We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nature paradise

Great national park to explore the beautiful Uruguayan shore. In the pajarería some animals are not... read more

Reviewed December 26, 2018
manuelaE3038WG
,
Montevideo, Uruguay
via mobile
A must do short bike ride from Punta del Diablo!

We stayed in Punta Del Diablo for 4 nights at the end of August, hired bicycles and rode to Santa... read more

Reviewed August 31, 2018
hannabobanna
,
La Paz, Bolivia
via mobile
Read all 311 reviews
  
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
202
94
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
202
94
11
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 311 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2018 via mobile

Great national park to explore the beautiful Uruguayan shore. In the pajarería some animals are not well taken care of

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank manuelaE3038WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Punta Del Diablo for 4 nights at the end of August, hired bicycles and rode to Santa Teresa. It is a very flat easy ride along the highway, approximately 4km from the centre of Punta.

Admission to the national park is free, although you have to pay to visit the forte, which we didn’t get to. The national park has a huge variety of trees, plants and vegetation which was beautiful to ride through, stopping at the beaches along the coast-line, hoping for a chance whale spotting!

The national park sports it own little zoo fit with monkeys, peacocks, rhea, quails, llamas and a Toucan! Such a great place to picnic for families, there is a cafe on site and is free to visit as well. Great little find for a day trip!

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank hannabobanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

This would be a great place for families to visit. There are many places to camp, though, from what we understand, there are not enough toilets to accommodate all the campers. Aside from that, there are lots of green spaces in which to chill, and a large play area for kids. There is also a bird aviary with a few other resident animals. For those without kids, this is a place to just relax. For folks looking to hike and explore nature, there are better sites.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank sallythode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

The perfect balance between nature and turism. Width and long beaches, laberintic forestes, brave ocean, historic place, nice people, home of uruguayan wild fauna and flora.

Tell me what else you need?

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank Santiago L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2017

Approx. an hour and a half from Cabo Polonio, La Pedrera and La Paloma, we had not even registered this lovely site when we made our travel itinerary. Fortunately we were directed by locals to go for a day visit. It ended being absolutely, without hesitation, our best outing during our whole stay (much better than Cabo Polonio!!!!!). The park, maintained by the Uruguayan army, is huge, beautiful, and with lots of activities to engage the restless: untouched natural areas for your visual pleasure (forest, marshes, coast line), hiking paths, beaches (yes, in the plural), greenhouse and gardens (don't miss the rose gardens), wildlife refuge, aviary, campsites, etc. We got there easily (the drive from La Pedrera is absolutely gorgeous through a perfectly maintained highway and with abundant signage) and realized that there were many more options than we had imagined. We did not stay overnight, but there are several campsites areas and even lovely cabins for rent (at prices that seemed quite accessible; plus the cabins were gorgeous, prettier than most of what we saw in the area where we stayed). We spent some time at El Barco Beach, visited the gardens and the greenhouse, took the boardwalk (“sombráculo”) to see the marshes (heaven for birdwatchers), went to the wildlife refuge and the aviary, drove to the Laguna Negra (Black Lagoon), and ended in the Santa Teresa Fortresss (with a lunch break in nearby Punta del Diablo). The history of the park and its historical relevance for the Uruguayan Republic is also fascinating (do not miss the fortress). We went in our rented car; it was easy. I repeat, it is worth the drive. This is my # 1 attraction in Rocha.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews