We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
258
227
80
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
227
80
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour view the pub mussels great food mixed grill dunnottar castle would stay again lovely location sit outside nice room cullen skink cooked to perfection double bed one night stay the east coast excellent breakfast sea
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 591 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Lovely food and very friendly staff. Dogs allowed in bar and lounge but understandably not in restaurant. Right on the harbour so lovely harbour views whatever the weather. Great place for food and to stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Candg2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Candg2222, Thank you for your comment! Our staff always make sure that our guests feel welcome and it's always positive to hear such comments! Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2018

It was recommended to stay there because of the food, and it lived up to that. I had the best kullen skink I've ever had, the staff very very friendly and breakfast was very nice in the morning, I do love a full Scottish that is cooked to order.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomasmillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear Thomasmillar, Thank you for your review - We are more than happy to know you liked both our hotel and restaurant! Sea food is our main speciality and it's rewarding to read comments praising our fish-based dishes. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

Good accommodation very clean rooms . The breakfast was ok. Overall not bad but lacks any cosy atmosphere sorry to say we would not go back to this hotel but we loved Stonehaven. We did find that one slice of toast each was a bit mean.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Dear Maggie M, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are glad that you were happy with our accommodation and that you liked our rooms but we are undoubtedly disappointed to hear that you did not think our atmosphere is cosy enough. We make sure that our guests feel comfortable throughout their whole stay. Indeed, most of our business is repeat business, which means our feedback is backed by guests who return because they enjoyed their previous stay at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

My family and I were enjoying a walk around Stonehaven when we noticed The Ship Inn, perfect for lunch we thought and popped in. We were lucky, as they were about to stop serving...so top tips, check the times and book a table by the window.

This little pub is actually part of a larger hotel, we ate in the newer section. This area is bright, practically furnished and clean. Better yet it offers a smashing view of the harbour.

The menu is decent but I suggest the fish - when in Rome after all. They also have a lovely gin menu...I made good use of that.

The service was swift, the portion sizes decent but not overwhelming and most importantly tasty. We would certainly eat here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 482mhairim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Mhairi M - gin and seafood...it might also be our favourite flavour combination! We are delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable visit, and we hope that you will visit us again if you return to Stonehaven. We do tend to get very busy at weekends and throughout high season, so always recommend booking. If the restrauarnt if full, we can serve meals in the pub but cannot offer table service here. And, if the weather allows, also serve in the outside seating area...where that view comes completely free!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

I went here for lunch last weekend and loved it. It had a great local feel about it even though there was a lot of tourist passing trade. A very friendly atmosphere, the boys serving were very attentive. Really good pub food! A little bit on the pricey side but it is totally worth it. I will be back.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac_Loco_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Mac_Loco_86 Very pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable visit - and we very much look forward to welcoming you back! We do see lots of visitors to the area, especially during the high season, but the fact that we are also frequented by so many locals really helps to give The Ship a wonderful community feel. A very warm welcome awaits you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews