We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hideout”
Review of Casal Novo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casal Novo
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This place is excellent in many ways. A few perfectly equipped and tastefully decorated cottages are situated near the top of the hill with a wonderful miles long view over green surroundings. You can stay there enjoying the nature and using a nice swimming pool. The ocean with an endless broad beach is on the other side of the hill in 20 minutes walking distance or 5 minutes by car. Maria is a perfect host and a very nice person always ready to help. The place is a perfect base for visiting major tourist attractions like Obidos, Nazare, Alcobaca, Batalha, Fatima, Tomar, .... Each of them is reachable by car within at most one hour. The local village Sao Martinho do Porto with shops and restaurants (10 minutes drive) is situated over an almost closed bay with a fine beach with no waves. The WiFi works perfectly in the swimming pool area. It did not reach our cottage but Maria gave us in the evenings her own extra modem.
We enjoyed enormously our stay and would be happy to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2015

If you wish a extremely quiet and cool place to stay, quite near the shore and some of the most lively summer spots of the western coast north of Lisbon, this is it. Enough comfort, supreme cleanliness, pleasant setting and well fitted. But some service would be appreciated, otherwise you’ve to do everything by yourself. Not so cheap for is offered.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AMFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Our host Maria was absolutely fantastic - couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The cottages are well equipped, clean and surrounded by vineyards. A short drive into the town of Sao Martinhono Porto where there are a selection of great restaurants and close to a fantastic beach. It really helped to have the local knowledge of where to go - makes any visit so much better. Definitely recommend Casal Novo - didn't even hear the dog!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A real gem. Sometimes you are lucky enough to such find a fabulous spot. Here you have hit the jackpot! Beautiful setting and cottage in the lush countryside yet minutes from the sweeping wild atlantic beach and also minutes from the safe natural cove in Sao Martinho town. Our cottage was spotlessly clean and the whole property immaculately maintained. The vibe is relaxed and rustic. Maria, the owner, is wonderful, very helpful and kind. Central for sightseeing the area. We went to Nazare, Obidos, Fatima, Ericeira (nr Lisbon), and to Foz de Orelho which is 10 mins drive away, beautiful lagoon beach and sweeping Atlantic for surfers, great fish restaurant. We want to return with a slightly larger group to make the most of BBQs in evenings at Casal Novol.

Room Tip: There are 5 private cottages in the grounds. Two with one bedroom and three with two or three bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

this is a somewhat difficult place to review, as it has advantages and disadvantages that can polarise you depending on your personal preference..

Advantages:
1.pleasant setting, 2. Nice gardens, 3. clean swimming pool, 4. villa looked nice from the outside

Disadvantages:
1. Frosty welcome
2. odd smell in the kitchen suggesting that a drain was blocked. It was unpleasant enough for one not to prepare or eat meals
3. the shower was blocked in our en-suite bathroom for all 4 days of our stay. this caused the water not to drain properly and was due to a problem with the external piping. The owner supposedly called a plumber to fix this on day 2 but there really was no improvement whatsoever. She did not offer to refund or discount our stay, but we did not mind too much at the time (as we used the other bath)
4. the villa contained a lot of tired old bric-a-brac items and glass ornaments, so families with young children should be aware of this
5. the constant reference of the owner to herself in the third person was quite off putting

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Very enjoyable stay in Casal Novo. You feel like a guest in a family and not like a hotel client. Maria - the owner is a great host, extremely helpful, all her suggestions were very useful for our short stay. It is excellent place near Atlantic, very quiet but in few minutes you come by car to Sao Martinho where you should enjoy dinner in some of the decent restaurants recommanded by Maria. The road to the North will bring you to Nazaré, which is more touristy. I would recommand a trip to Peniche ( ca 30 min drive ) and from there a boat trip to Berlinge islands. Other interesting places in the vicinity - Obidos, Alcobaca, Batalha. Our appartament was spacious with 2 sleeping rooms and 2 bathrooms, very comfortable with nice decorations. Very clean. Swimming pool also very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We've been at Casal Novoin the period 5nd-8th of September 2011; we choosed Casal Novo looking at the site map but we should say that it was better than expectations... The owner is Maria, really kind and her care for the guests is extraordinary; we were with our two little children and they felt better than at home. The place is really near to the ocean (a fantastic show) but hidden in the portoguese fileds, perfect to relax. The houses are large, coloured and full of nice things, we had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and two living room for 4 persons, plus a big and nice kitchen; each house has a lot of space around to admire the nature and stay in a almost private garden. The swimming pool is nice, clean and well equipped with full optionals to sta at sun and/or to have a breakfast. When we understood that all this was made from only a person it has been a surprise... kisses to Maria from Susanna, Luca and the little Fabrizio and Elena!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4infamiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Martinho do Porto hotels
0 km away
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
#3 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
27 reviews
0 km away
Palace do Capitao
Palace do Capitao
#2 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
76 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Baia Residence Il
#3 of 6 in Sao Martinho do Porto
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Casa Dos Mangues
Casa Dos Mangues
#2 of 6 in Sao Martinho do Porto
15 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Clerigo Holiday Beach Apartments
#4 of 6 in Sao Martinho do Porto
4 reviews
0 km away
Albergaria Sao Pedro
Albergaria Sao Pedro
#4 of 7 in Sao Martinho do Porto
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casal Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casal Novo

Address: Rua do Bom Jesus | Venda Nova, Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca 2460, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alcobaca > Sao Martinho do Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sao Martinho do Porto
Price Range: $48 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casal Novo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical Portuguese farm converted into a haven of peace and calm accommodation with 6 detached houses to rent with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms, with surrounding gardens and fruit trees, a swimming pool and 2km far from the beach. Under request breakfast can be served. A golf course can be reached in 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casal Novo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing