind and go back out again for more of this fabulously beautiful area of the world that is impossible to absorb in just a short stay.

Regarding the steep hill. Yep, the hill is inconvenient. But it gives us the best possible sunlight in town, our best natural resource against the cold. And a daily walk up it also gets the blood flowing, which also helps against the cold. (The irony of these two complaints in the same review did give us a little laugh). Oh, and it gives us a stunning view… But that’s just our personality; we are always willing to trade a little physical discomfort for a gorgeous view. Frankly, we know getting up and down our hill IS a pain. So this season we’ll be adding one of the following options for getting our guests and their possessions up the hill. We haven’t decided yet. Any votes?
(1) a yak to meet you in town and carry your pack up?
(2) a ski lift or cable car (anyone have a hook-up?)
(3) a motorcycle with a cart on the back like our village neighbors use to haul the pig slop (except new, and without the slop)?
(4) unexpected things come up…and we decide to keep it natural, local and simple for yet another year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangding County hotels
0 km away
Dengba Hostel No.1 Kangding
Dengba Hostel No.1 Kangding
#18 of 87 in Kangding County
24 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Yujing Sausurea Boutique Hotel
#4 of 87 in Kangding County
2 reviews
0 km away
Gesar Hotel
Gesar Hotel
#14 of 87 in Kangding County
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Lam-ze Lin-ka Hotel
Lam-ze Lin-ka Hotel
#5 of 87 in Kangding County
33 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Xinduqiao Yak International Yout...
#5 of 16 in Kangding County
1 reviews
0 km away
Gesang Garden
Gesang Garden
#2 of 70 in Kangding County
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhilam Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhilam Hostel

Address: Bai Tuo Kan area, Kangding County 626000, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Kangding County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Kangding County
Price Range: $19 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel sits on a hillside just above Kangding city-center. It can be reached by a foot-path in just five minutes. We can also be reached by car, although the route is a little longer. Being above the town, we enjoy great views, peaceful silence, and a little cleaner air. We are situation across the valley from Pama Mountain (a major tourist destination) and have great views of snow caps to the South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zhilam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing