We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing week”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Brandon, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

pratters
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing week”
Reviewed August 1, 2020 for a stay in July 2020

We have had an amazing week!

The lodge itself was an ideal size for the two of us and our dog and has everything you could possibly need - if you can think of anything it hasn’t, the owners, Carol and Ron are more than happy to oblige!

The grounds are fabulous. Jasper loved the freedom to roam and explore all the different sights and smells which he did with great enthusiasm. There are lovely, various, carefully thought out areas within the grounds for you to sit and reflect - we even managed to light the fire pit on our final night!

The nature we saw was spell-bounding! We particularly loved sitting out from dusk to darkness to watch out for the regular visits of the deer and foxes.

The swing chairs on the veranda were a godsend after a long day walking. We had good weather but the one evening it did rain, we were still able to sit out with a glass of wine and and not get wet, while enjoying the views and the peace and quiet. The sunbeds (towels provided) were also a welcome touch and were well used.

Carol and Ron were excellent hosts, looking after us extremely well and making us feel very welcome without imposing on us at all!

This is certainly the most dog friendly place we have stayed - there was nowhere (both inside and out) where Jasper was not welcome. (Even on the furniture, as long as you use the provided throws).

We have loved our week here and certainly feel we have been on a ‘retreat’!

Date of stay: July 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydenjam...
1 review
“Highly recommend for a relaxing time”
Reviewed December 26, 2019 for a stay in December 2019

I stayed here for Christmas very clean throughout Carol also said that it hasn’t been long built and it’s definitely noticeable as soon as I walked in there was a pleasant new smell it’s very quiet surrounded with wildlife sounds just what you want if you’re looking for peace and quiet. Very friendly and helpful owners who were really helpful from arrival to leaving. There’s also a Tesco and fuel station 5 minutes away which came in really handy! Overall couldn’t fault anything the bed was so comfy shower room stunning the kitchen and utensils all top quality definitely 100% would come back.

Date of stay: December 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon P
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wow....Very Peaceful”
Reviewed October 2, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Back from our 4 night stay at The Retreat. One word...Wow. The directions given to us by Carol the owner were spot on. Very easy to find. The Retreat was just perfect, loved the safari theme, everything you could need was there. Very clean, cosy, set in lovely grounds and just so peaceful. The amenities are five minutes walk away for food and the local pub which, we would highly recommend for a night out. If you just wanted a relaxing night then a night in at The Retreat this is for you. The veranda is just perfect with the hammocks to just sit and enjoy the views and the quietness with a glass of wine. There is nothing i would change about The Retreat other than staying longer. The owners Carol and Ron are just a lovely couple, on hand should you need anything but they also respect your space. Very down to earth couple who made us very welcome. We just wish we could have stayed longer but we will on our next visit. The hard work that has been put into building The Retreat has paid off as it has been very well done. Don't change anything Carol and Ron just keep doing what you are doing. If you are looking for a peaceful 'Retreat' then look no further. Sharon and Nick. Hemel Hempstead. September 2019.

Date of stay: September 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.