We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Wriggly Tin

The Wriggly Tin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin BBQ Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Wriggly Tin
Back View of The Wriggly Tin
BBQ Area
Living Room with Open Log Fire
Living Room
Dining room with seating for 10 at the table
Stairs to Loft bedroom
Twin beds in Loft Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Winter at The Wriggly Tin
The Wriggly Tin In snow
Main Door
3 Bedded Room
3 Bedded Room
Stairs and Hall Lower Ground Floor
1st Double Bedroom with Arched window opening to garden
2nd Double Bedroom
Garden from Dining Room Window
Gravel Area in Garden
Friendly Visitor
Main door over Foot Bridge
Floor Plan of The Wriggly Tin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Millers Dale, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John B
Bolton
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Wriggly Tin for a week with our 3 children and their partners joining us for varying times. 7 adults in total which the Tin handles with ease. Our welcome was warm, basics to make a drink were supplied and the Flap Jacks were scrummy.

From the outside it looks a bit quirky with the corrugated iron cladding. It looks quite small, but when you go in you find it is Tardis-like. 4 Bedrooms in total, large living kitchen/diner with separate lounge. 4 showers with loads of hot water, 4 toilets. And the place is very well equipped and comfortable.

Unlike a lot of holiday rentals they provide hand wash at every sink, extra towels and air freshener in all communal toilets, washing-up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc etc ... all those things that you can never understand why the owners don't just provide them ... Here they do!

The Tin has underfloor heating which maintains a very comfortable temperature if it gets a bit cold outside.

It's also ideally situated for a range of activities and interests. Some in our group went easy bike riding on the Monsall Trail, 60+ mile bike rides through most of Derbyshire, short easy walks, longer walks (but hard to find real hills unless you drive to Kinder), visits to Eyam Hall, Haddon Hall (with Chatsworth and Hardwick also pretty near). There's really a lot to do.

Red Lion at Litton is good for food and beer, Angler's Rest in Miller's Dale does food and has good beer and a short drive away the food at the Royal Oak is worth the extra drive.

I'd recommend the Wriggly Tin to any of my friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Warmer weather would have been great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your review, it is lovely when guests take the time to write about us, and especially when done so favourably. We feel it of the utmost importance that our guests have the best holiday experience they can whilst they are staying here, and providing many incidentals is easy for us and saves guests so much bother.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavarcham
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,042 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Six of us travelled here for our annual get together. Karen provided a friendly welcome with flowers and homemade flapjacks. The house looks small from outside but once inside you discover it extends up, down and back on three levels. It is warm, comfortable and well equipped. The garden is also multi levelled and must be a lovely place to sit out in the summertime. The location right next to the Monsal Trail is perfect for walkers as well as cyclists. An open plan kitchen/ dining room is always a feature we look for in choosing a place to stay so that for breakfasts and on nights we decide to eat in, we can chat and relax while preparing the meal. The spacious area here suited us very well. For eating out, I highly recommend the Bull at Foolow. We went there on our first evening and returned for 'Pie night' on our last evening. The food was absolutely delicious and good value. The pub and restaurant has a super atmosphere thanks to the landlord and his mother.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Wriggly Tin is a lovely quirky building. There is plenty of room round the table and in the sitting room - 8 of us sat round the gorgeous log fire in comfort. The location is wonderful (even if the mobile signal isn't). The Monsal Trail is literally across the road and well worth a walk or cycle along

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy log fires
Liked least: Rain on the Sunday afternoon
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet S
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome, lovely house”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here for a week, two families together. Booking was easy and lots of helpful information given by Karen. We arrived late in the evening, so the house was open for us, lights and heat on and a supermarket delivery had been received - really helpful. Arrival was lovely, there were flowers, flapjack, fudge and milk, tea and coffee. The house was spotless and everything was provided you could wish for. There were 9 of us staying, and it never got crowded. Having two lounges really helped. The fire was great for the evening, all firewood and kindling was provided.
The house is situated opposite the Monsal Trail which was great for walks straight from the house. There was a good pub in the village that served good food and ales. Altogether a great house, well cared for and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fire, 3 bed room
Liked least: Patchy wifi - difficult for children doing homework
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRIAN V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage for family xmas”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The north and South came together here for our family xmas,we were not disappointed, we instantly felt at home.The extra little touches made it all very seasonal,fairy lights,xmas trees,flapjack and chocolate.Everyone had a lovely xmas ,all went to plan.
Location is excellent for walking the trail which some of us managed to fit in ,others went to Chatsworth and nearby Bakewell.
The icing on the cake was snowfall on Boxing Day night waking up to a magical winter landscape, Peter even provided us with a sledge for our two year old grandson Lucas.
We were all a bit sceptical about getting home but everyone made it safe and sound, although we would not have been too disappointed if we had been snowed in.
Thank you once again to Karen and Peter an unforgettable xmas will definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you all had a good Christmas here at The Wriggly Tin, and glad we managed to get you some snow as well! Good to hear everyone made it home safely, and we hope you all have special memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBearBo...
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage we had a brilliant stay”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I would highly recommend this cottage, all of the bedrooms are well furnished and spacious, the bathroom facilities are excellent..
The lounge was well furnished with enough space and seats for everyone. Our favourite area was the kitchen and dining area were our favourite area - it's really snug and comfy. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need including basics such as milk, coffee, tea etc
I would highly recommend this cottage, the owners make every effort to ensure you have a wondefrful stay which includes the welcoming flapjacks, chocolates and flowers thanks again and we all look forward to staying with you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nithing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, and thank you also for leaving The Wriggly Tin so clean and tidy. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and would love to welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waggywoo
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something VERY special”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed here from Friday to Monday with 7 other friends. We go away for the weekend together every year and this is by far the best place we have ever stayed and we will certainly be back! The place is absolutely spotless and has everything in it that you could wish for. The personal touches of home made flapjack, chocolate and fresh flowers made us feel so welcome on arrival. Our shopping had been delivered and had all been put away and the owner had let us know it had arrived.
The place had everything you could need from toilet rolls, washing up liquid, cloths, hand wash, tea towels, all of which we normally have to take with us.
We had a walk on the Monsal Trail and a visit to the local pub (about 5 mins walk) and very friendly. We also were lucky enough to be there for the Chatsworth Christmas Fair.
What a wonderful weekend we all had and a fantastic place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house cleanliness and special touches
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we just try to make your stay at The Wriggly Tin as enjoyable as possible. Please come again anytime you like.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing