We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,268 results
Traveller rating
258
365
318
181
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
365
318
181
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities evening meal trouser press bit dated twin room waiting staff groupon deal couldn't fault tea and coffee plenty of parking full english cooked breakfast gym wedding motorway halifax hairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 1,268 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2015

Having just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel I would like to say that while thr rooms were fine. Comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent but dinner left a
lot to be desired. Very poor choice and most times cold. It is the only time we have never been offered tea or coffee after our meal. No evening entertainment so unless you wanted to sit in the bar you had to retire to your room. Hotel itself is very nice but nowhere to go as it is situated on a motorway roundabout.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 500Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2015

Dear 500Ellen

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read that you found our beds comfortable and our Yorkshire breakfast to be a great start to your day. I am sorry however to learn of your dissatisfaction with the evening meals that you & your group had during your time with us and I will pass this feedback to our kitchen team to ensure that improvements are made.

Unfortunately we do not offer an nightly evening entertainment, however there are an array of local walks very near to the hotel and the team would have been happy to have provided you with details if you had of asked during your time with us.

We hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2015

A hotel I have used in the past when it was a Hilton and although parts of the property are a little tired the newly refurbished restaurant is a big improvement. Dinner last night was very good, clearly the chef has decided that 'good food' at competitive prices will be a real asset, and he is right. The whole restaurant has been redecorated and with smart new uniforms the staff are friendly and helpful the two who served us last evening Becca and Laura where knowledgeable and very pleasant. Breakfast this morning was also a big improvement. Our room was OK albeit a little tired and the lack of hot water in the morning due to a faulty boiler didn't help. The cost of the whole stay was competitive and with a promotion running offering a free bottle of wine with dinner.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2015

Dear BOB W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at the hotel. We are delighted to read your positive comments about our new restaurant; Grill 54 for both dinner and breakfast, I will be sure to pass on your praise to Rebecca and Laura.

You will be pleased to hear that we are in the midst of planning our next phase of bedrooms to refurbish with a view to having them ready before the end of the year, with some additional bedrooms being completed during the early part of 2016. The next time you are planning on staying at the hotel, please do ask to be allocated a refurbished bedroom and I am sure that you will be pleased with the standard of these.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2015

It was not a good hotel experience. Rooms are OK, but bed very used! The hallways need to be freshened up. Reception looks so modern and the grounds are nice.
The restaurant is a no go, my chicken meal, burnt and other meals not so good either. How does a kitchen make boiled rice return to a pre-boiled state!
The hotel has plenty of parking and the staff are nice.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sibrown1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2015

Dear britishsksb,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I cannot apologise enough about your experience which was in no way reflective of the high standards we offer

It is a shame that you have stated you won't return in the future, however if you were willing to give us a second chance, please feel free to contact me directly where I would be only too happy to oversee your entire booking and stay personally

Kind Regards

Kirsti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015

Booked this hotel after seeing an offer on line for 2 night stay b&b and first night evening meal.What a pleasant surprise thinking it would be run of the mill business type hotel.The staff from manager,reception chef,bar/restaurant and house keeping were amazing.The food was extremely good especially the chicken rotisserie and crème brulee,in fact my 12 year old son loved it that much the chef took time to write recipe down for him.Would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2015

Dear paul m,

Thank you for your review, we were delighted that we exceeded your expectations throughout and that you found the food in Grill 54 extremely good. You'll have to post some photo's of your son's crème brulee's when he's had a chance to make them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015

First night bed realy uncomfortable, told staff and to be fair they tried their best to help but still didn't sleep well all week what they did didn't make a lot of difference, we stayed as a package with leisure time, b and b and evening meal breakfast was brilliant couldn't have asked for better, but evening meal not so good when, we complained we were told by the waitress that the amount of money we paid it was all they could afford to give us, we couldn't believe what she was saying, rooms could do with an upgrade, most coach breaks have entertainment but this hotel didn't cleaning staff very good very helpful,

Room tip: Beds need upgrading ours was really uncomfortable pillows really hard in 212
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CC_General_Manager, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2015

Dear Linda W,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable, I have asked our maintenance team to take a look & replace the mattress for the benefit of our future guests.

It's great to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, however I am disappointed about your comments in regards to set dinner we provided and I shall speak to the team in regards to these. As a hotel we do not offer nightly entertainment and usually this is booked by the tour operator if it is included within the package.

As you've probably previously read we in the midst of a refurbishment programme at the hotel and are finalising plans to commence work to an additional number of bedrooms this year and also early 2016.

We do hope that you will return to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kirsti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews