We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect country cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chantry Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Dining room
Lounge
Kitchen
Twin room
Family bathroom
Bunk beds
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Philippa...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country cottage”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Chantry Cottage was picture postcard on the outside, but even more perfect on the inside. Very spacious and clean with everything you need for a comfortable stay, including a log burner for cosy evening after a long walk in the rain (British summer)
A great base for seeing the Peak District with a lovey Tea Room, Pub and corner shop. Will recommend to all my family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you Philippa, so pleased to hear you enjoyed our cottage and visit to the Peak District. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Many thanks for the review, we hope you enjoyed your stay, regarding the spare key good idea we have never been asked before but can imagine it may be useful although the key safe could be used we will look into providing a spare key. Regarding WiFi, I can understand - but it was a conscious decision made to "get away from it all". However 4G is getting better in the village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
k00ey
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning country cottage”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked this cottage for a girly weekend getaway and we had the best time! The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The garden is a lovely and very well looked after. The village is very picturesque and all locals seemed very friendly. Chatsworth House is very close and well worth a visit. We used both local pubs and the village store is excellent. Would recommend the Peacock in Rowsley for a superb lunch. Would definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent quality holiday cottage”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

High quality, spacious rental in a good location for visiting the area. Had almost all amenities you could want and was a real "home from home" with comfortable rooms, a stove and board games. Would definitely recommend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you David and very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chantry cottage and would love to welcome you and your family back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bexxym
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best cottage I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this cottage for a Hen weekend for 6 of us in September, and we all absolutely fell in love with this amazing cottage. Firstly, it's location. It's in Ashford in the Water which is a gorgeous village, and the cottage itself is on a quiet side street opposite the church. Whilst parking is fairly limited outside the cottage, we used the car park at the top of the road which has an honesty box in it (which we used, I promise). The cottage itself is so lovely. It has been fitted out to the very highest standard, was spotlessly clean throughout, the furniture was in excellent condition (sometimes in cottages it can look a little tired), the kitchen was modern with lots of crockery and cooking utensils, the beds were incredibly comfy, there were games, DVDs and books, supplied as well as a working gramophone! etc., etc. - I could go on. I honestly can't rate this cottage highly enough. Oh, and it has a conservatory and garden, which we didn't have time to enjoy unfortunately! We've all decided we'll be back for a Hen reunion next September!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Even the lack of wi-fi was great as it meant we weren't all sitting round on our phones all the time!!
Liked least: Having to leave and come home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind comments Rebecca, we love our cottage and have enjoyed sharing it with our guests over the years :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W
UK, Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cottage for our wedding weekend”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked Chantry Cottage as a base to use over our wedding weekend (for my ushers and I the night before and for myself and my new wife Laura the day after our wedding) and it was perfect for both.

The cottage a beautiful, tranquil place right in the centre of one of the best villages in the whole of the peaks. Everything you need is included in the cottage, which is also furnished to a really high standard. all the rooms are lovely but the little garden at the back (with BBQ and conservatory) was our personal favourite. The village has two pubs and a great college shop which sells about ten different types of ground coffee!

Niki was a fantastic host who helped us a lot in advance of our booking and we even found a bottle of fizz and a card waiting for us when we arrived (possibly this is only for wedding couples).

Overall our stay was a fantastic experience and we are already looking forward to returning in years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage and village plus great service
Liked least: Cookware could be upgraded.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing