We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Camping and surfing

Wonderful place for camping and surfing and having a great time within nature. The many beaches... read more

Reviewed December 17, 2019
rodrigop536
,
Rio Grande, RS
via mobile
Nature paradise

Great national park to explore the beautiful Uruguayan shore. In the pajarería some animals are not... read more

Reviewed December 26, 2018
manuelaE3038WG
,
Montevideo, Uruguay
via mobile
Read all 311 reviews
  
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
202
94
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
202
94
11
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 311 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

This would be a great place for families to visit. There are many places to camp, though, from what we understand, there are not enough toilets to accommodate all the campers. Aside from that, there are lots of green spaces in which to chill, and a large play area for kids. There is also a bird aviary with a few other resident animals. For those without kids, this is a place to just relax. For folks looking to hike and explore nature, there are better sites.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank sallythode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

The perfect balance between nature and turism. Width and long beaches, laberintic forestes, brave ocean, historic place, nice people, home of uruguayan wild fauna and flora.

Tell me what else you need?

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank Santiago L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2017

Approx. an hour and a half from Cabo Polonio, La Pedrera and La Paloma, we had not even registered this lovely site when we made our travel itinerary. Fortunately we were directed by locals to go for a day visit. It ended being absolutely, without hesitation, our best outing during our whole stay (much better than Cabo Polonio!!!!!). The park, maintained by the Uruguayan army, is huge, beautiful, and with lots of activities to engage the restless: untouched natural areas for your visual pleasure (forest, marshes, coast line), hiking paths, beaches (yes, in the plural), greenhouse and gardens (don't miss the rose gardens), wildlife refuge, aviary, campsites, etc. We got there easily (the drive from La Pedrera is absolutely gorgeous through a perfectly maintained highway and with abundant signage) and realized that there were many more options than we had imagined. We did not stay overnight, but there are several campsites areas and even lovely cabins for rent (at prices that seemed quite accessible; plus the cabins were gorgeous, prettier than most of what we saw in the area where we stayed). We spent some time at El Barco Beach, visited the gardens and the greenhouse, took the boardwalk (“sombráculo”) to see the marshes (heaven for birdwatchers), went to the wildlife refuge and the aviary, drove to the Laguna Negra (Black Lagoon), and ended in the Santa Teresa Fortresss (with a lunch break in nearby Punta del Diablo). The history of the park and its historical relevance for the Uruguayan Republic is also fascinating (do not miss the fortress). We went in our rented car; it was easy. I repeat, it is worth the drive. This is my # 1 attraction in Rocha.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Very beautiful park, with a great green area, access to the Playa Grande.
Place to enjoy the nature and just chill out.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Great historical place on the coast of Uruguay by the border with Brazil. Old fortress used to defend the Spaniards colony from the Portuguese invaders. Was taken once and again by either one or the other army until finally was forgotten under the sand dunes. Today it is a museum and a campsite on an exceptional coastal scenery on Southamerica. A must in Uruguay

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Gas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews