We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, now a firm "go to" place”
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hambrook
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took friends after having a very nice lunch recently. Packed out on a Friday night - always a good sign - so glad we had booked.

Smallish menu and not the cheapest however it's very clear to see they have a very good chef in the kitchen as every dish was superb. Portions aren't huge but because of the quality of the food it's no big problem.

We didn't bother with starters, four of us went for the fishcakes (if you're really hungry maybe a shared bowl of wondeful chips would be a good idea). I hade the pie which was sublime as indeed are the chips!

Five pudding equally hit the spot rounding off a great experience. Service is attentive and in most cases quick. You nay have a bit of a wait at busy periods because everything seems to be as freshly prepared as it can be. One of us wanted the fish and chips but they had run out, while this is frustrating if you think about it they must had a certain amount of fresh portions and weren't relying on frozen so quite good to hear if you get my drift? All in all a lovely surprise and now definitely on our list and not too far away as a bonus.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 196 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2018

My son booked the pub for his October birthday get together. We had not been there since before it was renovated. What a surprise. It was really nice with a good atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff and a good menu.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for a drink on a Tuesday at 12.15. Patrons in there, but told when entering they were shut. Barmaid behind bar serving, but obviously not for us.
Opening on door said open 12 to 23.
Nasty man smiled as he said closed.
Don’t bother, unfriendly.
Will not be going there.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank ToniBassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

Been here several times now. Spotlessly clean, varied and thoughtful menu, well cooked and presented.
Staff are fun and eager.
What a relief to find a pub that has dogs.
We will be back for more.....

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Heizenberrrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

We went to the pub sunday for my mums 88th birthday there was 10 of us, it was perfect again, the food and presentation the service the staff honestly cannot fault one thing, this is one of the best pubs in Bristol without a doubt, i cant wait to go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
Nibley, Gloucestershire
 
Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 
Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing