We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andy H
Lutterworth, United Kingdom

Great rooms in a small friendly hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 12, 2023via mobile
We visited the sandpiper out of season. The hotel was actually closed but they opened up especially for us to honour our booking. The room was excellent and the staff were superb. The restaurant was great and sorted a menu out just for us. The location is very quiet and great for relaxing
Date of stay: September 2023
Room Tip: Hotel usually closed in September
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$363
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
C$363
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$362
  • Tripadvisor
    C$363
0.0 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
The pool view
C$789
No prepayment needed
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Hotels.com
    C$787
  • Priceline
    C$618
  • Expedia.com
    C$745
43.7 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
C$887
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$886
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
44.6 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$253
C$192
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$203
  • Official Site
    C$253
  • eDreams
68.1 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
58.1 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
70.3 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Docks and Marina
44.7 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Green Turtle Club Swimming Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
70.9 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
81.1 km from The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Schooner Bay
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
14
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
1
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2022

I lead a busy life and wanted to go somewhere where I could disconnect from everything, swim, sleep, read and eat. I got it all at the Sandpiper.

Lovely, clean cottage room with a large modern bathroom, windows that open (a must) an excellent chef who cooked me 3 meals a day, and a 3 minute bike ride to the beach where I was the only person there.

Marcus, the tour guide, and his wife showed me around. They are the loveliest people. I felt very comfortable and safe at all times, which is important to me as a single female traveler.

I will say the Wi-Fi was spotty at best so if you’re there to keep up on the news or binge watch your favorite TV shows, you may be disappointed. But perhaps it’s been fixed by now.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thereallizmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 7, 2021 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at this quiet, peaceful property. The service was superior. We were made to feel special from the moment of our booking. Chef Higgins went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The room was spacious. The bathroom was tranquil. The restaurant gave us the true feel of an island oasis. The food was scrumptious. We are so pleased that we made this our choice.

Room tip: If you are trying to get away from the cold, this place will be perfect for you. You can enjoy the tennis court, pool, cycling also water activities.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan Carroll, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2021

Hi there Debbie. It is sogood to hear that we met your needs while we hosted you for your 25th anniversary. These milestones are important my wife and I celebrate 52yrs and know how important these dates are. We try to treat all guests as family and so we are happy that we helped this milestone to be extra special. We look forward to seeing you all again. Again happy anniversary.
Dr. Larry
Owner/manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2021

Sandpiper Inn at Schooner Bay is located in a desolate area with little access to fundamental needs.
The rooms are fairly modern but reek with mildew smell, after multiple attempts in other rooms, each room smelled horrible.
If dining in, prepare yourself for exceptional long wait even by Bahamian standards. Food is average and breakfast is not included with the room as advertised, BEWARE.
During our stay, the Inn manager invited over 30 children to use the facility and pool was left rendered unusable for guests.
We had to sleep with all the room windows open during the summer due the awful smell in the room.
Sandpiper Inn is not as advertised!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 483keithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

Little bit of a drive but worth the effort if you are looking for something a little different. Rooms were nice. Food was excellent. Beach to yourself. Check it out if you're in the area. Look on G00gle satellite maps for an overview.

Room tip: #7 is the one you want
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mattttttttttf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan C, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Hi Matt we thank you for taking the long drive to spend some time with us at our hideaway. We know that we have a little haven of peace and rest where you can unplug and reconnect. It was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Sandpiper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

We had a great time and experience staying here. There is no TV in the rooms but they do have internet. This allowed for intimate conversations and enjoying each other’s company without the distractions of normal life. The room was very nice, clean and comfy. The staff was always excellent, they were welcoming, friendly and did their best to accommodate your requests. The food in the restaurant was excellent as long as your not a picky eater and you just love food lol. The area was so laid back we walk/jog every morning before the sunset while we was there. Even though they indicate to be careful of bug bites, surprisingly I didn’t get bite. I will be recommending and coming here again once we visit Abaco, I love it.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amorchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keenan C, Owner at The Sandpiper Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2019

Dear guest we thank you for your recent review. We are happy that you enjoyed the laid back nature of the Sandpiper. We strive to have our guests get unplugged from the madness of this world and be able to reconnect with nature and themselves or other loved ones. All distractions from this end are removed so that you can completely refresh yourself. We look forward to your return visit so that we can once again show you better than we can tell you how wonderful the peace and relaxation is at.... The Sandpiper Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews