We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Lion Hotel(Hebden Bridge)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$141
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
164
53
20
11
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
53
20
11
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak piethe publovely mealpennine wayold english pubwarm welcomeolde worldeenjoyed our foodlog firepiessunday lunchsuperb foodblack pudding stackdown to earthevening mealmany thankssecond to none
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 269 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We went here by chance for Sunday lunch, but what a disappointment.
The staff were great and so was the beer and wine but sorry the food just doesn't hit the mark.
Gravy -gloop
Yorkshire pudding very good
Beef- stringy
Veg- dry and semi hard
Roast potato - soft and oily

Never again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graemechorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We stayed at the Old Silent Inn for one night during our Pennine Way walk. While we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal, we did not look forward to retreating to our dusty, dated room afterwards. It was located above the restaurant entrance, so we found it difficult to find sleep. Attempting to close the door while in the toilet room was a challenge, as was using the tiny, old shower (most difficult to wash our feet!). Overall, the room is in need of a refresh. We wouldn't recommend OSI to walkers who prefer an early start. Breakfast starts later than usual. When we headed downstairs at 8:30am, we were met with a dark pub and no direction as to how to leave (there did not appear to be a reception). Thankfully someone appeared from the back with a key to open the front door after we called out. A bit bizarre...

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank GeoGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

An overnight stay booked for us by our 17yr old, myself, husband and 9yr old turned up on Friday.
We were instantly treated like old friends by the most amazing landlord (he really should be on a a stage!)and his fantastic family!
Our room was lovely, clean and decorated in keeping with the beautiful 400yr old building. We booked a table for the evening meal & we weren't disappointed. Molly our waitress for the evening was just as warm, welcoming and down to earth as the hosts.
Husband had a huge pork chop on potato mash and vegetables, I had the best homemade lasagne ever with the biggest chips in the world and side salad (sadly i was overfaced & could only eat half) and our son had a homemade beef burger in an oven bottom breadcake (yes its breadcake in Yorkshire!) which he polished off with great delight, huge chips and side salad. We retired feeling very well fed and watered!
Great and very peaceful nights sleep we all had and went down to breakfast at 9am. A plate of the most fantastic full english was served to us. Local produce down to even the bread tasted gorgeous! it set us up for the day and even 7hrs later we were still burning it off!
Its definitely a place we will re-visit time and time again, either just for meals or even a short break from home. "Arrive as Guests, leave as Friends!" Thank you all for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vanyasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Just stopped off for coffee during a drive through the local scenery with friends. Quick, friendly and polite service and pleasant surroundings made for a relaxing break. Coffee was good and served as 2 pots between the 4 of us, so plenty to top up with. Price very reasonable too. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank becon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

I used to live in the area many years ago but confess to not previously being aware of this pub's existence as it's beyond Haworth, which I know well, in the next village of Stanbury. The views of the surrounding countryside from the road between the two places are breathtaking. Low ceilinged, creaking staircased, small windowed and mullioned, it's straight from Wuthering Heights central casting. You can tell from the outside that the rooms aren't going to be large and so it proved - that might have been one of the smallest double beds I've slept in. Similarly, attempting to swing a cat in the en suite would have resulted in it being brained pretty sharply. But the shower was strong and hot, and the room was clean and comfortable. I can't speak for the dinners as I was out too late the evening I stayed, but breakfast was wonderful (particularly the bacon and black pudding), the waitress was kind and helpful, and the landlord/owner was charming. Can see why it's a favourite with walkers, and would love to return to try the evidently highly recommended dinners.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Fergus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews