We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
15
46
25
11
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
46
25
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station value for money complimentary breakfast the hotel staff reasonable cost excellent hotel horn
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 116 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2018

We stayed in Hotel Vinayaga, Kumbakonam from August 15, 2018, to August 17, 2018. The experience was horrible, to say the least. Though this hotel is conveniently located, the service was horrendous. We booked a room clearly stating that we need 1 double cot along with 1 single cot for my father to sleep. Instead, when we checked in, we were informed that they will not provide single cots, rather, they would only provide mattresses for the single person to sleep. Imagine a hotel that provides only mattresses for a person to sleep. The room was well-maintained. There were no coat hangers to hang my father's shirts, no wall clock to see the time and most importantly, no drinking water facility. We had to buy Aquafina bottles from them. Each bottle costs Rs. 50/- at the hotel. Three coffees cost rs.194. The food was stale and tasteless. The cost of the meals are so high (a meal costs nearly 200 rs). When we asked the hotel staffs said that the foods are coming from their special maplai gounder mess and hence, their costs are quite high. But, the food was extremely tasteless and the idlis were stone-like. Above all these, I ordered a fried rice from these people for my lunch. I didn't know whether they used substandard materials, but, as soon as I ate my fried rice, I was affected by severe food poisoning. As a result, we had to cut back our tour and return to Chennai within 2 days. There were no geysers in the bathroom. We were informed that there is a centralized heating system, which would provide hot waters in all the respective bathroom pipes. But, what we got was lukewarm water. The pipes were not checked properly because the water was just dripping from the pipes without any force. The mattress offered for king-size bed was quite jumpy. We barely slept for the two days we stayed in the hotel (actually, we were there only for 1.5 days). The duvet offered for king-size beds were quite inadequate. We were asked to pay rs.8745/- for our 1.5-day stay (we opted for room service and that was charged exorbitantly added with GST, taxes etc.). Added to all these woes, were the laundry services these people offer. They don't have a separate laundromat. They hire individual people to clean and iron your clothes. The rate they charge for this laundry servicing cannot be described in words :(
I just couldn't digest the rate that you hotel people had charged us..!! While I agree that every room service will be charged, these kinds of inadvertently high prices cannot be afforded by everyone.
To the staff of Hotel Vinayaga who reads my review,
Instead of providing an apology, please correct your mistakes. Improvise the hospitality skills of your staffs first. Try to replace your chefs. Please improve your hotel so that the quality of your service equals the rate you charge.
Regards,
Gayathri

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LathaG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaidyanathan R, Manager at Hotel Vinayaga, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Vanakam from Vinayaga Hotel.

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about us in TripAdvisor.

We have made a serious note of your comments in areas that require improvement. We will ensure it is taken up to the appropriate authorities for redressal.

We appreciate the feedback which will allow us to improve and provide better guest experience. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you to your fullest satisfaction.

Thanks
Aravindan
CRS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

we were on a pilgrimage and while going to temples in Kumbakonam, stayed at this hotel which is centrally and conveniently located. The room was clean and the over all service of the hotel staff was satisfactory. Buffet breakfast was limited but acceptable.

Room tip: a good place to stay while on pilgrimage
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ushasivadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaidyanathan R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vinayaga, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Vanakam from Vinayaga Kumbakonam.

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about us in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that you liked your stay with us. Our team is motivated to read your comments. Guest delight is our motto and we don't mind traveling that extra mile to see that sunshine smile on you.

Waiting to impress you again soon.

With regards

Vaidyanathan
GM Guest experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel during our pilgrimage visit to Kumbakonam. Some exterior renovation work is going on. You can hear the train horn inside your room, next to railway station. Food is average, need lot of improvement. Well maintained room.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaidyanathan R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vinayaga, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Vanakam from Vinayaga Kumbakonam,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about us in TripAdvisor.

We have made a complete renovation of our property and a new look with fresh amenities are in place now. We have made a note of your comment about our food, the same is share with my Chef. We will ensre your future stays are even more comfortable and impressive.

Waiting to serve you again soon.


With Regards

Vaidyanathan
Guest Experiences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Breakfast was very good.Hotel is quite close to the railway station.Ac was leaking water inside the room. Remote was broken. Needs more maintenance. Complimentary wifi works only in the lobby. Even the bathroom screen was full of moulds.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BhavaniN14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaidyanathan R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vinayaga, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Vanakam from Vinayaga Hotel.

Thank you for taking to share your feedback about us in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that you liked our food and the location. We have made a serious note of your comments about our areas of improvement. We will ensure the mentioned comment is improved and just to give you an update the entire property is renovated and you can enjoy Vinayaga in ts new Avatar very soon.

We have listened to your feedback and improved our property to your expectation.Come experience the new Vinayaga at Kumbakonam.

Waiting to serve you again soon.

With regards

Vaidyanathan
Sr Manager - Guest experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

I am sivakumar Jeganathan from chennai. I have stayed in this hotel from 5 June 17 to 13 June 17.

Hotel location is excellent. Rooms are spacious but A/c is not working properly. I have changed 5 rooms at last i got a room with A/c was working properly.

Hotel is not maintained well. Complimentary wifi is not connecting properly. Everyday menu is same for complimentary breakfast during 7 days stay. Restaurant service is very poor. it need improvement.

Staff are very courteous and polite.

Overall it is an average stay at Kumbakonam

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luvlysiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaidyanathan R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vinayaga, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Vanakam from Vinayaga Hotel.

Thank you for taking to share your feedback about us in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that you liked our location. We have made a serious note of your comment about our areas of improvement. We will ensure the mentioned comment is improved and just to give you an update the entire property is renovated and you can enjoy Vinayaga in ts new Avatar very soon.

We have listened to your feedback and improved our property to your expectation.Come experience the new Vinayaga at Kumbakonam.

Waiting to serve you again soon.

With regards

Vaidyanathan
Sr Manager - Guest experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews