We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best So Far...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Senses Zighy Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best So Far...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just a few hours away from DXB, if you have a UAE residence visa or EU passport take Dibba exit & no need for visa stamp. A little rough road few meters till the entrance. A lovely Omani with a BIG smile will welcome you & offer water. Once you arrive you have the option to keep the car parked there or you can take th challenge of the off-road going up into the mountain cliff. DON'T TRY TO BE A SUERHERO if your steering wheel is a mess. A 4x4 can pick you up. TIP: Sit at the left side of the car at the back of the driver to experience the chills of spectacular heights. You'll be welcomed with dates smoothies at the lobby while the manager asks you how the drive was. (Love the dates smoothie). The ceilings of the lobby are relaxing as they take the photocopy of your passports. The rooms are wide and very open. Our Pool Villa was very nice with the private pool & majlis. My excitement boosted up when I heard that we can ride our bikes ( I have never ridden a bike for a long time). It was not easy to turn on & off the AC's. TIP: If you're looking for the hairdryer it's inside the closet. The next morning we had buffet breakfast. I had the eggs Benedict & all of the fruit jams & spread that they have were all freshly made from their organic farm. As the morning starts you'll be greeted by cheerful staff with their very cozy uniform (so fresh in the eyes that they want to say WE WANT TO PAMPER YOU UP!). All of the staff are so helpful & cheerful that you'll tell yourself that "I must be cranky person..or I really need to relax. We stayed at the pool and recognized there was no Lifeguard. At the beach you'll see the vast Omani sea and the blue sky with para-gliders drawing a great scene from the mountains. Everything was just NICE NICE NICE..but..yes, there is a BUT. The generators or those power boxes were too loud. And I may say that there might be complaints about the privacy of the villas but those curtain looking drapers that were used to cover the fences are just UGLY.

During breakfast, they have these printed out news papers in English, French & Deutsch. The bars and restaurants close at 12 pm. Since it's a retreat/rejuvenating place, I think it is really the reason not to keep them till morning. But you ca always have room service. I GOT ENGAGED HERE!! Such a perfect place.

Room Tip: All the Pool Villas are amazing - either for couples for children. You may have your own pool but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuluAgadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

Your feedback is very helpful to others thinking of staying with us.

I am indeed delighted to ready that the traditional Omani welcome with dates and smoothies we an enjoyable experience.

I am glad to let you know that we are in the process of having specialized concealed screens to improve the privacy between villas.

Wonderful to know that you have fond memories of the your engagement at the resort and that you truly enjoyed your return stay here in our scenic paradise. We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    211
    74
    15
    18
See reviews for
452
764
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We have just returned from 5 blissful days at Zighy Bay which was recommended and booked for us by Shaw Travel. It was everything we had hoped for and more. We were met at the airport where our bags were collected and visa's organised whilst we relaxed with a wonderful refreshing drink.
On arrival we were introduced to our charming and very helpful butler Julius and from then on it was full relaxation. Sonia Shaw recommended dinner at Sense on the Edge which was an evening none of us will forget, the Arabic menu was sensational. Our dinner on top of the wine Tower was also very special and private. Being foodies with husbands that enjoy cooking cooking the Arabic cookery course proved fun and informative with chef Ali.
Our room was amazing, all the food especially breakfast was fantastic and we left feeling we had been away for much, much longer.
Thank you to all concerned especially George and Danny who also looked after us wonderfully.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to make this review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

I am happy to note that you loved the Ahlan Welcome experience at the Dubai International Airport.

Sense on the Edge Fine Dining, Wine Tower dinner as well as the Arabic cooking course with Chef Ali is indeed an wonderful culinary experience. We have just launched a new menu at Sense on the Edge with our new Michelin Star Chef James, who leads the culinary team at the fine dine restaurant.

On behalf of George and Danny, I would like to thank you for the generous compliments.

Our team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay here in our scenic paradise and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We spend 4 nights with our 3 children in Zighy Bay and we were somewhat disappointed by the standard of the hotel. True our butler was very nice and all staff was friendly and efficient they could not make up for the feeling that we paid way too much for this experience. The food is excellent but you pay, especially at the Edge, michelin star prices. What was disappointing most was that a lot of villas have no privacy, you look straight into the pool of your neighbours or the view from your terrace is the backside of another villa. A pity with so much space available. Also the level of maintenance was poor: for example broken tiles in the pool, the telephone did not work, rusty bikes and the toilet didn't flush. Also for a resort that boast on its ecological way of doing things it is amazing that you can not go anywhere without loud noise of the airconditioners everywhere around. Also there are no sunbeds on the beach where there are no stones and you can nicely swim. Some of the spa treatments were great (and if you ask they switch of the AC), and the children really enjoyed the paragliding and microlight.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Noëlle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, this will be of great help in resolving our shortcomings. I am nonetheless disappointed that your stay did not fully meet your expectations.

First and foremost I would like to apologize to you as its seems we have not lived up to your expectations and we have obviously not delivered to our best. The problems you experienced are certainly not the norm.

Please be assured that a lot of attention has been given to maintain the highest levels of service and facilities at the resort. Personalized service is ensured vide the Butlers and the Villa Attendants who go beyond their way to ensure a memorable stay for all our guests.

There is no excuse for not being able to deliver perfect standards. All I can say is that we are in the luxury hotel business and any areas that need refinement are in constant review as we too seek perfection in our delivery and please be assured of our untiring efforts to achieve this.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect I hope they go some way to restoring your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

No need to say how wonderful a stay at a Six Senses is. At Zighy Bay it isn't different, the pool villas are spacious and nicely furnished, the whole hotel's atmosphere is due to relaxation.
That is the little problem for families with small children: kids club isn't really helpful, we wanted to go diving and the kids club was still closed in the morning prior to our boat departure time. We always had to hire a nanny for that.
We stayed for 10 marvelous days in October 2011 with our little son, 3 years old. Staff was helpful and organized baby-sitting for the occasions we needed (dinner alone sometimes and diving). The babysitters weren't specialized nannies but waitresses that had their day off . For that price and in that hotel, we expected trained staff.
Another weak point for families: you can't buy anything for children at the hotel shop, no biscuits or diapers or any sweets, etc... so you must bring your own 'snacks' if you don't want to order a meal all the time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 790estelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback of your stay with us.

I am delighted to read the generous compliments and do sincerely appreciate the time and effort spared to share some very creative suggestions too.

We shall certainly look into what can be done with the operational hours of the Kids Club as well as the competency of the Babysitters and see how we can improve the service. Your suggestion to enhance the offering of Kids items at the Gallery shop also has been take due note of. As I write, I am happy to inform you that we are currently working on improving the range of products available.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to apologize for the inconveniences and trust that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the shortcomings of your last stay.

Kind regards,

Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I spent February half term at Zighy Bay with my wife and three children (11, 9, 3). We all had a wonderful time. The location is stunning. The atmosphere is one of gentle relaxation. There are no cars - only golf carts and bicycles. My youngest loved the kids club and we could not keep her away. The rest of the family loved the activities. We went paraponting (with an excellent instructor who inspires confidence), wadi walking and did a dhow cruise. We also went on a long trek with Alex from Absolute Adventures into the desert mountains, which was excellent. Overall, the service was exceptional. Our butler went out of his way to organise us and was very pro-active. The villa was on the sea front and was very spacious with its own pool and was well designed. Overall, it was a thoroughly enjoyable week's holiday.

There were a few downsides. The food is good, but there are only 3 places to eat. We varied it by having a BBQ in our villa and dinner in the organic garden. Our pool was too cold to use and there was a problem with heating it. We had a noisy leak in the middle of the night. Our experience of the mountain restaurant was not a good one. There also seems to be a real lack of availability of spa treatments - at least during our half term stay. These problems did not spoil our holiday, but the hotel is very expensive and some might consider that such problems should not arise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VJHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the account of your recent stay with us. I am glad to note that whilst you enjoyed some of the services, we are greatly concerned that in quite some other areas it did not match the required level of service.

First and foremost may I apologize most sincerely for the problems you experienced and you have certainly not experienced us at our best.

We now have a new Executive Chef who has just come on board. Food & Beverage standards at our resort is a major focus, and has certainly been a strong point for the high volume of repeat guests who return for multiple stays. I am sure that with the new Executive Chef, we will continue our efforts to make the culinary standards to greater heights in times to come.

Our focus is on training with specific focus on pro-activeness and service oriented approach towards meeting and exceeding guest expectations.

I would like to assure you we take the feedback very seriously and we have put measures in place to ensure they never occur again.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect I hope they go some way to restore your confidence in us.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to apologize for the inconveniences and trust that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the poor impression of your last stay.

Kind regards,

Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hopewell, new jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent 8 wonderful days in Oman with our expat friends and finished our visit at ZB. The villas were well equipped and environmentally friendly. We agree that the privacy factor between villas was not ideal in that conversations and activity on both sides was often annoying. The food and selections were excellent and the mountain top dining was superlative. We objected to having to pay for locally produced water and then for tea that was offered at the end of an expensive buffet. The service staff is excellent and under the watchful eye of Michael. We also appreciated the affable and very efficient Monica. She is a real asset to the resort. We have traveled extensively and found the cost of meals to be pricey even compared to the best 5 star resorts in the Maldives. One other suggestion: We think that even though the comments after every Trip Adviser review about ZB by the manager is laudable , we would suggest that he stop using cut and paste on his computer and actually write some retorts from scratch.

Room Tip: If you travel without children make sure you have a villa away from families that do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brubarbtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time off to share the feedback on your stay with us at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

I am happy to note that you liked the concept and design of the villas, our environment friendly approach to tourism.

The villa privacy factor has been taken due note of. I am glad to inform you that we have this as our facility improvement project which will be undertaken during the summer months. We would be incorporating special reinforcement panels which will greatly enhance the privacy between the villas.

Have noted your feedback on the menu prices and do appreciate your sharing the same.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to thank you for your feedback and do hope that we can welcome you back to our resort in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spent three days at Zighy bay in January.

The hotel sits at one end of a mile-long bay. At the other end is a scruffy collection of Omani holiday beach houses and a little boat harbour. There is nothing else in the bay apart from the hotel and the beach settlement. The bay is backed by a dramatic 2000 foot high stark mountain - the landscape is impressive, but the hotel is completely self contained. There is nowhere to go and nothing to do outwith the property. The approach to the hotel is a steep (scary steep) road over the mountain. You pretty much have to be driven here by hotel car, at a pretty steep price (£350 from Dubai).

The Room:

I had a middle of the range room. All rooms seem to be effectively self contained cottages, with nice little private pool, large bedroom, big bathroom, ample sitting area, and the sandy pool area has lots of space. All aspects of the room were top class, other than the rattan fences around the space which was not high enough to give a feeling of privacy. No skinny dipping here. Minibar - £50 for a quarter bottle of blended scotch.

Bed: Outstandingly comfy and large. Full marks.

Bathroom: ditto.

Service: generally very warm and smiley. You get a butler, who is so keen to help that you actually have to ask him to ease off.

The beach: very fine, good sand, clean water (cold in january). Didnt try the diving so cant comment on that.

The property: The problem with Zighy is that there is very little to do and nowhere to go. They do microlights, if you fancy microlighting with a lethal mountain on one side and the sea on the other (no lifejackets). There is an impressive and very nice spa, if you are into massages, but bring your number one credit card because the accent in Zighy is on "expensive". The restaurants and food are OK, but again, very expensive for what you are getting. I think that if you arent a spa junkie with a deep wallet most people would get pretty bored here after three days. Children would go spare. Compare the package with Peter Island at half the price and twice as nice and you will see what I mean.

Value: subjective, of course, but at a thousand pounds a night plus meals and spa treatments on top I dont think this is even vaguely worth it. At £300 a night for two, a nice low stress escape from Dubai for a few days, but I wouldnt hurry back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the account of your recent stay with us. I am glad to note that whilst you enjoyed some of the services, we are greatly concerned that in quite some other areas it did not match the required level of service.

First and foremost may I apologize most sincerely for the problems you experienced and you have certainly not experienced us at our best.

The secluded location is befitting the hideaway concept on which the resort was built. Six Senses resorts generally imbibe the local culture and architecture into the resort's design features and hence the extensive use of stones and architectural style from the region.

We do offer our guests the choice to arrive by speed boat for those who do not prefer the drive over the mountainous terrain or wish to arrive by paraglide from the mountain top.

The villa privacy enhancement is part of our facilities improvement and will be completed later this year.

Special rates are offered on our website and am sure that some very competitive offers can be availed of during the middle of the year.

Whilst I appreciate my apologies and assurances are of little consequence in retrospect I hope they go some way to restore your confidence in us.

On behalf of the team, I would once again like to apologize for the inconveniences and trust that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the shortcomings of your last stay.

Kind regards,


Godfrey Vas
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zighy Bay
13.5 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#1 of 4 in Dibba Al Fujairah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
4.3 km away
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
#1 of 1 in Dibba Al Bay Ah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
24.2 km away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
14.4 km away
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
#2 of 4 in Dibba Al Fujairah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
32.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Property: Six Senses Zighy Bay
Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway
Six Senses Zighy Bay Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing