We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away ”

The Oyster Smack Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A charming little restaurant and hotel situated in the heart of Burnhan, on the River Crouch, in Essex. A combination of delicious food, great atmosphere, service and comfortable accommodation, make both dining and staying at The Oyster Smack Inn a lovely experience for anyone. We always try to go that little extra mile to try and make each customer's time with us as unique as possible, so let us see what we can do for you... we serve modern British food.
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Good service
Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Unfortunately the room we stayed in needed updating and has started to look tired.The bathroom had a good shower.We stayed in a room overlooking the main road so can be noisy. Parking was fine for us, but I bet it can get busy in peak times.

The food was good but on expensive side. But was of good quality. We would try somewhere else if we returned.

Overall a nice weekend away and we would return happily.

Thank 1007ojgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasha D, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback 1007ojgreer, we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms in the main buildings are a little subject to the old architecture. We are however in the process of updating and refreshing them, and are always grateful for any feedback. I am really happy that you enjoyed your meal. We don't often have an complaints on our pricing, we are very careful in pricing our menu reasonably as we prepare almost everything on the menu in house as well as sourcing some of the best and freshest ingredients. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future. Kindest regards,
The Oyster Smack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Great food, excellent service, and lovely atmosphere, very reasonable prices, what's not to like!. We have been many times over many years, we have tried all the many other restaurants in Burnham and always come back to The oyster smack.

Thank keithwO8270QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasha D, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Come to Burnham more often! It has always a pleasure to welcome you over the years and it means so much to have customers come back to us. Your comments have made us all very happy here and we hope that it isn't too long before we see you again! thank you for taking your time to write such lovely comments,
Kindest regards
The Oyster Smack Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Went there for my girlfriend's birthday meal. Food was excellent and service from the waitress was excellent. I asked for a few changes to be made to my main course and the chef kindly honored my request. Portions were great too! And to top it off, the waitress returned at the end with a little something for the birthday girl!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasha D, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello Liam M, thank you for your lovely review, it was a real pleasure looking after your table, and the chef was happy to adjust your meal for you. Our biggest gratification is watching a table leaving full and happy, seconded only by reading reviews such as this. We hope your lovely girlfriend had a great day and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in the future.
Many thanks
The Oyster Smack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

A really good couple of days and evening meal on the Friday. Food very good and friendly hard working staff. Very enjoyable and highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _davecolmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasha D, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello _davecolmer1, we are really happy to read your wonderful review, our staff are indeed hard working and passionate about what they do here. Your recommendations mean the world to us and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
The Oyster Smack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Manager, Chef and servers were very accommodating to our special dietary request and went above and beyond to provide a variety of choice and delicious and satisfying food.

Thank kaha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasha D, Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you Kaha123, we always do our best to cater for a variety of dietary requirements, we are always happy to put our minds to providing some options, especially when we have a heads up, we would love to welcome you back in the future!

Many thanks
The oyster smack team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oyster Smack Inn also viewed

Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
 
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex
 

Been to The Oyster Smack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing