We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Stay in beautiful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Roost,

The Roost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Roost
Stream Barn with The Roost on the right View from dining area to sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Roost
Stream Barn with The Roost on the right
View from dining area to sitting area
Sitting area and front door
Fully equipped kitchenette
Dining area from staircase
Sleeping platform with king size bed
Patio dining
Secluded paved courtyard
Garden setting with views to south downs
Field at the rear
Further view of South Downs from The Roost
Sheep grazing in fields behind The Roost
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amberley, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JFOSG
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We were warmly greeted by Sandie and Geoff on arrIval,Sandie showed us round and explained how things worked, showed us the information folder and chatted about the area. The Roost was very clean, comfortable and cosy ( under floor heating was lovely). The view over the fields and downs was very pretty and the garden nicely planted. The village itself was picturesque and we enjoyed wandering around. We visited the shop which was well stocked,there is also a tearoom and 2 pubs. A good location for visiting Arundel and Chichester.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiaMK
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil bucolic escape!”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Roost, which is tucked away in a very convenient corner of the South Downs in a tiny village called Amberley (which must be the prettiest village in England, I swear!) The location of the rental is outstanding for access tot he South Downs Way, and we did a LOT of hiking on our break. The tea room next door was wonderful. Sandie and Geoff were ideal hosts - both accommodating and understanding of the need for privacy. In all we had the ideal break in a wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the high standards of the rental.
Liked least: On occasion the lack of WIFi AS WELL as the lack of a phone signal was a bit of a challenge - but honestly it was also a nice to have a break from emails and phone calls!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iloveaime...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Upon arriving at 'The Roost' we straight away received a very warm and friendly welcome from Sandra. Who then proceeded to show us around the cottage, give advice on local amenities and settle us in.

The cottage is very cosy and romantic, with a lovely garden at the rear to relax and clear the mind. Bedroom upstairs is lovely we enjoyed star gazing at night!
Kitchen was well equipped for a couple with everything you need for a short or long stay.

Local shop was lovely (with a kind 10% off) when staying at 'The Roost'.

We would happily stay here again...it's a real gem...I even proposed here to my partner!

Thank you Sandra & Geoff.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M
1 review
“Beautiful accomodation in lovely village”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Roost was a very well presented property with a beautiful garden and patio. Amberley village itself is a fantastic location.

Sandra was very friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend The Roost to anyone wishing to visit the South Downs.

The nearby Sportsman pub serves fabulous food with great views and the local area is perfect for cycling and walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden
Liked least: wifi was not reliable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, excellent cottage and very welcoming hosts”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Roost is a great place to stay, we were lucky to time our stay with the heat wave but it would still have been a brill holiday. The owners were very welcoming and helpful with advice on where to go. The cottage is well equiped and reasonable spacious, the little extras like tea bags and milk make a big difference to the whole experience. Magnificent garden full of flowers, birds and sunshine. The village was wonderfully peaceful and in the heart of the South Downs with easy access to walks, train and even civilisation close by in Chichester and Brighton. Would definately return and recommed to anyone. Thanks for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, full of fragrant flowers
Liked least: bedroom ceiling is a touch low
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn T
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful, light conversion opening onto a patio spilling over with flowers.”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A delightful conversion from an old cart shed, suitable for 1 person or a couple. Very clean, light and airy, yet a compact open plan space with French doors opening onto a patio which in June was spilling over with flowers. Tucked away in the middle of the lovely village of Amberley which is itself well away from a main road. Good walking from the house, either to the river, over Amberley Brooks or up onto the Downs network of paths. The owners were very welcoming & helpful and live across the driveway. There is a well stocked shop just a few minutes walk away and the locals seemed very friendly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming romantic getaway in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for a special anniversary and I can really recommend both The Roost and Amberley as a destination. The accommodation is perfect for 2 people; it has the feel of a boutique B&B but it is self-catering which is just what we wanted. There is also a lovely outside garden area with great views onto the South Downs. We did loads of walking while we were there and sampled a number of local pubs! - can recommend the Sportsman (a short walk) very highly. Hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing