We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Verging on backpacker level” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirkinca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirkinca Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirince
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Verging on backpacker level”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Hotel is spread over three houses in the village. We stayed in the main place at the top of the hill in a top floor, ensuite double room.

The business seems to trade on old world charm which it does have. Having said that, the accommodation, facilities and level of comfort are way below standard for this price range - no room cleaning service, no refrigerator, no phone, no wifi, no tea/coffee,

In addition our room was nasty, it had no bed sheets, a leaking air con, a gaping hole in shower roof, no waste bin, no wardrobe or hangars, a wobbly toilet, no bedside tables.

Service was completely absent other than for check in i.e. there simply wasn't anyone there. Hot water worked well.

Room Tip: Avoid - there are many better places
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John67-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear John67-7,

Thanks for the review also your kind and nice suggestions for our hotel and sorry about the amateur staff we worked in the past. We improved our service ,rooms and management since then .We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    50
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
38
95
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

It was like something out of a Mediterranean Romantic Comedy. Set up in the moutains above Selcuk, we accidentally stayed here knowing nothing about Sirince and only looking for a hotel near Ephesus. From the minute we arrived people were amazingly helpful and friendly. The food at breakfast was delicious and all-you-could-eat as we sat in the tower room overlooking Sirince Valley. The atmosphere of Sirince is so easy going and light. At dinner they had live music and the landlady herself even sang beautifully. We enjoyed it so much that we elected to extend our stay here 2 more days and use Sirince as our base for exploring all of the West of Turkey (Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale) with no regrets. Be aware that Kirkinca is a set of multiple houses in Sirince Village, and some rooms are fancier than others. Upon arrival they showed us multiple rooms in different buildings and let us choose the one we wanted - Loved It! In the basement of our building (Cotton House #1) they even have a turkish bath / sauna / jacuzzi you can use if you give them a few hours notice to warm it up. Overall I liked this place so much I would give it a 10 out of 10 and I am seriously considering sending my parents there for a vacation. It is beautiful, peaceful, quaint....just plain lovely and a great place to relax at the end of a day of adventures. Cars can only enter the village so far and then its foot, scooter or donkey cart. At night its quiet, and you can see the stars.
Hands down the nicest place I stayed in Turkey. We even had a turkish style shower in our room!

Room Tip: Ask to see multiple rooms within the price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ajontheroad,

Thanks for such a nice review .We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

Ok, we had the best room of the hotel, with a great view of Siringe... And it was really a good room! Big, warm, beatiful, huge bathroom, comfortable bed, lots of hot water... But you may have in mind that the hotel is composed by 3 buildings, and our room was 2 or 3 blocks away from the main part of the hotel... This is not good when it is cold and raining... You have also to have in mind that to arrive at the hotel you have to walk 4, 5 or 6 blocks (don't remember...) with your luggage, hill up... Not good at all (remember the cold and rain...) In the middle of the night we were waked up with people talking really loud inside the hotel, and we were the only costumers there... Point number one: there is no acustic isolation... AND my husband is sure that it was the hotel staff who did all that noise... :( In the morming, we had ordered our coffee to be served at 8 o'clock, cause we had a tour departing at 8:45am, and our room was so far from the main building and the road... Well, we arrived at the restaurant at 8:00am... It was completely closed... We opened it and waited... At 8:20 am I started to open the cabinets, searching for bread and milk to make our own breakfast... That was when somebody finally appeared to prepare the breakfast. The food was ok, but when a second woman appeared , she started talking with the first one and the service slowed... A third one appeared and this just stood there, watching us with a strange face, some times making comments with her friends. Not confortable situation at all... Siringe worths a stay, but maybe there are better options ! Of course nobody was there to carry our luggage out...

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClauSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear ClauSand,

Thanks for the review also your kind and nice suggestions for our hotel and sorry about the amateur staff we worked in the past. We improved our service and rooms since then .We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Based on recommendations, we decided to make Sirince our home when in the Ephesus area. The town was supposed to be picturesque and the Kirkinca Hotel (actually three different houses spread around the town) to be a charming boutique place. But Sirince is incredibly commercial and touristy--kind of like the Grand Bazaar but here everybody is hawking sweet wine. Maybe if I'd never lived in a village before I would have found it quaint, but this place really turned me off.

We switched rooms after the first night, hoping to improve things, but no luck. Each room had it's own problems. Maybe that's supposed to happen in old houses, but some of the problems weren't to do with age, they were just bad management. For example, not changing a light bulb in the bathroom (the only bulb) in spite of several requests, no place to hang clothes in one of the rooms (they had wardrobes back in the day and in other rooms), no place to put toiletry items in the other room's bath (no shelf at all). Everything was kind of dusty. And in our first room, where they had splurged on a whirlpool tub, the shower head was useless--spraying everywhere except in front where the bather stands! These things could be taken care of if management cared.

They did have wifi, but it only worked when I was sitting in their office.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear SamWoodward,

Thanks for the review also your kind and nice suggestions for our hotel and sorry about the amateur staff we worked in the past. We improved our service and rooms since then .We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

we had been told by our wonderful travel agent that we were getting a beautiful suite with 2 beds, justifying the 150 Euros charge for 1 night - instead we got 1 room with 1 large bed and a small fold-up bed in the corner - not a suite by any stretch of the imagination! we thought perhaps there had been a mistake in providing us what we'd paid for, but the hotel confirmed to our agent that they considered they had given us a suite and made no offer to reduce the very high charge

we realize that sirince has high prices since it's a bit isolated but the charm of the mountain village doesn't come close to making up for what we paid - other pensions and hotels in turkey will give you much more for your dollar/pound/euro!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear 2ruse,

Thanks for the review also your kind and nice suggestions for our hotel and sorry about the confusion about the room . We improved our service and rooms since then .We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed there with my girlfriend in Asmali Oda of Erdem House. The room was nice and simple. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was nice. The room has a few small and ignorable problems, which I would like to note for the hotel owners to find solutions. For many people these may not be a problem at all

a. There is no door for the part where toilet and shower are located. Shower is not a problem, but one would like privacy when using the toilet, even when with wife or partner. There can be unpleasant sounds and odors :)
b. there is 1m distance between the mirror and the washbasin so it is difficult to have a shave :)
c. the shower was leaking to the room (not much)
d. the bed makes noice when used by a hot couple :))

In general the stay was quite pleasant thanks to the charming village and old/traditional decoration of the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceofCaspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear PrinceofCaspian ,

Thanks for the review also your kind and nice suggestions for our hotel . We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed for three nights in the Plum room, which is in the Erdem house rather than the main house. The room was supposedly 300 years old and was very unusual in terms of its decor. It was pretty basic for the price, but I guess the rate is all about location and period charm (?) . You have to adopt a very laid backl attiitude here - they will request you car key to re-arrange the vehicles and you will get it back eventually, but everyone works on a "it will all be OK in the end basis".

I have to agree with other reviewers that the information is not great - we did not realise that we could have breakfast in the courtyard underneath until the last day - and had been walking all the way to the main hotel. Having said that everyone was very helpful and friendly, we found the place enchanting and would probably stay there again if we ever went back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkinca, Yönetici at Kirkinca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Phil Stead,

Thanks for such a nice review .We are looking forward to seeing you again .

Mustafa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirince
0.1 km away
Hotel Sirince Evleri
Hotel Sirince Evleri
#2 of 3 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.7 km away
Ayasoluk Hotel
Ayasoluk Hotel
#2 of 30 in Selcuk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 km away
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kayserkaya Cottages
Kayserkaya Cottages
#6 of 9 in Sirince
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 km away
Gullu Konaklari
Gullu Konaklari
#2 of 13 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
108.1 km away
Sihirbazin Evi
Sihirbazin Evi
#3 of 13 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkinca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkinca Hotel

Property: Kirkinca Hotel
Address: Istihlas Mah. No 1 Sirince Koyu, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kirkinca Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kirkinca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkinca Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing