We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't argue with the fact this place has character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Sirince B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed a couple of nights. We liked the character of the Hotel, grounds and staff. It was a little pricey and the room was small but in the end we were happy we stayed and experienced the village in the evening. The food was very good and plentiful. We liked sitting out in the late afternoon on the lower patio watching the sun go down enjoying wine and a cheese plate while the cat mooched at our feet. The pool was special, I think we were likely the first swimmers of the season, I cleaned out the bugs and leaves myself with out considering a complaint. Check out the tower it's really neat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and liked it, the library is very comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptEdPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

This unique countryside hotel above Sirence is a 21st century abode in a 19th century setting. Charming grounds preview the wonderful main building. There are hillside rooms along a path that ends after the gardens at a pool overlooking the Sirence environs. Even better than the building and staff was the food. We begged for the bread recipe! Pay attention to the road entry to the right before the town of .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stay in two cottages and they are fabulous. The location of the hotel is above a local village and on the hill side so it is very quiet and peaceful. This is the place to relax. There is no TV in the rooms so you can enjoy the surrounding. You can hear birds chirping and the cock crowing in the morning.

Breakfast is excellent. Lots of local foods brought to you. The seating is in an open shack (lack of a better term to describe it), the morning breeze refreshes you as you enjoy the scenery.

We had dinner at the main building and it is like home cooked meal. The soup is called "Very Good Soup". A suitable description.

The hotel is an hour from Izmir airport and we use it as a base to visit Ephesus, Pergamum, Miletus etc.

If you are tired of staying in a conventional hotel, try this experience. A great escape for city dwellers.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayteekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It's a bit off the beaten track and not the easiest place to find, but if you're in the area, this is the place to stay. There's a steep drive up the hill (or I believe they offer transfer services)where you leave touristy Sirince village behind. The room we had (Room 1) was large, comfortable and beautifully decorated as is the whole property. Better yet, it had magnificent views over the valley. There are also other cottages for rent. They are all very private and when wandering around, one is constantly delighted by the thoughtful touches. There are many little nooks and crannies to hole up with a book or just to enjoy the peace and quiet or the view. Breakfast is terrific and one is presented with a huge choice. We also had some of the best meals we had in Turkey here and had dinner in the charming dining room twice. Nisanyan Hotel is a sublime, inspiring place, a lovely contrast to the tourist scrum in Ephesus. Recommended unreservedly.

Room Tip: Room 1 is lovely but I think all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Hotel. I would call it a complex, consist of charming renovated houses representing the spirit of their Greek predecessors. Very green, peaceful, relaxing. Everithing is perfect to the detail.
Our house was two storey.
First floor - Spacious dining room, very well equipped, in case you like to cook something by yourself.
A bottle of traditional Sirince red wine was waiting for us. Olives and some other small treatments as well.
Second floor – two bedrooms, double bed. Two bathrooms. The one is traditional Turkish, called Hammam. All the necessary staff to perform the “ritual” in private is waiting for you there.
There are two things that were bothering me.
The first one, unfortunately, is impossible to escape. The mosque wakes you up extremely loudly 5 a.m. No closed window will save you until the singing is over.
The second one is the pillow - very firm and uncomfortable.
The restaurant is small, but very nice and cozy. In case you want to dine there, which I certainly recommend, you should book a table in advance.
The food is one of the treasures of the place. Fresh, delicious, home made.
Do not hesitate to eat there each night, doesn’t matter how long you stay.
The staff is very friendly. Most of it speaks English.
The village - looks nicer from the top, where the hotel is.
Unfortunately it’s already quite commercialized and the small cute narrow streets are full of
craftsmen and tradesmen. However take a walk and try the remarkable Turkish ice cream.
Nearby (probably 10 km.) is the ancient Ephes.
Longer drive (2.5-3 hours) could take you to Pamukkale.
Kusadasi could also be reached in 10-15 min. driving.
You could use Sirince as headquarter to enjoy Turkey.
If I would have a chance I will definitely visit the place again.

Room Tip: make sure you are in the main complex at the top of the hill. there are rooms in the village as well...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epaskaleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Nisanyan House, a boutique hotel perched high in the hills of Şirince (see-rin-chay), is about 11 kilometers outside of Selçuk and Ephesus. It’s a place with a lot of personality, reflecting the owners and creators, Mujde and Sevan*. I loved the charm of Şirince and am glad we stayed there rather than Selcuk.

Tips: 1) If driving, follow the website directions exactly! 2) It would be important to have reservations in advance for dinner as the inn can accommodate about 30 in all of its various rooms but the dining room seats about 16. 3) I preferred the bed setup in our friend's cottage. I think they were in cottage 2. The problem with our bed arrangement (cottage #1?) is that it was attached on two sides (the foot and the side) and it was difficult for the inside person to get out at night if necessary. So ask about the bed setup. (The shower also was open to the toilet area with no shower curtain or partition.) 4) Lastly, you should be aware that the cottages are in an agricultural area, which means that beetles may crawl in one way or another. We had one bug visitor and a few bees. They have a can of bug spray in the room for a reason, I imagine.

We stayed with friends in the cottages, which are decorated with weavings, antiques and accessories - outside and in. The cottages are perched toward the top of the hill overlooking the town, and our patios and the open air breakfast room were perfect places to relax and watch the light changing over the agricultural fields that surround the inn. No sounds but the occasional donkey braying, peacock calling (yes, peacocks) and bell jingling of a herd of goats that were being rounded up for the night.

The inn is a small complex: five or so small buildings that have been converted into freestanding cottages connected by a gravel path that winds past the pool, an enclosure for geese and ducks, and several fountains and water features. There’s also a building with four or five rooms with eclectically furnished rooms and suites. Finally there’s a main building with a small seating area (the office and reception) and dining room where breakfast and dinner are served.

The restaurant has a great reputation for good reason. We particularly enjoyed “tavuk güveç” (chicken and vegetable casserole); “bonfille” (beef steak served with lots of garlic); lamb shank; börek pastry filled with spinach, feta, eggplant and tomato; “warm stuff salad” (made of warm red cabbage, green cabbage, walnut, dried apricot, green onions and cold carrots, cucumber and lettuce); stuffed sweet red peppers served cold with rice, feta, walnuts and herbs; vermicelli dessert and their chocolate soufflé. Dinner was about $75 for two, including wine.

*Twenty years ago or so, Mujde bought a donkey shed in the small town, about the time that the townspeople were convinced they should tear down all of the old stuff. She felt that the old buildings were charming, and she went about improving the donkey shed into a charming dwelling over a seven year period. Then she met and married Sevan, a travel writer, and they fixed up some of the villagers’ donkey sheds to prove to them that they could look good and shouldn’t be torn down. Apparently these were radical ideas to the local government; after one dispute, Sevan was jailed for 7 months. Not so many years later, he’s been recognized with a “Freedom of Thought” award.

Room Tip: Ask about the bed arrangement: one of the cottages (#1?) has a bed built in at both the foot and one...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsysSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Sirince is a very picturesque area. You can trust 100% what is written on the hotel webside. The hotel is above the village therefore you escape from all the noise of all the tourists during the day. The houses and cottages are authentical Ottoman stile, inertial as well. We had a house with hammam. Very clean, no TV!!! The breakfast is great, all homemade, including all the vegetables, cheese and jams. We loved it! Restaurant is also great, not a large menu but very delicious and good service with a wonderful view! Stuff extremely nice and helpful! I can write a lot…..but don’t miss it, great place if you go there with friends or family as a couple or even on your own!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzvetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirince
0.3 km away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
255 reviews
5.1 km away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
9 reviews
5.9 km away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Sirince Evleri
Hotel Sirince Evleri
#2 of 4 in Sirince
107 reviews
5.6 km away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 33 in Selcuk
528 reviews
0.2 km away
Gullu Konaklari
Gullu Konaklari
#2 of 15 in Sirince
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisanyan Evleri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisanyan Evleri Hotel

Address: Merkez Sirince Koyu, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sirince
Price Range: $158 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nisanyan Evleri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are four types of accommodation on offer: Inn - double or twin rooms - all en suite, breakfast included. Houses - fully independent historic houses - sleep 4-5 - all en suite, breakfast basket provided. Cottages - modest comfort in beautiful farm setting - all en suite, breakfast included. Guesthouse - economy double and twin rooms, one suite - all en suite, breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nisanyan Evleri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing