We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”
Review of Agonda Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agonda Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This place is heaven!! we stayed for 4 nights after a long journey across North India. It was a very welcome respite from the chaos and noise of the big cities. We were welcomed by the friendly staff who run the villas and from then on until we left nothing was too much trouble. The villas are definitely a step up from the rather rudimentary beach huts found along Agonda beach but I guess that is also reflected in the price. Bit Worth every rupee!! The bathroom is lovely - enjoyed showering under the stars - and the bed is huge and immensely comfortable. Favourite part of the day was opening up the sliding front doors them lying back inbed waiting for Goa to wake up. The there was breakfast!!! The paratha and masala omlettes were soooo good I ordered them every morning. I would also suggest you wander down to the main Agonda complex down the beach for dinner. The manager of the complex is very helpful and the food at the restaurant was some of he best we had in India. It is in a lovely garden setting overlooking the beach. Highly recommend botht he villas and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Paradise just requires a peaceful environment, a stunning view with comfort so that you can relax and enjoy, not to mention the natural smiles of our staff.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Balinese Villa for 4 nights and we loved the villa and Agonda beach as a whole.

First off, the Balinese Villa is raised so you get more privacy. At night, we felt safe enough to sleep with the sliding doors open. That allowed us to sleep with the standing fan on low and wake up to the sight of the ocean. Two negatives about our sleep was that the ceiling fan only has one speed (very high) and in the early morning, it gets cold enough to warrant heavier blankets. We woke up every morning very cold. If they want to position themselves as the nicest place in Agonda, they should invest in heavier blankets. But that's a small quibble really. We slept with the mosquito net and each room also has a plug in repellent. We also used a coil and put it on our balcony. We did not get bit, even with the door wide open.

I guess another negative is the bathroom being downstairs, which kind of sucks when you wake up in the middle of the night to pee. When we checked in we found a rat trap in our bathroom (lovely!) but they removed it the next day when they cleaned our room. One night, a cat somehow got into our bathroom and ran up the steps and out the door. It was pretty funny.

The bed itself is huge. I think it's a king size. There is a nice changing area. The room is nicely decorated and feels very luxurious. The room includes two fans (no AC but not needed), a lockable cupboard, and real big plus - a mini fridge. The fridge is well stocked and the girls bring you two bottles of water everyday. The alcohol is the same price as the White Sands resort (about a 5 min walk away). Large Kingfishers are only 70 rupees (only 5 more than at the wine shop down the road).

The bathroom is huge and really amazing. Except for the first day when our hot water did not even turn on, we had hot water everyday. That pleased my wife, but honestly, if you're baking in the sun the whole day, the last thing you need is hot water against your skin. While the bathrooms have hand towels (a rarity in India) and pump handsoap (also a rarity), the villas do not come with shower soap or shampoo. For the price we paid, we expected that every room would come with some fancy shmancy soap, shampoo, and body lotion like in the hotels. For the price they charge, those toiletries should really be included.

We loved the balcony but we mostly spent our time on the loungers. We had the security men move our loungers out to the beach everyday so we could be in the sun and close to the water. If you prefer that, they will move the loungers for you. Agonda beach is very clean, with nice warm water, good waves, no hawkers, and of course random cows. There are plenty of dogs but they are harmless. Almost everyday, a dog would come over to us and sleep under our lounger - and we would barely notice the dog after he/she settled in.

Service is very good. The girls bring you breakfast (included) and a paper everyday. They will also clean your room and give you new towels everyday. We appreciated the guard but Agonda always felt safe anyway. Note that the girls however leave at 6pm so if you're hankering for tea any later than that, you're out of luck. That's why a tea/coffee maker would be a good idea. On Valentines Day, they brought us roses :)

Overall, we really liked our stay at the Agonda Villas and did not at all want to leave. It's expensive, but worth it if you are willing to splurge.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the steps, go for the Balinese Villa. Specifically, ask for the one that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again. Following your stay the fan control was fixed and we have taken your advice and provide heavy blankets.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

our balinese villa was romantic, with the best sunset-view... few steps from the bed to the waves... everything nicely done and clean.
minibar with beer, water, softdrinks for average prices (kingfisher for 50inr)
normally my place to stay is patnem, but agonda was also really nice... especially if you want to have it extra-quiet and peaceful.
many nice restaurants on the beach. highly recommended is the white sands-restaurant which belongs to the villas and the green valley at rama beach resort (southend of the beach).
the 2 women who did our breakfast and brought it on our terrace, cleaned the rooms and everything, were two angels. we liked them SO much. i had a scooter accident and they have been so caring and loving... thank you for everything... hope to see u next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yoganina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

I will pass on your thanks to the staff and thank them myself.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards and all the best from us all at Agonda Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Beach:
I stayed 5 days in North Vagator beach before I came here. Agonda Beach is SO much cleaner than anywhere else in Goa and you dont have to deal with constant hawkers and touts like on other beaches. Also fewer cows and NO TRASH, thank god. I ran every morning at sunrise and at sunset. Beautiful long stretch of sand.

The Villas:
The villas are a bit strange. They are pretty far from Agonda White Sand (the main resort) and there are only 3 villas sandwiched between other resorts. The villas are built every year from scratch apparently so the construction is not permanent and thus has some issues. For instance, I stayed in the Balinese hut and there was a HUGE gap between the sliding front doors and the walls - a person could get through. I felt safe because of the 24 hour guard who watched the 3 villas and its not like Agonda is dangerous. Just be prepared for these kinds of strange things. And yes, what the other people said about the hot water is true. BUT you wont get hot water in other places in Agonda because most places are built from scratch every year. PLUS, YOU DONT NEED HOT WATER. Cmon people, pulease. I will be blatantly honest though - a cat broke into my villa one night and tried to sleep in my bed(several times, after being kicked out over and over). I had to get them to barricade the gaps in the doors in order to get some rest. My neighbor in the next villa though had a *rat* who lived in the roof of her villa. She had to sleep with the LIGHTS ON. I also stayed in that villa and found that if I slept with the lights on and with my ear plugs, it was OK. And p.s. use the mosquito net even if you dont see them during the day. I got eaten alive the first night.
OK, all those negative points aside, it is the best place in Agonda and Goa. I was there 5 days and every day, tourists were coming over to find out if there was availability and how much it cost. That tells me that the other places on Agonda Beach are not as good. I also saw alot of them walking on the beach. They looked like they had less reliable construction and were more run-down. The private loungers alone are worth it. I stayed at Agonda White Sand one night and there was NO loungers available. Damn Germans get up at sunrise and put their towel down and go back to sleep.
Anyway so the private loungers are great, the women who take care of you are really sweet and nice, and they bring you breakfast and afternoon tea to your porch or your lounger.
Bathrooms are nice, particularly in the Balinese one at night. Kinda romantic and sexy lighting...Most importantly, it is a good place for WOMEN TRAVELLING ALONE. I felt really safe the whole time.
The Manager Shawn is a nice guy - young kid about 25. Be smart, and negotiate your room rate when you get there. Helps if you book at White Sand and just innocently inquire about an upgrade to the villa. Be open to moving from villa to villa if need be. I paid 4500rp/night. Awesome and the villas are closer to the better restaurants in Goa - primarily Simrose and Jardim de Mar, they are right next to each other. Simrose has tons of bugs crawling around the tables though.. Eating at Agonda White Sand was cheaper than Simrose and Jardim but I thought it was not as good and service was slower. Waiters are super nice at Jardim too. All 3 restaurants have free Wi-Fi.

Other tips:
Go to an internet cafe and book your taxi back to the airport. Should be 1200rp. Dont pay more!

Bring your earplugs- the waves crash really really loud at night. Its true of ANY resort on Agonda Beach.

There is a new ATM cash machine near the church. Its open 24/7.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welovemaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Fantastic place for some time or more doing absolutely nothing. We did just that for two whole weeks and enjoyed it very much.

When we opened the sliding doors we got everything we expected from seeing the website. A big bed, a dressing room with a closet, a fridge, and a very nice half open bathroom down the stairs. All very stylish and chic. But the best part was the front porch and the comfy daybeds on the sand, about 30 metres from the perfect warm water of the sea.

The breakfast that is served every morning isn't great, but the fact that someone brings it up to your porch makes it all good.

There is one thing that's really annoying: the shower. On the website it says that there's hot and cold water. It's not a lie, cause there is hot water sometimes, for a couple of seconds, but it's very annoying that you have to wait 5-10 minutes before it's hot and then it gets cold really quickly again. That being said, after a couple of days we didn;t even mind the shower, because we were so relaxed from the whole White Sands experience.

Judging from the looks we got from passers by, I would say this is the best place in Agonda. Agonda is a nice little village, by the way. Or better: a nice little street, cause it's not more than that. But it has a couple of pretty good restaurants (Simrose especially) and there's a pretty decent bakery that sells real coffee (as opposed to the nescafe that most restaurants serve). Very nice place for a doing-nothing-holiday. And with a couple of small modifications these huts would be even better. A better working shower, a water boiler to make your own coffee and tea and maybe shutters for the windows, cause it does get cold at night and when the wind blows right through, it gets cold. And maybe shutters will also keep out the constant barking of the dogs at night.

Anyway, not perfection, but still extremely fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmirAndriesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again. We have listened to your comments and we have since installed a new more robust hot water system.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed in the beautiful, Balinese styled villa, where the bedroom is on the first floor and the balcony overlooks the beach and the sea.
The bedroom is very large and has a big , comfy bed, a wardrobe, bedside tables and a fan. You go down an open staircase at the back of the bedroom to the ground floor bathroom, which is partially open to the sky. The bathroom is very modern and has a shower with hot water.
There are two friendly, english speaking ladies, who are available during the day to provide breakfast on the balcony, drinks and to clean the rooms. Other meals are best taken at the very pleasant, Agonda White Sands restaurant, about 5 minutes walk up the beach, which is in the same ownership.
There is direct access to the beach from the front of the villa. A beautiful place to stay, but quite expensive compared with other, albeit much more basic, properties in this area.
Access to the villa is via an open staicase at the front and the bathroom is reached via an open staircase down from the bedroom. This could be a problem for persons who have difficulty climbing or descending open staircases

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgondaVillas, Manager at Agonda Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Amazing, wow, beautiful, stressless and an absolute perfect match when you are searching for individual holiday trip. We spent 10 days in a chinese villa.
It fits everything, service, food, mother nature, the water (10 meters right over the beach, amazing).
Everyday cleaning and a perfect service gives you an extremly comfort.
Special thanks to Shaan, Rupesh, Carol, Archana and the rest of staff, you guys do a really good job.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macondo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgondaVillas, Owner at Agonda Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We are so happy that you had a great time and we would love to see you again.

I have passed on your thank to all the staff who are wonderful. Luck us and lucky you.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards from us all at Agonda Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agonda hotels
0.5 km away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 9 in Agonda
513 reviews
0.5 km away
Anantra Sea View Resort
0.8 km away
The Bay Agonda
The Bay Agonda
#2 of 9 in Agonda
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Agonda White Sand
Agonda White Sand
#3 of 61 in Agonda
341 reviews
1.3 km away
Agonda Cottages
Agonda Cottages
#2 of 61 in Agonda
186 reviews
0.6 km away
Simrose
Simrose
#1 of 61 in Agonda
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agonda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agonda Villas

Address: Agonda Beach Road, Agonda 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Agonda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Agonda
Price Range: $169 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agonda Villas in South Goa. Agonda Villas are bringing a touch of luxury to unspoilt Agonda with 5 boutique sea-facing villas. Beautifully designed with superb attention to detail, the villas are set in unrivalled private locations looking directly over the pristine white sand of Agonda beach and the Arabian ocean. There are 5 "Luxury" villas, four of them built in Balinese style and the other in Chinese, the villas are chic and spacious with a beautifully furnished bedroom, dressing room, and semi open-air bathroom, for the magical experience of showering under the stars. The unique Chinese style villa on ground level, handcrafted from bamboo by Keralan house boat carpenters. There are four "Grand" villas. Each with a cold water jacuzzi on the front terrace. These villas offer an even more spacious interior for shear indulgence. We have designed these villas to be a lavish environment for 2 people but there is sufficient space should you choose to bring your children. Guests have their own shaded sun loungers on an exclusive stretch of sand at the front of the properties. Enjoy food and drinks to be served to your veranda from our nearby cottage restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Agonda Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agonda Villas Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing