We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Concha(Sao Martinho do Porto)
US$104
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palace do Capitao(Sao Martinho do Porto)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia(Sao Martinho do Porto)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Dos Mangues(Sao Martinho do Porto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantica(Sao Martinho do Porto)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Albergaria Sao Pedro(Sao Martinho do Porto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Clerigo Holiday Beach Apartments(Sao Martinho do Porto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Baia Residence Il(Sao Martinho do Porto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Atlantico Golf(Sao Martinho do Porto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
18
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2015

If you wish a extremely quiet and cool place to stay, quite near the shore and some of the most lively summer spots of the western coast north of Lisbon, this is it. Enough comfort, supreme cleanliness, pleasant setting and well fitted. But some service would be appreciated, otherwise you’ve to do everything by yourself. Not so cheap for is offered.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AMFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2014

Our host Maria was absolutely fantastic - couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The cottages are well equipped, clean and surrounded by vineyards. A short drive into the town of Sao Martinhono Porto where there are a selection of great restaurants and close to a fantastic beach. It really helped to have the local knowledge of where to go - makes any visit so much better. Definitely recommend Casal Novo - didn't even hear the dog!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A real gem. Sometimes you are lucky enough to such find a fabulous spot. Here you have hit the jackpot! Beautiful setting and cottage in the lush countryside yet minutes from the sweeping wild atlantic beach and also minutes from the safe natural cove in Sao Martinho town. Our cottage was spotlessly clean and the whole property immaculately maintained. The vibe is relaxed and rustic. Maria, the owner, is wonderful, very helpful and kind. Central for sightseeing the area. We went to Nazare, Obidos, Fatima, Ericeira (nr Lisbon), and to Foz de Orelho which is 10 mins drive away, beautiful lagoon beach and sweeping Atlantic for surfers, great fish restaurant. We want to return with a slightly larger group to make the most of BBQs in evenings at Casal Novol.

Room Tip: There are 5 private cottages in the grounds. Two with one bedroom and three with two or three bedrooms. All have their own unique charm. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage overlooking the vineyard and with breathtaking views across the countryside. All have private terrace or garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarelemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2012

this is a somewhat difficult place to review, as it has advantages and disadvantages that can polarise you depending on your personal preference..

Advantages:
1.pleasant setting, 2. Nice gardens, 3. clean swimming pool, 4. villa looked nice from the outside

Disadvantages:
1. Frosty welcome
2. odd smell in the kitchen suggesting that a drain was blocked. It was unpleasant enough for one not to prepare or eat meals
3. the shower was blocked in our en-suite bathroom for all 4 days of our stay. this caused the water not to drain properly and was due to a problem with the external piping. The owner supposedly called a plumber to fix this on day 2 but there really was no improvement whatsoever. She did not offer to refund or discount our stay, but we did not mind too much at the time (as we used the other bath)
4. the villa contained a lot of tired old bric-a-brac items and glass ornaments, so families with young children should be aware of this
5. the constant reference of the owner to herself in the third person was quite off putting

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in Casal Novo. You feel like a guest in a family and not like a hotel client. Maria - the owner is a great host, extremely helpful, all her suggestions were very useful for our short stay. It is excellent place near Atlantic, very quiet but in few minutes you come by car to Sao Martinho where you should enjoy dinner in some of the decent restaurants recommanded by Maria. The road to the North will bring you to Nazaré, which is more touristy. I would recommand a trip to Peniche ( ca 30 min drive ) and from there a boat trip to Berlinge islands. Other interesting places in the vicinity - Obidos, Alcobaca, Batalha. Our appartament was spacious with 2 sleeping rooms and 2 bathrooms, very comfortable with nice decorations. Very clean. Swimming pool also very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews