We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
184
77
17
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
77
17
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open shower tea kadai swimming pool open air the cottages wild peacocks village setting excellent resort breakfast and dinner front office modern amenities sambar restaurant staff food quality temple town manor mr
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 287 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Stayed in one of the cottages at Mantra koodam.
Good rooms with open air bathrooms.
Food except breakfast loved the lunch and dinner
No televisions
You can listen to chirping of birds and a very quiet and calm place.

Room Tip: You can try thier new bungalows coming up.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csunils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Mantra Koodam, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
It has been such a pleasure reading your comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. Hope you will stay with us again sometime soon!
Warm regards,
Sanooj Ravindran | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

This is my second review about this resort. First one was approx 5 years ago when it was named Mantra Vepathur and I have given 5 star rating that time.
So ,with same expectations I have booked this resort for 2 nights. Unfortunately this time the experience was totally different than before. Check in was smooth and front office staffs were doing their job well. Went to have lunch and ordered full Thalli meals but it wasn't available as the lunch time is over [2.15pm] even though one of the staff called and asked about lunch and I said to 3 meals one day before. However, they managed to serve rice, 3 papad, sambar, rasam, 2 types side dish, and 1 cup curd, for these items they billed 1700/-. Of course the food taste was worst. My wife was expecting same taste when it was 5 years ago. She enquired the staff and they said chef was on leave. It was same for next couple of days. The last day breakfast was good and we found the chef came back it seems.

Usually when we stay in any resort's, the resort managers (kitchen, front office etc) come and ask us how was the stay, food etc but here I haven't found any such people here.

Room was ok as it is same as before but was missing the herbal flavour water. No more traditional send off etc..

This is not something I came from Trivandrum to Kumbakonam to stay to face worst experience. You disappointed me terrifically. Never again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Radhakrishnan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Mantra Koodam, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Mr.Radhakrishnan,

At very outset, let me apologies for the bad meal experience you had at Mantra. All the points that you have mentioned in your feedback will be treated with utmost seriousness and all the corrective measures will be taken. Guest satisfaction is our ultimate goal and we regret that we couldn't rise up to your expectation. I assure that we will seriously look into this and will make sure that you experience the best of our hospitality during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

spread across a sprawling area , gives u the look of a mini village , with a lot of row houses kid of cottages and a huge panna veedu with mango tree. The tea kadai with the benches is my fav place and have clicked a numerous pictures here . the entire team is very hospitable making the experience even more wonderful . only negative part is the tiny bridge one has to carefully manoeuvre to reach this resort .

Stayed: April 2018
Thank LakshmiB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Mantra Koodam, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Guest,
It has been such a pleasure reading your comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. Hope you will stay with us again sometime soon!
Warm regards,
Sanooj Ravindran | General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

First off, note that this hotel is under new management - by CGH, a Kochi based company - and is now known as Mantra Koodam.

In my impression, they really know how to run a top notch operation - right from our reception on arrival, all the way to the handling of our checkout, we received truly world-class service.

The facilities were also top notch - we booked 2 cottages and both were simply excellent.

The bathroom has an (optional) shower that opens to the skies, which was the highlight of my experience, while the visiting wild peacocks captivated the rest of our family.

Nicely done, Mr Sanoj and crew! Nicely done!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank firststarontheleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Mantra Koodam, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Thank you so much for your excellent feedback Sir..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in March! Yes it was rather hot and humid, but the place was still wonderful. Just a few KM's outside town, it is cacooned in a world of its own. You literally are in a village setting with most modern amenities. Ofcourse some amenities are missing, the most prominent of which is television. Which we thought was good as we were there to de-stress. The rooms are bid enough and can comfortably sleep 3 adults. The most beautiful part was the bathroom - open to the sky! Though might be an issue during the monsoons I assume. The food was local and mouthwatering. Although we didn't get to use the pool, it seemed quite inviting. A stay of more than 2 nights is recommended to enjoy the facilities.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank travel1007_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Mantra Koodam, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Dear Guest,
It has been such a pleasure reading your comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us. Hope you will stay with us again sometime soon!
Warm regards,
Sanooj Ravindran | General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews