We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riverside Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riverside Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is my second stay at this place. The cottages and the double rooms are very good. The location is quiet - away from the noisy streets.

The Menu at the restaurant while not extensive is adequate. If you were to stay here beyond 3-nights, you may be forced to repeat your food choices on the menu.

Staff are attentive and helpful and the good quality is good.

Room Tip: The cottages are a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
43
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed one night on our way from Tanjore to Pondicherry. The place was not very busy. Our room was smallish but the disappointment was the bathroom; for a four year establishment, it was in a little bit of a sorry state.

The food was the real disappointment. With the main restaurant shut, we only had the choice of the international cuisine coffee-shop type Mayuri. In the morning breakfast was the same.

Staff could be a bit more cheerful, so gloomy!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Waltonian44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

During October 201 i had visited kumbaonam and stayed in riverside hotel which is good ,clean, green and best hospitality in stay. What we xepected in kumbaonam and reallity is very good when we stayed 2 nights and three days.
Host were very friendly and treated as family members, Swimming pool maintained by hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Very neat and good green location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangarajravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
255 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here for one night during our trip through Tamil Nadu.
Hotel's location is good, very quiet. We had a standard room which was very small but had an excellent shower. and a good working airco. Small balcony whit no view because the planted 3 trees so you could not see anything
Dinner in hotel was fine, staff very helpfull and friendly despite the fact that the English language was for most of them a problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I wanted to visit the navgraha temples around kumbakonam on 24th Dec and 25th Dec and after doing lot of research on the internet, i decided to book this hotel directly by calling them. The call was answered by their Manager Mr. Rajagopalan, who was extremely polite and even helped me in planning my final itinerary. When i arrived in the hotel, i was amazed with the clean room,Quiet Surroundings, beautiful view in the resort coupled with their excellent room service with good north Indian food ( which is rare in this part of the country). It was brightly decorated for Christmas.The fact that it is run by the same group running the LE royal Meridian in Chennai, also helps. My wife used the SPA , which however was not quite satisfactory, which i guess was more due to the language issue , rather than the service. In terms of the location, it is about 2 KM outside the town of Kumbakonam, which is not a hindrance as the resort is self contained. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: if you are 2 persons, then opt for the rooms, else if you have 3-4 persons travelling in the same gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunkvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We had our customer meet on Nov 10 at this place. They did a fairly good job. Everything was meticulously planned right from the meeting arrangements to the cocktail dinner. We had also booked around 5 rooms which were excellent and room service was spot on. Very good value for money. Has got a Spa, Gym and swimming pool. They also have cottages for families. Heard all the filmstars stay here during shootings at Kumbakonam. The Manager, Mr. Rajagopalan is a gentleman and knows how to deal courteously with customers. Overall, a very good experience and must recommend for travellers.

Room Tip: You can opt for the cottages if u want an early swim as the swimming pool is located between the 4 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddy3561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

General clean surrondings and rooms; The swimming pool could have been indoor though, the water heat can put you off.

Very good food : try the local favorite slike idlis, dosas, etc. Their sambhar is to die for. They take some time to serve your orders but it is fresh and worth the wait

Excellent service : Staff very courteous; The manager was very helpful with planning our travel itinery and their in-house vehicle driver was excellent in executing the plan

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SujithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumbakonam hotels
4.9 km away
INDeco Swamimalai
INDeco Swamimalai
#1 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.7 km away
Mantra Veppathur Resort
Mantra Veppathur Resort
#2 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 km away
Sara Regency
Sara Regency
#6 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sivamurugan Hotels
Sivamurugan Hotels
#3 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.4 km away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#4 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Inn VIHA
Quality Inn VIHA
#5 of 24 in Kumbakonam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Riverside Resort & Spa
Address: 32 College Road, Kumbakonam 612001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kumbakonam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Kumbakonam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverside Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Chennai bypass road,easy to assess.Situated by the bank of River cauvery and among the greeny garden with all luxury morden amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riverside Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing