We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enchanting, garden cabin getaway perfect for 2”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First view up the driveway View from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
First view up the driveway
View from deck
Entrance to suite
High windows
Lots of art & architecture reading material
Bedroom
Relax in the garden
View out to garden
Late afternoon sun
Snow at Art House
view from the big deck
New door to shower!
Pond with lotus & mons bresia
View from your deck
Roberts Creek Pier
Ten minute walk to the beach
Complimentary flowers when in season
Pond in summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sacha R
1 review
“Enchanting, garden cabin getaway perfect for 2”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed a few nights here at the end of July and really enjoyed our visit! It was very clean, modern and had everything we needed. The location is great- very close to cafes, restaurants and the beach. The cabin itself is surrounded by a beautiful garden and we enjoyed sitting on our own deck in the morning with coffee. The owners are helpful and nice, but also give you your privacy. Perfect for a little romantic getaway, peace and quiet and a good home base for exploring the Sunshine Coast. We'll be back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you for these kind words! We love to host you, please come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equarelle
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in the garden and woods”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I spent two days relaxing at Art House Suite. I woke to only the sound of birds singing in the morning. It was bliss after some days spent in the big city, and then a few days working in a town nearby. My charming hostess, Caitlin, is a writer, and I had the pleasure of borrowing a copy of her novel. I got hooked and purchased a copy! Caitlin's husband is an artist so you will see his works around the suite and property. When I feel stressed I will think back to sitting in that blue chair on my private deck, as well as the beach that was only a short drive away. Good coffee too.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
It was a pleasure meeting you, Elaine. Thank you for sharing your work with us; it is soooo beautiful! So glad you had a chance to relax and enjoy our beautiful and cherished place in Roberts Creek.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A
Vancouver BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect mini vacation!”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Art House was exactly what we were looking for. It is romantic and secluded yet not too far away from the town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily W
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“serious letdown”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures are deceiving! The "room" for rent is cold, small, old, and has a very small bathroom. Not a pleasant stay. The breakfast was 2 boiled eggs, un-toasted bread with a spoonful of PB and jelly in a bowl, and a sliced apple - 10$ was a rip off for this! We were also told to clean all dishes and return the basket of breakfast utensils to the owners... They made us work for it! Gibsons is lovely - this B&B is not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The breakfast, the room, and the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Emily and Kyle, you stayed for 2 days, and I didn't hear anything about how I could have made your stay better, but you had so much to say. 'Cold' is remedied by turning on the heat. The room is spacious and it's been newly renovated, and it looks exactly like the pictures, so I'm not sure what you mean by 'old'. The bathroom is small but pleasant with slate tile shower and a luxury rainfall showerhead. Your schedule dictated that I had to deliver the breakfast the night before, when usually I serve it steaming hot; so we agreed in advance, to give you our toaster so that you could toast the bread yourselves. This was an arrangement that you agreed to, but you could have rejected the offer altogether if you felt that toasting the (half loaf of ) bread I left for you in the basket the night before was too much of a chore. The coffee is the best on the coast, and Kyle mentioned his enjoyment of it after having had it, but you don't say anything about that in your unkind review. You knew what the breakfast was when you chose it: "your choice of muffins, croissants, cinnamon bun, or toast and hard-boiled eggs and seasonal fruit & tea or coffee (with milk / cream & sugar)." For $5 each, it barely covers the cost of the breakfast, and I'm pretty sure you can't get breakfast for $5 anywhere. Most guests rinse their dishes prior to returning them to us in the basket, but you didn't have to. Certainly I could have given you another breakfast the next day if you'd shared your displeasure in person. We try really hard to please our guests, but we need feedback if something isn't quite right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomoZeus
San Jose, California
1 review
“Lovely New Year's get-away”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Hailing from the San Francisco Bay-Area and it's moderate weather, adjusting to the beautiful, natural "unseasonally warm" weather was not a difficult adaptation (see: 30-40 degrees Fahrenheit).

As a runner, I appreciated the low number of cars on the road and easy access to Clif Gilker Park, despite running on the roads from the suite. Roberts Creeks' remote location along the beautiful Sunshine coast added to the suite's charm, though certainly not needed as the property is sprinkled with fantastic artistic features.

The owners of the house are artists by profession and very accommodating. They display samples of their art around the property both inside and out, and complement the natural beauty of the yard. I recommend chatting with the hosts about their work, they are very accomplished and pleasant to converse with. If you're lucky, the hostess will prepare you homemade muffins and affectionately refers to you, her guests as "muffin-eaters"!

In all, our journey was very appropriately paced and we enjoyed our New Year's adventure to the Sunshine Coast and the Suite. I would love to return in the summer months to explore more of the surrounding outdoor areas and appreciate the removed setting of Robert's Creek, kissed by the lingering sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Driving from Seattle, next time we'll fly directly into Vancouver.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Dear Zeus, It was wonderful having you and your sister as guests over New Year's! We hope to see you again in the spring! You're welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girlie C
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Caitlyn is a friendly host, we love the coast-style breakfast that she served.
The area is peaceful and close to nature and the beach, accessible from the ferry, easy to find. We especially love the driftwood beach at the heart of Roberts Creek. It is very romantic. Do not miss the community mandala!

The only downside is that there is only one sink and such a small one that you cant help but drip water around the counter when you use it. There are also cobwebs on the ceiling. I understand that the property must be fully booked, but will appreciate if the host dusted the suite or vacuum before the next guest. Rugs are also lacking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I like best that the location is easily accessible from the ferry, Roberts Creek is a peaceful community, close to nature, close to the beach, close to sechelt and the owner is very friendly. The locals are friendly as well.
Liked least: The bathroom smells terrible, it can use some air freshener. The sink is too small and it is hard not to drip water all over when you use it. There is just one sink, no sink in the bathroom. There are cobwebs in the ceiling, dusty, no rugs provided.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
As the owner of this property, I do not recognize the identity of the person giving this review. We did not host a person named Girlie C from Surrey in the month of August 2015. And since this person has not identified the date she supposedly stayed at Art House, it is impossible to talk about her experience. But one thing I am sure of: we ask our guests to communicate any problems they have directly to us so that we can do whatever possible to mitigate any discomfort they may have during their stay. This person, if indeed she actually stayed at Art House, chose instead to write a review complaining about things that could have easily been altered for her comfort. It's very disheartening to meet people who are pleasant to your face, who are your guests, sharing food and shelter you have prepared lovingly and meticulously for them, only to be served up a 'review' such as this. Did she stay for a day, or five? Why didn't she point out her discomfort? How could this person have betrayed us with an unnecessary review such as this? We live in a rainforest. Over five days, small spiders can take up residence on our spacious, ten foot high ceilings, but we have a vacuum and can easily get rid of them - if we know they are there. We can vacuum any dirt they may track into the room on the soles of their feet. Between guests we dust , wipe and clean every surface of the Art House suite. We want our guests to live in a space we feel comfortable living in and we take pride in our clean and neat accommodation. We provide area rugs - it is just a matter of asking. It seems unfair and cowardly to me that my property, my name and my reputation is on the line -- at the same time it's so easy for anyone to hide behind a name that is not their own -- for anyone not to identify the dates they stayed at our place -- and fling complaints anonymously.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen466
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private, quiet suite in beautiful garden and art setting”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As advertised on Trip Advisor, this private, newly-designed and renovated one-room studio suite is in a quiet garden setting with its own private entrance. The suite had everything we needed for our 2 night stay including a good shower with towels, organic shampoo and soap, comfortable queen size bed, good size kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, kettle, tea pot, tea, plates, bowls, cutlery, knives, cutting board, mugs, etc., good space for 2 people, private outdoor deck and free WiFi. There is no TV or cooktop which suited us just fine. The breakfast included local granola, milk, local fresh fruit, a hard boiled egg each and locally roasted coffee the first morning. The second morning breakfast was the same except for home made zuchini muffins instead of the granola. Caitlin, our host, brought the breakfast to our door every morning at 9am. I am not sure if we could have asked for it earlier but something to consider when booking the breakfast if you want an earlier start. The location couldn’t have been better for us as it was central to the mountain bike trails we wanted to access in Gibson, Robson’s Creek and Sechelt. It was nice to have Robson's Creek within 1.5kms where we ate at the Gumboot restaurant with a free glass of wine complements of Art House and Gumboot. We really enjoyed a comfortable stay and the friendly, attentive host. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private entrance, quiet, privacy, garden, host, art, deck
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Dear Ellen466,

So happy your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing