We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
42
9
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
9
4
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2017

A very old castle that been made into a very cosy and excellent hotel and restaurant.
In the very old rooms You get an excellent room with top sanitary equipment and a restaurant with top culinary excellence

Room Tip: a suite give very nice views to the nature and lots of space
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2016

If you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful hotel in a "castle", with amazing food, service, ambience... you have come to right place. Far from the madding crowd, this is Danish charm and hospitality at it´s best. The Family room is large, warm, beds comfortable, and quiet. The restaurant serves impeccable seasonal food both for dinner (yes, it's pricey...but worth it!) and breakfasts. The garden and grounds are a delight to walk around (bring wellies!) and the castle/manor house is a perfect place to relax and take in the history of the building, where guests can sit in huge sofas, enjoying tea and coffee by the fireplace! Wifi is a little shaky, but this is the kind of place you almost want to be offline, gather your thoughts, and just relax in stress-free comfort! Gift shop sells their fine jams and confiture, and staff are there always attentive and giving advice on places to go. We stayed two nights, and wish we could have stayed more! We ate dinner on the first night, but chose to eat locally on the second night (There are many places to eat in Svendborg and in driving distance). Will definitely return! A perfect place to have a family break, or stay with friends.

Room Tip: Room 16. Huge Family room!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank i47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay with my girlfriend the food was amazing both breakfast and dinner.. The service was great and we had a perfect weekend at the castle in great historical surroundings.. Definitely worth a visit.. Even just for the food and the sight..

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016

Indeed it is very beautiful and the kitchen offers very good food but we have some remarks :
1. choice in the restaurant is very little
2. prizes are rather high
3. we had room number 9 and the bathroom was heated in the middle of the summer and the staff was not able to turn it of. So we couldn't use our bathroom with its beautiful bath but had to keep the door shut as much as possible because the room was also very hot and difficult to cool
To be checked as you enter this room on a hot summer day!

Room Tip: Check if the heating is turned of while you enter a room...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

Broholm is a charming seventeenth-century manor house (it's named "castle" in the marketing literature, but it's not a fortified building), surrounded by two lily-filled moats. Our room was small but comfortable, and quiet despite being right off a stairwell and having other rooms very close by. (Broholm accommodates only about 20 guests, so it tends to be a quiet place.) Our bathroom floor was automatically heated, which seemed to make the bedroom area a bit too warm, especially as temperatures were in the seventies during our stay in late May/early June.) A fan could probably have fixed that problem, though we didn't request one and were able to sleep at night without one. Guests have to walk outside to reach the dining room and the rooms where afternoon tea is served. We were fortunate to have sunny days for our entire stay in Fyn, but umbrellas are parked next to front doors, just in case. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and dinners were gourmet delights. The dinner menu was limited to a few choice dishes and remained the same for the month. Afternoon tea is served in one of the magnificent old rooms. I asked for ginger tea and was delighted to be offered actual slices of fresh ginger. The local pastry was much too scrummy - as are all pastries made in Danish bakeries. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I want to thank them all by name: Anne, Nanne, Kenneth, Natasha, Sylvia, Niels, and Kim, the chef. Broholm is well situated for visiting Fyn, a delightful island, brimming with historic and rural interest. You can walk all round the manor house, through the surrounding woods, but wear walking shoes because the ground is muddy in places. There is a wonderful museum at the back of the manor house, a small, brick building that overflows with a huge collection of iron and stone age artifacts discovered on the farmland around the manor house in the late nineteenth century and organized by one of Broholm's owners. It's an absolutely astonishing must-see. The reception area is also the gift shop, which is worth a visit too. Broholm is definitely one of the most delightful hotels I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews