We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious peaceful oasis in quaint town centre”
other travellers have booked this property
The rear of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rear of the house
Fully equiped kitchen, with coffee machine and dish washer Our old chestnut tree, 150 years old!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The rear of the house
Fully equiped kitchen, with coffee machine and dish washer
Our old chestnut tree, 150 years old!
Spacious living room
Dining room
1000m2 private garden
Relaxing in the hot tub
Stairs
Bathroom Rose hat
Room Rose hat
Bath room Flower hat
Room Flower hat
Bath room pilote hat
Room pilote hat
Our play area for the youngest or older youth (football, air hockey, climbing frame...)
Play house for the little ones
Historic architectorial details are part of the house
Our very relaxing sauna
Take a cold shower after a relaxing sauna!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tielt, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bob H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious peaceful oasis in quaint town centre”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

3 couples enjoyed a 5 night stay in Sleutelhuys whilst intending to visit Bruges, Ypres and some of the Cemetary sites. We found the property easily matched the website description and we were delighted to find everything you could possible need was readily available from the magnificent kitchen through to the high spec. En-suites. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t great but the spacious rooms and lovely garden outlook (through huge windows) ensured we enjoyed our time indoors.
The Owners were very welcoming and we were fortunate to be offered a short tour around the town (Tielt) which was really interesting. We found it to be a lovely place to wonder around, with market, shops, restaurants and bars a plenty - truly an excellent base for exploring Belgium away from the tourist concentrations in Bruges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you once again in the future! Regards, Carine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“how do we better this?”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Wonderful. The photos dont do the house justice. We were given a tour of the village giving us an insight into tielt we would not have had. Everything had been thought of for our stay, including home comforts I wish I had at home! As I person who will nit pick I was left speechless. One of our party when first entering the house almost burst into tears. However I have to stay without contradiction that there is one negative which visitors must be made aware of. They will at some time have to leave and go home. Life's not fair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothng
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennybe68
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic luxury accomodation”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from a fantastic week at Sleutelhuys. Couldn't have been more inviting and comfortable. Easy access to Bruges, Ghent, Ypres, Brussels and really friendly owners who couldn't do enough for us. On arrival given a short historical tour of the town which was a nice touch, as was the complementary wine,beer,chocolate and coffee). Bars and restaurants in Tielt were welcoming. For younger adults we can recommend the La Terrazza on the main square in Tielt, just by the Belltower (we referred to it as the Cuban Bar due to the large picture of Che Guevarra!). Very lively and good music ranging from Latin to jazz and more modern pop music. We had two older teenagers (16 and 18) who really enjoyed themselves and found plenty to keep them entertained throughout the week (particularly since Belgian licensing laws allows 16 year olds to order in bars and they don't check ID!) The fully equipped Kitchen was every cooks dream and was set up to cater for parties so loads of space and utensils, gadgets galore from built in coffee machine to juicers (even a second kitchen/food prep area if you needed it). We will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday Let”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed at the property 4 nights in June, dealings with the owners were great - a really helpful couple. The property itself was very high quality, and the small town of Tielt (which it was situated right in the centre of town) was very nice with plenty of nice places to eat and drink. Will definitely return again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfe217
Lessingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb, spacious apartment in great location”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Sleutalhuys with our adult son and had a brilliant holiday. The apartment, which is part of a larger house and covering two floors is huge in every respect and could easily accommodate two families with children if necessary and can be opened up further for large parties if required. The apartment is very well equipped with quality furnishings and appliances. The 3 large double bedrooms each with their own en-suite bathrooms are pleasant and very comfortable. Outside there is a large private garden and car parking space and even a hot tub for the more adventurous. It is situated very much in the centre of Tielt, a small but lovely town, which is ideally situated (for us anyhow) within striking distance of the beautiful cities of Bruges, Ghent and Lille. Although central to the town, the apartment and garden is very quiet but has the advantage of being able to take a short walk to shops and restaurants which are close at hand. The owners are delightful and very helpful but not intrusive. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large spacious rooms, location
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2014
Thanks for the positive review Andrew! Nice to hear you had a great time. Just note you stayed in what we call our 'holiday home'. The two apartments are in the other part of the house and have 1 bedroom, a living room and kitchenette (59m2). The holiday home is 320m2 + 1000m2 garden. Hope to welcome you once again! Carine & Maaike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liad S
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommended, amazing house, great location”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Sleutelhuys holiday home in Tielt for a week. The House is spotless and no less than amazing. Hosts are very pleasant people who want to help with any question or request. The House is fully equipped, cozy and delightful. It Is very spacious and very well decorated. Huge yard with a garden and private parking inside the compound. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.

The location of the house is at a quiet & nice town with easy access to shops that are right next to the house. The distance from the House to the lovely cities of Bruges and Ghent is relatively short and easy trip. We went on trips all over Belgium and the road system convenient and easy to navigate so that the longest journey of the beautiful area of southern Belgium Dinant held two hours.

Highly recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy the beautiful Belgium.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2014
Thank you Liad for your positive recommendation!
Warm regards,
Carine & Maaike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada - but reside in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thanks for your positive response! It was a pleasure to have you as guests. Kind regards, Carine & Maaike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing