We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amazon Village Jungle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$60
US$49
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Go Inn Manaus(Manaus)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$58
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Da Vinci Hotel & Conventions(Manaus)
US$64
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
EcoSuites Hotel Manaus(Manaus)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,077
US$1,044
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
26
19
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
19
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbattery operatedno hot waterpirhana fishingdietary restrictionsno air conditioningtoursjungleamazonlodgeexperienceswim
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

It is necessary to leave all but 5kgs of your luggage in Manaus so make sure you don't forget the mosquito repellent !
It is a wonderful two hour boat trip from Manaus to get to the Amazon Village. We were greeted on arrival with glasses of Guava juice and supplied with our room key and a box of matches! The matches are for the candles in the room which are necessary to supplement the very dim battery lighting. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we did not have to share a bathroom - all rooms do have their own bathroom contrary to what is written on the website. The rooms are basic with single beds and the shower is cold.
There is a restaurant and a bar in the main building and breakfast, lunch and dinner are provided buffet style for the guests. A bell rings when the food is ready. The food was fine considering it is being served in the middle of the jungle!
A two night stay is really enough here to do all the available excursions on the river and there is really nothing to do in the evenings except sit in the bar - it was difficult even to read because of the low lighting.

Room Tip: Bring a torch!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maryuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2011

When we landed in Manaus, we were happy to be greeted by Rudolpho who timely picked us up at the airport. He accompanied us on the hour boat journey to the Amazon Village Lodge where we had a 3 night stay. Our Lodge had a thatched roof with a hammock hanging in the front porch. The accomodations were clean and adequate. The entire staff was friendly and attentive. The food however, was the most impressive of our stay. For every breakfast, lunch and dinner there were many different varieties of fresh baking, local fruits and meat. The food was absolutely excellent at every meal and a definite highlight. Alex was our guide who took us on intruiging daily excursions. Alex took us on an ecological boat tour, a hike in the jungle and caiman spotting. We were also lucky enough to visit a few local homesteads near the Lodge. We spent many entertaining evenings in the lobby of the Lodge conversing with other Lodgers visiting from different parts of the world, sipping Caipirinhna and singing to a guitar-playing Rudolpho's rendition of 'No Woman No Cry.' Good times.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0ni0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amazon Village Jungle Lodge for 3 days and 2 nights and we loved it! Our guide Rudolpho was fantastic and we were the only English speaking group there at the time so it was like we were on a private tour. The buffet meals were delicious and the staff was incredibly friendly and accomodating. Our little jungle lodge was so cute with a thatched roof and hammock on the front porch, just the right amount of comfort and conveniance while still being rustic. We saw Tucans, pink dolphins, tarantulas, a sloth, and went pirahna fishing and caiman spotting as well. We had a ton of fun and also felt very relaxed. The only down side was that it was not very far from Manaus and there was definately still a lot of civilization within a close distance but still a lot of nature as well. Overall our experience was fantastic and I would definately recommend it, especially for your first time to the Amazon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2011

As others have stated this lodge is a 2-3 hour boat ride from Manaus. First you travel by fast boat down the Rio Negro down to the main Amazon itself. Here you find the 'meeting of the waters' where the two rivers, one clear, one brown flow together without mixing. The fast boat then travels up a backwater where you transfer to a smaller boat for the last thirty minutes or so. As it was the dry season (December) there was then a 10 minute walk from the jetty to the lodge itself.

We were on a two night/three day package which we both felt was about right. One night would certainly have been too little but we were somewhat 'jungled out' after the two and were glad to get back to town with our onward flight to the north coast and the beach beckoning.

The lodges themselves are spread out along paths from the central area. They are pretty basic but clean and comfortable. There is no electricity in them, lighting is battery operated. The shower and toilet are in a small area. My only criticism is that the wall with the adjacent lodge is paper thin. You can hear everything going on next door and vice versa.

In the central area are a restaurant, reception/lounge are and a small bar. Food comes via a buffet and is good quality given the difficulty of the location. Drinks at the bar cost a little more than in Manaus itself but again given the location the prices are not unreasonable. A can of beer cost R$5.

They keep you quite busy with boat trips and walks, you can of course opt out of these. Personally I found our jungle trek, although interesting, a bit tame. It was in an area adjacent to the lodge, there was thus lots of evidence of human activity. We could also at times see or hear another group which was being brought in a reverse loop to ours. Amongst other things, our guide teased a huge tarantula from under a tree for us to see. This was fascinating the first time, the novelty wore off somewhat by the third.

On our last 'reconnaissance' tour, amongst other things, we were brought to the neighbouring village. It was connected to the highway by a dirt road and had a mains electricity supply. Many of those who worked in the hotel lived here. This actually turned out to be only a short walk, probably 500m or so, from the hotel itself. The previous feeling of remoteness proved to be false.

Would I recommend this place to others? Yes, it represents decent value and is a reasonable introduction to the jungle. Would I stay here again? No, I've ticked that box and, not having any special interest in the rain forest, feel no great urge to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianc_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I LOVED THIS PLACE!

Our guide was Alex. He is knowledgeable and so friendly and we had a great laugh with him. We always talk about him when describing our holiday. When i return, i will request Alex.

You are picked up and taken to the port (alex picked out things to show us on the way to the port). You travel down river to tne meeting of the waters, alex explained it all to us.We also saw some pink amazon river dolpins.

I'm sure it was 2/3 hours on the boat until we got to the jungle lodge. We were welcomed with drinks and big smiles.

Our room was basic. 2 beds, clean, hammock for lying in outside - alex kept giving us a row for leaving our door open and letting bugs in!!..which didn't happen. There were not many about.

The food for the middle of the amazon was great! There was a good choice, it was warm and lots of it. Alex always sat with us and ate.

At night there was a little bar, where we all sat and had a few drinks. The staff and guests sang along - it was really nice.

The trips that we were taken on were great. Pirhana fishing, night time caiman hunting, visiting local villages, local families - they sell some really cool stuff (blowpipes etc).

The staff were great, friendly and informative. The little lodge was great.

If you are planning on staying in the Amazon, stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews