We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aero(Svendborg)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Troense(Svendborg)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
42
9
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
9
4
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 58 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2016

If you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful hotel in a "castle", with amazing food, service, ambience... you have come to right place. Far from the madding crowd, this is Danish charm and hospitality at it´s best. The Family room is large, warm, beds comfortable, and quiet. The restaurant serves impeccable seasonal food both for dinner (yes, it's pricey...but worth it!) and breakfasts. The garden and grounds are a delight to walk around (bring wellies!) and the castle/manor house is a perfect place to relax and take in the history of the building, where guests can sit in huge sofas, enjoying tea and coffee by the fireplace! Wifi is a little shaky, but this is the kind of place you almost want to be offline, gather your thoughts, and just relax in stress-free comfort! Gift shop sells their fine jams and confiture, and staff are there always attentive and giving advice on places to go. We stayed two nights, and wish we could have stayed more! We ate dinner on the first night, but chose to eat locally on the second night (There are many places to eat in Svendborg and in driving distance). Will definitely return! A perfect place to have a family break, or stay with friends.

Room Tip: Room 16. Huge Family room!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank i47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay with my girlfriend the food was amazing both breakfast and dinner.. The service was great and we had a perfect weekend at the castle in great historical surroundings.. Definitely worth a visit.. Even just for the food and the sight..

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016

Indeed it is very beautiful and the kitchen offers very good food but we have some remarks :
1. choice in the restaurant is very little
2. prizes are rather high
3. we had room number 9 and the bathroom was heated in the middle of the summer and the staff was not able to turn it of. So we couldn't use our bathroom with its beautiful bath but had to keep the door shut as much as possible because the room was also very hot and difficult to cool
To be checked as you enter this room on a hot summer day!

Room Tip: Check if the heating is turned of while you enter a room...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Broholm is a charming seventeenth-century manor house (it's named "castle" in the marketing literature, but it's not a fortified building), surrounded by two lily-filled moats. Our room was small but comfortable, and quiet despite being right off a stairwell and having other rooms very close by. (Broholm accommodates only about 20 guests, so it tends to be a quiet place.) Our bathroom floor was automatically heated, which seemed to make the bedroom area a bit too warm, especially as temperatures were in the seventies during our stay in late May/early June.) A fan could probably have fixed that problem, though we didn't request one and were able to sleep at night without one. Guests have to walk outside to reach the dining room and the rooms where afternoon tea is served. We were fortunate to have sunny days for our entire stay in Fyn, but umbrellas are parked next to front doors, just in case. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and dinners were gourmet delights. The dinner menu was limited to a few choice dishes and remained the same for the month. Afternoon tea is served in one of the magnificent old rooms. I asked for ginger tea and was delighted to be offered actual slices of fresh ginger. The local pastry was much too scrummy - as are all pastries made in Danish bakeries. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I want to thank them all by name: Anne, Nanne, Kenneth, Natasha, Sylvia, Niels, and Kim, the chef. Broholm is well situated for visiting Fyn, a delightful island, brimming with historic and rural interest. You can walk all round the manor house, through the surrounding woods, but wear walking shoes because the ground is muddy in places. There is a wonderful museum at the back of the manor house, a small, brick building that overflows with a huge collection of iron and stone age artifacts discovered on the farmland around the manor house in the late nineteenth century and organized by one of Broholm's owners. It's an absolutely astonishing must-see. The reception area is also the gift shop, which is worth a visit too. Broholm is definitely one of the most delightful hotels I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Broholm manor house – or in Danish “Castle” – is a small hotel in an impressive building from the 17th century. Though it is not the most beautiful or romantic “castle” I have stayed in and in that respect far behind the former Stensgaard Herregaard, run by the same management.

Let’s take the best part: the food.

Afternoon cake was delicious and the dinner with mainly local produce was thoroughly gourmet.

During the five course meal, everything was superb. Somewhat rustic – which is a big praise here. Scallops, cod, duck croquette, roasted fallow with morels and a nice ice/chocolate cake combination. The main dish was surprisingly big considering it was dish no. four. But I don’t complain. Service was fine and the speed of serving – which we could adjust ourselves – was perfect. The price for the menu is decent, the quality taken into consideration.

Back to the hotel part:

Location is so-so in a farmer area. There are no obviously places to have a promenade, which is a shame.

Our room was nice in a consequent old style with fine new bathroom. The room was rather small and we missed at least one comfy chair. It was somewhat annoying, that you hear many sounds from the stairway just outside and from rooms above.

Internal logistics is not optimal. You have to go outside when going between room, saloons and restaurant. At least there are umbrella supplied at most exit doors.

Several saloons are for the guests’ disposal, generally nice and old, but the style is not consistent. One room has half modern chesterfields, another modern dining room.
Hotel service was so-so.

The welcome part was somewhat nonchalant, and at checkout they forgot the agreed offseason discount. It was fixed, but with no excuse.

Overall price is acceptable for a manor house, but their weekend surcharge of 700 d.kr. for the room is insolent high. This means that private couples/families coming during the weekend pays much more than companies during weekdays.

3 stars for accommodation and 5 for the food.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews