We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little closer to heaven...”
Review of Laurentian Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elliot Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laurentian Lodge
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A little closer to heaven...”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We went to Laurentian Lodge in July 2011. We found the town of Elliot Lake had everything we needed and the look out at the Fire Tower is a must.

We rented a cottage near the boating docks on the water, with a waterfall at the one side beside the bedroom window. Nice. Big deck with chairs and a picnic table. Full sun all day. Small beach and swimming area. Our cottage had 2 floors and could comfortably accommodate 6 with 2 bathrooms and equipped with handicap shower. The cottage itself was spotless and they came in every day to change the dish and bath towels and cleaned the sink and shower daily. The grounds were beautiful for walks and sitting areas really scenic and relaxing. At the bottom of the waterfall, there was a basin that was a natural whirlpool. Wonderful.

The staff were very helpful. The main lodge was spotless and everyone was friendly. We took our ATV there and were directed to some great trails by the resort owner, with spectacular views. We tried the trails in Elliot Lake and they were terrible. If you want a real challenge and enjoy the bumps, hills and twists, you may enjoy it but we found there was not much to see compared to the trails Laurentian Lodge hooked us up with.

All in all, we would highly recommend this lodge. Food, people, accommodation, and scenery...all of it was just great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigfnirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The food and accommodation are 5 star. Please visit this lodge. it's a very well kept secret. Great for families, singles and weddings. There is enough room to fish, explore and be totally alone.
With a really friendly staff who are knowledgeable and anticipate every need, we were well taken care of and will return yearly.

The owners are VERY personable, experienced and pay attention to everyone from young people to seniors' needs

Room Tip: Motel units are inexpensive and well insulated. Dining is spectacular. Other units are free standing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed with my husband at the lodge for one night over Thanksgiving. We checked into the lodge on Sunday, the check-in process was easy and painless. I figured you had to ask for a hair dryer at the desk so i did that and they gave me one, also I asked for an ice bucket and bag of ice and they gave me that too. (They also offered wine glasses, cork screw)
That evening we had dinner at the lodge for Thanksgiving and it was good. It wasn't amazing by any means but it was good. In past years they have had there buffet/ thanksgiving banquet in the banquet hall but they said there numbers were down this year so they had it in the restaurant, which was fine but the banquet room is nicer.
Later in the evening some family came back to the hotel room and we all went down to the sauna/ hot tubs. The sauna room/ hot tun area needs some help. It's nice inside but everything is broken, the hot tub works sparatically, there are jets that don't go on etc, the sauna wasn't working at all and another guest told me it hadn't worked for years and the shower didn't work at all. Also there is no toilet in the sauna/ hotub room, which will just result in men peeing outside and ladies in the hot tub gross! The rooms are very out of date. This place could be so amazing with a little TLC it's not far off it has good bones, a nice gas fireplace in the corner, lush duvets with some plush towels and bathrobes, it has the potential for sure, because the one thing you can't buy is the breathtaking scenery and this place lacks none of that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DottieHSlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry's Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This past weekend I attended a wedding at the Laurentian Lodge. Because I am out of town, my two friends and I rented a room at the Lodge for both the Friday and Saturday night. The room was plain and out dated. The beds were hard. There was no clock or any other electrical device in the room. Thank goodness for cell phones...we reserved a room with the fireplace with intentions of using it but it did not turn on. After several attempts we bought it up with the staff in the Lodge and it was never followed up. Breakfast was included both mornings with the room and it was enjoyable. Buffet style and the staff served it to you. The wedding outside was wonderful. The dinner wasn't that great. BBQ chicken and steak weren't that appealing. The banquet room itself was truely beautiful and it didn't need much decorating at all to have a wow factor. Overall, a great experience but wouldn't likely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was our second time at Laurentian Lodge. Both times we found the facilites extremely clean. The staff are very friendly and available at all times. The meals are priced reasonably, with lots of choices. There is access to two lakes for swimming, boating or canoeing. We have stayed in a cottage and in the hotel rooms at Laurentian Lodge, and have been very satisfied. We already have our rooms booked for next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elliot Lake
0.0 km away
Dunlop Lake Lodge
Dunlop Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Elliot Lake
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
23 reviews
0.0 km away
Auberge Eldo Inn
Auberge Eldo Inn
#3 of 5 in Blind River
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn Elliot Lake
Hampton Inn Elliot Lake
#1 of 1 in Elliot Lake
320 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Laurentian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurentian Lodge

Property: Laurentian Lodge
Address: Flack Lake, Elliot Lake, Ontario P5A 2J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Elliot Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Elliot Lake
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Laurentian Lodge Elliot Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing