We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lizmcdonnell94
Westport, Connecticut

Exactly what I needed

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 9, 2022
I lead a busy life and wanted to go somewhere where I could disconnect from everything, swim, sleep, read and eat. I got it all at the Sandpiper.

Lovely, clean cottage room with a large modern bathroom, windows that open (a must) an excellent chef who cooked me 3 meals a day, and a 3 minute bike ride to the beach where I was the only person there.

Marcus, the tour guide, and his wife showed me around. They are the loveliest people. I felt very comfortable and safe at all times, which is important to me as a single female traveler.

I will say the Wi-Fi was spotty at best so if you’re there to keep up on the news or binge watch your favorite TV shows, you may be disappointed. But perhaps it’s been fixed by now.
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$361
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$361
  • Tripadvisor
    C$361
0.0 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$691
  • StayForLong
44.6 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$202
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$191
  • Official Site
    C$252
  • eDreams
68.1 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
58.1 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free parking
Pool
6 rooms overlooking the pool
    47.1 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Bar
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    44.2 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    5.1 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
    Free parking
    Beachfront
                      @ Dive Guana
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    57.3 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Schooner Bay
    Reviews (17)
    Filter reviews
    17 results
    Traveller rating
    14
    1
    1
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    14
    1
    1
    0
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 17 reviews
    Reviewed December 7, 2021 via mobile

    We celebrated our wedding anniversary at this quiet, peaceful property. The service was superior. We were made to feel special from the moment of our booking. Chef Higgins went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The room was spacious. The bathroom was tranquil. The restaurant gave us the true feel of an island oasis. The food was scrumptious. We are so pleased that we made this our choice.

    Room tip: If you are trying to get away from the cold, this place will be perfect for you. You can enjoy the tennis court, pool, cycling also water activities.
    Date of stay: December 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Debbie C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Keenan Carroll, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2021

    Hi there Debbie. It is sogood to hear that we met your needs while we hosted you for your 25th anniversary. These milestones are important my wife and I celebrate 52yrs and know how important these dates are. We try to treat all guests as family and so we are happy that we helped this milestone to be extra special. We look forward to seeing you all again. Again happy anniversary.
    Dr. Larry
    Owner/manager.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed July 13, 2021

    Sandpiper Inn at Schooner Bay is located in a desolate area with little access to fundamental needs.
    The rooms are fairly modern but reek with mildew smell, after multiple attempts in other rooms, each room smelled horrible.
    If dining in, prepare yourself for exceptional long wait even by Bahamian standards. Food is average and breakfast is not included with the room as advertised, BEWARE.
    During our stay, the Inn manager invited over 30 children to use the facility and pool was left rendered unusable for guests.
    We had to sleep with all the room windows open during the summer due the awful smell in the room.
    Sandpiper Inn is not as advertised!

    Date of stay: June 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank 483keithj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 5, 2019

    Little bit of a drive but worth the effort if you are looking for something a little different. Rooms were nice. Food was excellent. Beach to yourself. Check it out if you're in the area. Look on G00gle satellite maps for an overview.

    Room tip: #7 is the one you want
    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Mattttttttttf
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Keenan C, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

    Hi Matt we thank you for taking the long drive to spend some time with us at our hideaway. We know that we have a little haven of peace and rest where you can unplug and reconnect. It was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Sandpiper.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

    We had a great time and experience staying here. There is no TV in the rooms but they do have internet. This allowed for intimate conversations and enjoying each other’s company without the distractions of normal life. The room was very nice, clean and comfy. The staff was always excellent, they were welcoming, friendly and did their best to accommodate your requests. The food in the restaurant was excellent as long as your not a picky eater and you just love food lol. The area was so laid back we walk/jog every morning before the sunset while we was there. Even though they indicate to be careful of bug bites, surprisingly I didn’t get bite. I will be recommending and coming here again once we visit Abaco, I love it.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank amorchong
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Keenan C, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

    Dear guest we thank you for your recent review. We are happy that you enjoyed the laid back nature of the Sandpiper. We strive to have our guests get unplugged from the madness of this world and be able to reconnect with nature and themselves or other loved ones. All distractions from this end are removed so that you can completely refresh yourself. We look forward to your return visit so that we can once again show you better than we can tell you how wonderful the peace and relaxation is at.... The Sandpiper Inn.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

    To celebrate my father's 70th birthday we surprised him with a trip to South Abaco. We picked Sandpiper on the recommendation of a family member who had stayed there before and I was not disappointed. We didn't want something in the heart of the tourist area, so if you need to be close to restaurants and grocery stores this is not the place for you. But if you want to experience the true beauty of the Bahamas and just spend quality time with your family, then Sandpiper is be the place for you.
    Not only did they help coordinate transportion, but chef and the staff accommodated my Dad's dietary needs during our week long stay. They didn't even blink on request for fresh coconut water from the trees on the property. The food was phenomenal, I think my mother is still dreaming about the Pepper Pot dinner. If you want a peaceful place to disconnect and really enjoy your family time, Sandpiper is it. The staff is so warm and helpful, Schooner bay itself is beautiful and it's really like having a home away from home.
    Marcus and Siren who provided the transportation also took us on two excursions: one to Hope Bay and another to explore the natural blue hole and bird watching. So if you want to leave schooner bay there are options. Dad is already asking when we will be back and we definitely will!

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank kayfal113
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews