We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wivenhoe House(Wivenhoe)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Ivy Hotel(Colchester)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Court House(Great Bromley)
US$96
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Globe Hotel(Colchester)
US$82
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
19
14
7
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
14
7
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubtwin roompuddingdinerscidercurtains
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Took friends to this restaurant. All our meals were delicious and very tasty. The soup was very good and the muscels had a lovely thai sauce. The service was first class despite being very busy. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch on way to meeting at University of Essex. Good atmosphere, stripped floorboards, local art and pictures, mixed tables and chairs. Very nicely done pub food. Some of the best fish and chips south of the Magpie a Cafe, Whitby. Generous antipasti plate and excellent chocolate pudding. Really good value for money. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jcosmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
166
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

Good lunch on the patio area. Good variety of food to choose from. Food was well prepared, quick service, and a popular location for families. Well worth a visit to this quaint old pub which is off the high street and close to the waterfront.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We had the exclusive use of the downstairs room for our Birthday celebration, our party being 10 people. The room is cosy and the door is closed so if we were noisy at times this did not disturb anyone else. Shane was our waiter and he was very attentive, popping in frequently and he gave us great service. Nothing was too much trouble from supplying drinks, vegetables, water jugs, doggie bags, and the like. Our Birthday Boy fancied himself a connoisseur of beers so we had organised a blind tasting of 6 beers in smallish glasses on a tray for him to identify. I had Chicken Pate as a starter. Most of the party had Turkey for the main meal, This was filling and tasty and the vegetables were not overdone. We all enjoyed the puddings whilst I had a cheeseboard. The cheeseboard was generously large and I needed a doggie bag for the excess. We were all impressed with the service and quality of food and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank blueleopard2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

We really don't have many great places to eat in Wivenhoe! Lovely Italian, and we have lost 3 eateries in the village. Poor service, overpriced food ! Would rather eat at home. Tried a few times to use this place, but sometimes it's time to just give up !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews