We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
42
9
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
9
4
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Broholm is a charming seventeenth-century manor house (it's named "castle" in the marketing literature, but it's not a fortified building), surrounded by two lily-filled moats. Our room was small but comfortable, and quiet despite being right off a stairwell and having other rooms very close by. (Broholm accommodates only about 20 guests, so it tends to be a quiet place.) Our bathroom floor was automatically heated, which seemed to make the bedroom area a bit too warm, especially as temperatures were in the seventies during our stay in late May/early June.) A fan could probably have fixed that problem, though we didn't request one and were able to sleep at night without one. Guests have to walk outside to reach the dining room and the rooms where afternoon tea is served. We were fortunate to have sunny days for our entire stay in Fyn, but umbrellas are parked next to front doors, just in case. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and dinners were gourmet delights. The dinner menu was limited to a few choice dishes and remained the same for the month. Afternoon tea is served in one of the magnificent old rooms. I asked for ginger tea and was delighted to be offered actual slices of fresh ginger. The local pastry was much too scrummy - as are all pastries made in Danish bakeries. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I want to thank them all by name: Anne, Nanne, Kenneth, Natasha, Sylvia, Niels, and Kim, the chef. Broholm is well situated for visiting Fyn, a delightful island, brimming with historic and rural interest. You can walk all round the manor house, through the surrounding woods, but wear walking shoes because the ground is muddy in places. There is a wonderful museum at the back of the manor house, a small, brick building that overflows with a huge collection of iron and stone age artifacts discovered on the farmland around the manor house in the late nineteenth century and organized by one of Broholm's owners. It's an absolutely astonishing must-see. The reception area is also the gift shop, which is worth a visit too. Broholm is definitely one of the most delightful hotels I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Broholm manor house – or in Danish “Castle” – is a small hotel in an impressive building from the 17th century. Though it is not the most beautiful or romantic “castle” I have stayed in and in that respect far behind the former Stensgaard Herregaard, run by the same management.

Let’s take the best part: the food.

Afternoon cake was delicious and the dinner with mainly local produce was thoroughly gourmet.

During the five course meal, everything was superb. Somewhat rustic – which is a big praise here. Scallops, cod, duck croquette, roasted fallow with morels and a nice ice/chocolate cake combination. The main dish was surprisingly big considering it was dish no. four. But I don’t complain. Service was fine and the speed of serving – which we could adjust ourselves – was perfect. The price for the menu is decent, the quality taken into consideration.

Back to the hotel part:

Location is so-so in a farmer area. There are no obviously places to have a promenade, which is a shame.

Our room was nice in a consequent old style with fine new bathroom. The room was rather small and we missed at least one comfy chair. It was somewhat annoying, that you hear many sounds from the stairway just outside and from rooms above.

Internal logistics is not optimal. You have to go outside when going between room, saloons and restaurant. At least there are umbrella supplied at most exit doors.

Several saloons are for the guests’ disposal, generally nice and old, but the style is not consistent. One room has half modern chesterfields, another modern dining room.
Hotel service was so-so.

The welcome part was somewhat nonchalant, and at checkout they forgot the agreed offseason discount. It was fixed, but with no excuse.

Overall price is acceptable for a manor house, but their weekend surcharge of 700 d.kr. for the room is insolent high. This means that private couples/families coming during the weekend pays much more than companies during weekdays.

3 stars for accommodation and 5 for the food.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2015

This place has some really lovely rooms. In e tiwer with privat bath, all individually decorated. In the old part of the castle beautiful rooms but with shared bath. Love sitting room with lots of historical things on display. The food is to die for! All made locally and from local farmers. Breakfast was super and dinner at night absolutely excellent! This place is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gunnar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2015

We stayed at broholm for our wedding anniversary and we've booked one of a suite in a main building. My husband said it is one of a best place to stay at so we'd like to try it out. The receptionist gave us a very brief introduction regarding the place and we have to explore the rest of the estate ourselves. They served afternoon tea or coffee by the main building and that's where most of the guest prefers to enjoy it as well. We choose the reding room as it's look cosy and try out the blue room for the second day to have our afternoon tea. We've been served by a friendly waitress Natasha (pardon if I misspelled her name) during our afternoon tea also dinner time in a restaurant across from the main building. She's very attentive and friendly and we felt well taken care of during our meals time. The breakfast served in a room next to the restaurant every morning. The food they served for dinner was fantastic and delicious, you'd not disappointed to book a table for dinner there. If only the owner of broholm put more care and love for the place, I'm sure it'll be a beautiful place to stay for the night or two. And what makes us disappointed is that, aside from the estate, the lady that supposed to take us for horseback riding canceled our appointment last minute as we've both already imagined to celebrate our wedding anniversary with horseback riding in the vicinity. But I guess we'll have to try that for next time. Overall, it is worthy to go to broholm for the restaurant as they do served a good food. Will we come back to stay for the night? probably not. But we wish a good luck for the estate as they do have some potential to make it more beautiful than what it is.

Room Tip: Stayed at Brigitte suite & the bathroom is located outside the suite. It is an old history building so bear in mind the wooden floor.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Global_Traveller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Beautiful castle in original like condition. Very nice common areas, with home like interrior, including a pool table! Room was nice as spacious, but a little cold. They have spent a lot of money in decorations. I wish there would have been a little better history available......

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erkki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews