We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience in Georgian home”
Review of Griesemount House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballitore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Griesemount House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballitore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Griesemount was a treasure of a find. It took some filtering through an overwhelming number of choices on various websites, but the reward was well worth the effort. We were looking for an older house (preferably Georgian), that presented the feel of a period home with a minimum of concessions for the sake of modern conveniences. Inside, Griesemount is rich with decor from both the building's past and the tasteful collection of the well-traveled owners (Robert and Carolyn Ashe). Outside, the stone patio overlooks Griesemount's verdant garden, nearby pastures, the ruins of an old mill and the village of Ballitore.
Meals were delicious. Breakfast was in the sunroom next to the patio (a real plus in cooler weather), and in the evening we enjoyed sitting by the wood fire in the music/drawing room (there is an antique Broadwood piano available). There is also a large library/study, which we did not use simply because we had no inclement weather during our 3-day stay. One expects helpful hosts, and Carolyn and Robert were more than that. Between their knowledge of the area and their perceptiveness, they were able to give us advice that perfectly matched our interests.
We highly recommend the room with the canopy-bed and large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the windows in this corner-room looked out at the ruins in one direction and pastures and gardens in the other.
Griesemount has not suffered any of the sterilizing effect of adaptions for every modern convenience, and some might complain that the wifi did not work well in every room. But we saw that as necessary to minimizing alterations the building, and appreciated the compromise.
Overall, we found our hosts extremely gracious and helpful, and the guesthouse and setting exactly what we sought. We highly recommend Griesemount to anyone seeking the feel of Georgian country house at a reasonable price and excellent location.

Room Tip: Large corner room with canopy bed has great views and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 857scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2014

Owner is lovely and extremely friendly. It is a great old house full of character. Unfortunately the bedroom we stayed in was old and tatty rather than old and full of charm. The room could have done with a good cleaning. Very expensive for what the service provided.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 178gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We relaxed and felt at home as soon as we arrived in this beautiful house, full of charm and quirkiness. Carolyn and Robert invited us out to a neighbour's private church to hear Readings from the ex-Archbishop of Dublin - this was a unique occasion meeting the Ashe's friends and neighbours and we felt very lucky to be there. Our meals were marvellous both dinner and breakfasts. The house was exciting full of treasures from many parts of the world and told of us their fascinating family history. We will return to Griesemount and look forward to our next adventure into other parts of County Kildare and the nearby Wicklow Mountains - so much to see on your doorstep and only an hour from Dublin. Most highly recommended!

Room Tip: The bedroom with the view of the ruined mill that looks like a castle - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here quite recently to attend a wedding which was nearby. After the positive reviews it sounded great. For the cost of the room I expected a lot more. Too me the room seemed a bit dated and not what I was expecting. The breakfast the next day was cold and probably should have mentioned this at the time but didnt like to complain. Overall felt for what we payed it was very expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn A, Owner at Griesemount House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Woops!! I was sad to get your review as our guests and their comfort is of prime importance to us.
I am sincerely sorry for serving you a cold breakfast, as you just said now ...."you didn't like to complain", well I'd rather you had as then I could have done something about it! Please again accept my apoligy.
Luckily most people love our house but it is a bit old! We are looking forward to celebrating its 200 birthday in three years time!
Kind Regards Carolyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Loved this place.
I would describe it as quirky, but that wouldn't do it justice. It is a charming old house in a beautiful setting. The owners are so friendly and welcoming that you immediately relax and feel at home.
The rooms are nice and clean, the views are great and the beds are comfy. What more could you want!
Well actually, you could want a delicious breakfast. And you get one!
We were at a wedding in Rathsallagh and stayed here - would definitely recommend it if you're looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CongoConlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Myself and my boyfriend flew home for a wedding in February just gone. We got our wedding invitations very late so there were no rooms left in the wedding venue and very few available in the local area.
I had phoned a number of places and was seriously worried about having to taxi back to Dublin until I spoke with Mrs. Ashe. She was so helpful and accommodating. She had no rooms available but was prepared to put us up in the family quarters to help us out since we were flying home for just the two days.

The house itself is full of character and sits on a hill providing a stunning view. Great country location to get away from the big towns and chaos.
Our only complaint was not staying for longer. We didn’t get to enjoy the house and surrounding area for what it has to offer.

We couldn’t ask for better service, from informative emails to checking in/out. The master room became available last minute and we jumped at it.
It was like staying at a family members house. No pressure, or stress. Delicious breakfast and a very warm feel to our stay.

The highlight of my stay was coming back at 4am on a cold cold night to a very comfy bed with an electric blanket! It was amazing and a lovely unexpected touch. Getting out of bed was a serious challenge and honestly not because of booze! It was so warm and cosy.

I would certainly recommend staying here, and hope you get to meet Mrs. Ashe and her lovely family. Thank you for making our very short stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tash_bda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn A, Owner at Griesemount House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for a great review and so glad that we were able to have the Master bedroom....especially as you had travelled so far from Bermuda...that btw is where my Grandmother met my Grandfather!!
Hope we meet again, so enjoyed your company! love to you and Chris from both Robert and I.
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were so delighted that we chose Griesemount House as our accommodation after attending a wedding closeby. We stayed in the large bedroom with four poster bed and large ensuite. The views, the decor, the ambiance, the warm, personal service, were all really wonderful! There was so much to see in the house, every ornament, painting, rug had a story to tell. We loved hearing about the history of Griesemount house and could have spent hours talking with such interesting hosts - Carolyn and Robert.

The breakfast made by Carolyn was fantastic - not just the food but the attention to detail in how the table was laid and the cutlery/crockery used to dress it. Thank you to Robert for the home grown, freshly picked green beans, they were delicious with dinner the following day! We both felt so relaxed after our stay at Griesemount - more than we think we would have if we had stayed in a hotel. Our only regret was not being able to spend more time there! Stephanie & Steve

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn A, Owner at Griesemount House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Gosh, what a wonderful review and lovely for us that you noticed all the "little extra's". I think that Table Setting is all part of getting breakfast and if one is lucky enough to have nice things than it's fun to use them rather than leaving them in a cupboard somewhere!
Yes, this house is steeped in history and somehow you can tell that it's always been deeply loved.
I shall tell Robert you enjoyed his "beans!" He loves the joy of picking them and It's the first thing he does the moment he gets in from work. They were especially good this year with all the warm weather and went on for ages, hence you were able to have some in October!
Please come again, we loved having you. Carolyn and Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Griesemount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griesemount House

Address: Ballitore | Co Kildare, Ballitore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Ballitore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballitore
Price Range: $44 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Built 1817 by the Quaker family of Ernest Shackleton with wonderful views over the valley and the River Griese and surrounded by majestic trees and pretty gardens. Carolyn and Robert enjoy welcoming guests where on chilly evenings there's a warm open fire blazing in the drawingroom.On summer mornings breakfast is served in the Sunroom or out on the Terrace, Griesemount a haven of tranquility and old world hospitality. Come and let us spoil you- ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing