We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
166
55
21
12
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
55
21
12
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub lovely meal steak pie pennine way warm welcome olde worlde log fire sunday lunch specials board superb food black pudding stack down to earth evening meal second to none many thanks my mum perfect evening
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 279 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Old Silent Inn for one night.i have tried many times to get accommodation here but always fully booked.Maybe because it was bonfire weekend they were fairly quiet.Which was lucky for us.You really couldn’t wish for a more friendly cosy(log-fires lit everywhere)warm atmosphere.All the staff and the landlord were so chatty and nice.The food was gorgeous portions perfect real veg (not frozen) excellent home cooked food but with a finesse.Great full English the next morning,proper bacon and sausage definitely not from a supermarket.We had a lovely room tiny ensuite which yes probably could do with updating but the fire place and the stone mullion windows certainly made up for that .Sumptious curtains and matching duvet on the bed added to the ambience .Could imagine a weekend in winter here walking in the steps of the Brontes definitely returning the landlord is a gem so is the pub.Have given this a five been a five despite the ensuite .Also towels were whiter than white that’s a big tick in my list of must haves .As aside landlords lovely sister helps serves such a lovely person.Yorkshire at its best.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

Went today and had a fantastic meal. All freshly cooked food, large portion sizes and everything was just delicious! Nothing was too much trouble for staff and we were well looked after. Fabulous traditional pub!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

We went here by chance for Sunday lunch, but what a disappointment.
The staff were great and so was the beer and wine but sorry the food just doesn't hit the mark.
Gravy -gloop
Yorkshire pudding very good
Beef- stringy
Veg- dry and semi hard
Roast potato - soft and oily

Never again

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graemechorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We stayed at the Old Silent Inn for one night during our Pennine Way walk. While we thoroughly enjoyed our evening meal, we did not look forward to retreating to our dusty, dated room afterwards. It was located above the restaurant entrance, so we found it difficult to find sleep. Attempting to close the door while in the toilet room was a challenge, as was using the tiny, old shower (most difficult to wash our feet!). Overall, the room is in need of a refresh. We wouldn't recommend OSI to walkers who prefer an early start. Breakfast starts later than usual. When we headed downstairs at 8:30am, we were met with a dark pub and no direction as to how to leave (there did not appear to be a reception). Thankfully someone appeared from the back with a key to open the front door after we called out. A bit bizarre...

Date of stay: August 2017
1  Thank GeoGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

An overnight stay booked for us by our 17yr old, myself, husband and 9yr old turned up on Friday.
We were instantly treated like old friends by the most amazing landlord (he really should be on a a stage!)and his fantastic family!
Our room was lovely, clean and decorated in keeping with the beautiful 400yr old building. We booked a table for the evening meal & we weren't disappointed. Molly our waitress for the evening was just as warm, welcoming and down to earth as the hosts.
Husband had a huge pork chop on potato mash and vegetables, I had the best homemade lasagne ever with the biggest chips in the world and side salad (sadly i was overfaced & could only eat half) and our son had a homemade beef burger in an oven bottom breadcake (yes its breadcake in Yorkshire!) which he polished off with great delight, huge chips and side salad. We retired feeling very well fed and watered!
Great and very peaceful nights sleep we all had and went down to breakfast at 9am. A plate of the most fantastic full english was served to us. Local produce down to even the bread tasted gorgeous! it set us up for the day and even 7hrs later we were still burning it off!
Its definitely a place we will re-visit time and time again, either just for meals or even a short break from home. "Arrive as Guests, leave as Friends!" Thank you all for an unforgettable experience!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vanyasaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews