We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$33
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$33
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$33
US$28
View deal
SAVE US$5
Free cancellation until 21-04-28
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$33
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
1
5
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1
5
9
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2015

i had read a lot of bad reviews before getting to this hotel so i was kind of scared but i have to confess that rooms were ok, clean and the price rather good. moreover there is the chance to have buffet lunch which i recommend

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank born2travelit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at Los Portales (No. 1) for three nights and it was okay for my purposes. Don't expect a lot of attention from the staff - they are mainly occupied in the restaurant on the ground floor and I didn't see much of them. I mostly took my room keys with me because the reception was hardly ever occupied, so I felt safer with them being in my pocket.

My room was okay, the bed was comfortable and the hot shower worked well. The walls are indeed very thing, so if you are not a heavy sleeper this might trouble you. In addition, the windows leave several tiny openings, so you can hear a lot of the street noise (cars beeping when going backwards, trucks and the annoying melody of the garbage truck) and the room gets pretty cold at night. I had my sleeping bag with me, so I could still sleep well.

Breakfast is not really worth the effort of getting up before 7 (if you don't have too) - if you are lucky you get some fresh bread rolls, jam and butter. On my first day I asked for cheese (like on the other tables) but never got it, so I didn't even bother to go to breakfast a second time. The market at the main square offers traditional Peruvian breakfast at 2.50 soles (jugo de quinua and a breadroll with cheese or avocado) which I would recommend to everyone instead.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 326melh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Portales has 2 Hostels in Chivay. We stayed with 8 people in Number 1. Chivay nights can be cold. Beds come with 3 blankets. Make sure to ask for a movable mini heater if needed. The staff is slow, but friendly. Breakfast is served very early, as people are leaving for the Cruz del Condor. We paid 50 Soles for a double room. Not sure if you can find a better price/quality deal in Chivay.

As from some earlier reviews mentionned, the hostal is 5 minutes walking time from the village center away. Just take the mainroad (which is 100 Meters away) to walk and you will be fine. The hotel overs for lunch a Buffet (25 soles), however you get better deals in the village down the road.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sascha411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were forced to stay here through a 2-day, 1-night trip to Colca Canyon. This isn't a place we'd have selected if we'd had a choice.

The hotel is gloomy, poorly lit, and with poor service.

Minuses:
-The hotel is down a dark, muddy road that is a bit sketchy at night. Even in Chivay.
-The service is awful. There was no manager during the day that we saw; at night, it was a (seemingly) 12-year-old boy. He blasted the TV at night, and we had to ask hiim to turn it down so we could sleep.
-We were supposed to have an included breakfast at 6am with our tour price. At 6am, it was still dark in the dining room- we had to turn on the lights- with no food anywhere. The kid overslept, and when the owner(?) finally woke him up, we had maybe 15 minutes to gulp down stale rolls (but not the butter, which he gave to us AFTER we finished the stale rolls)
-The walls are PAPER THIN.
-Chivay is a cold mountainous town. This hotel is FREEZING. But there was no one around to lend us extra blankets, so we froze all night.
-Poorly lit, generally run-down

Pluses:
-Hot water
-Walkable to Plaza de Armas
-Generally clean

I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews