We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
34
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini bar art wine hospitality pictures walks balcony dinner mountains
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 42 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2014

We were looking for a hotel with a 2-bedroom apartment in the middle of Carinthia near a lake but the few suitable hotels could only booked from Saturday to Saturday. We found the Art Lodge on the Internet and booked it as it looked pretty cool and relaxing. I did not expect that such a "different" hotel exists in Carinthia. The color combination of dark brown (wooden walls), green (the pool) and the pink chairs I have not seen before. Not only chairs are pink. Also the evening menu is written in pink and both well-behaving and relaxed dogs wear pink neck bands. The idea of a hotel in a natural setting exhibiting arts and offering outdoor activities is not new. 20 years ago I stayed at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort in Pennsylvania which an impressive art collection in the hotel and sculptures and oldtimers on the surrounding golf course. I have been in many hotels, I have not forgotten Nemacolin Woodlands Resort and for sure, in 20 years I will remember the Art Lodge.

Room Tip: Write an e-mail to the owners and they will happily advise the right room for you.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FM-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2014

After a long drive from Croatia we climbed higher and higher till we eventually reached the Art Lodge. The first thing to strike one is the stunning view across the valley; the second is the friendly and efficient welcome. We were in a larger and more expensive room, though the view was not the best from the hotel. This did not particularly concern us as we only stayed one night en route, but guests who wish to stay for longer might wish to clarify when reserving a room what view they will have. Otherwise the room was spacious and well appointed. The hotel explicitly differentiates itself by offering a collection of striking contemporary art works. But others who do not find this a particular attraction should know that they will also find the food interesting and delicious and the general atmosphere in the hotel, set mainly by the hosts, relaxed and friendly. The standard of service was exceptionally high from the restaurant staff as well as the proprietors. There is a general feeling that, beyond the art work, the traditional building has been renovated and furnished in a highly imaginative and stylishly contemporary way. We enjoyed our visit very much, especially breakfast out on an attractive and roofed terrace, which gave wonderful views on a sunny Sunday morning, with Church bells ringing across the alpine meadows.

Room Tip: Clarify what view you will have when making a reservation if you wish to stay for more than one or two nights.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halzephron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2014

Special hotel in every way. Very comfortable rooms and everything thought of in the general public areas. The owners sustainable philosophy have created a very unique and practical environment. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2014

The combination of tradition and art is unique and makes it different from other accomodation in Austria. Katrin and Dirks hospitality is great, Food is of very good Quality and breakfast a la carte is fine. Spacious room with nice view. Free soft Drinks, coffee wine and beer in the fridge is very pleasant.Next Supermarket is in about 5 km difference in the village (you Need a car).

Would definitely come again for a quiet stay in beautiful surrounding.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank falco2ooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We spend 2 nights in this wonderfull place! Feels like coming home after 5 minutes. Never find such a place bevor. Particulary katrin and dirk are so hospitable!! The furnishings, especially the mixture consists of old and new is really perfect and harmonious!
The area is nice, really quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Birgit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews