We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Overview of VSU Campus

Campus is expansive and interesting. Several places to visit - gardens and farms and research... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Nilda B
Make an effort to visit this place!!

We visited and toured around the vast university. They have a pool, a beach, gym, oval, library... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2018
markedplaces
via mobile
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
12
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state university mountain side land area beautiful campus students beach agriculture visayas field resort campuses sunset
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Campus is expansive and interesting. Several places to visit - gardens and farms and research centers. The beach is a great place to relax and the swimming pool by the beach is nice.

Thank Nilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

We visited and toured around the vast university. They have a pool, a beach, gym, oval, library, ostrich farm, rice fields and a lot more. The university felt like a community in itself. Just make sure you got someone knowledgeable enough of the place so you wont get lost around the campus. AND TRY THEIR CARABAO CHOCO MILK!!!

Thank markedplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

If you happen to visit Baybay City, dont dare miss a tour inside the VSU Campus. Visit their pasalubong center.

Thank alden_escabarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Visayas State University is has a 1000-hectare land area. It is conducive to learning for students. It has a resort within. Fronting beach is a protected fish sanctuary. It has a swimming too. A good walk in the morning around the campus is worth doing. Come and try yourself.

Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Sprawling university campus that starts from the beach upwards to the mountain peaks. Buildings are scattered around campus which is also dotted with rice paddies and fields. During the school term there is much student traffic, with many riding on motorcycles and some on foot. A very nice showcase of Philippine agriculture in one place. One can arrange for visits to research centers working on coconuts, root crops, water buffaloes, Manila hemp or abaca, fruits, biotechnology, etc. There is a small, interesting natural history museum on campus. The campus is conducive for early morning jogging, with fresh air and greenery around you. Nearby is a busy student market place with student eateries, fresh vegetables, fruits, meat. Inside the campus there are two swimming pools. The real bonus is the availability of reasonably priced clean accommodations and dining facilities (reservations needed). Like other campuses, there are many opportunities to learn especially about local agriculture. It was a rewarding and enriching visit.

1  Thank Budjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

This University is one of the best schools in the Philippines.I will strongly recommend it all fresh highschool graduate.

Thank Rhina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

I have traveled far and wide, and been to many campuses. But VSU is simply the best. Imagine a campus with a dam on its mountain side, and a beach on the lower campus.

When I visited, students were riding horses near the rodeo arena/corral on the mountain-side campus. The same students rode their horses to the beachside guest house. What a sight. I also saw students swimming. Imagine such privilege of forever being on a beach resort while schooling?

We were accommodated in a guest house that felt like a nice hotel.

Truly the best campus I have ever seen.

Thank Angelito P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017

The feel, the beach, the sunset, Mt. Pangasugan, the people, everything just feels like it's part of a blissful nostalgia I can't explain. The landmarks and the whole aesthetic of VSU is superb up to the tiniest details. A must-visit for sure!

1  Thank John Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Visayas State University is the old VISCA. The main campus is located at Baybay, Leyte and divided into two -- upper and lower campus. The upper campus has the main lecture halls and academic facilities. The huge open field, library, administration building, and the new swimming pool is located here. The lower campus is composed of the sports court, the VSU hospital, dormitories, guest villas and hostel, and the beachfront.

Great views! You'll enjoy the views in this campus, the green and huge open space and the relaxing beach area.

VSU has apartelle and hostel for guests. But some rooms lacks basic needs.

2  Thank SherwinJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2016

Stayed here because recommended by locals was good not sure I understand hostel wifi minimal staff very pleasant, yes I would stay again but not before school starts that is the reason we left because booked very heavy. but we had to make quick travel plans. My opinion is its very nice walk to the sea.

1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews