We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must!”

Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Villareal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$55
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We offer a rustic ranch style evening that's private & exclusive.We specialize in small groups & also do special events for families & friends. ( What we do, is BBQ just for u.) The BBQ is outside in " the shack "under the stars, people relax in the Cafe & Saloon, which is a unique rustic wood design.The best way to descibe the set up is " Costa Rican cowboy Saloon with a surfer twist."We make every evening special & unique ! It is reservations only. Please book in advance. We start at 7 pm & BBQ the best local assorted meats,lomo,ribs,pork,steak,chorizo,ranch chicken & veggies. Then finish the evening with a tropical desert that's always a surprise, followed by a tropical blended some thing good. We start BBQ ing at 7pm. & The food is served no later than 7.30 Pm.We suggest people arrive at 6.30-7 Pm.The good news we have a new paved road so it's a quick trip from tamarindo.The BBQ dinners we do are a feast, so it's very unlikely u will leave hungry.See u soon & Pura Vida !
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited earlier this week and had a blast at Black Stallion! As most reviews have said, Alex and Fabio were very warm and friendly hosts, making us feel right at home.

As it’s currently low season, it was just us two ziplining and there was some downpour in the morning but our instructors were kind and funny, putting us at ease. It was our first time ziplining and though I’m usually terrified of heights, I can say I’d do it again.

Saying hi to the animals on the farm was also a treat as we missed our kitties and puppy at home. Food was also delicious. Overall, don’t hesitate if you’re consider an adventure here!

Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you very much for the great review.
Yes,sorry about the sporadic tropical rain October is a tricky month in Costa Rica.It rained for 3 days non stop after you left,good news we need the rain.Happy animals & jungle.Thanks again for visiting us.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 535 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2018

Fabulous! Great staff, great food. The zip lining was fantastic. The Ranch is awesome, 1400 acres in a gorgeous setting. Got to see some monkeys. Rode horses. We were happy:) And then, they bring out tons of some of the best food we had ever tasted. Alex was a great host. Entertaining too! We all highly recommend this adventure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Thanks for the great review,most appreciated.
You got to experience the laid back low season.
A good time to be in Costa Rica.Happy to see
you loved the canopy zip & BBQ lunch.We do
cook up a storm.Thanks for visiting the ranch.
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Such a fun place! We ate here one night with great homemade food and super kind and fun staff! We came back and did their Zip Lines which was amazing! 9 lines above and through the jungle. A real Costa Rican experience! Loved it here at Black Stallion.

Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesurfercowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for the great review.Very happy to see you loved the Ranch and our BBQ cooking style.We like to keep it rustic Costa Rican.Zipping with us is an exclusive and relaxed fun time.We are not a big machine,we are all about families & friends.
Thanks Again,we hope to see u soon.Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

If you are looking for authentic and delicious food, the black stallion is the place to go. They had an amazing meal with an assortment of options especially barbecue! The meal felt as if it was home cooked. Not only was the meal great, but we enjoyed the 9 Ziplines through the scenic hills. If you have the chance to meet Alex or Pablo they are great people to make friends with! Definitely a highlight of my trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gobeavs2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surferchefcowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Big thank you for the great review, yes we cook fresh every day using the best local ingredients, that’s why we like bookings well in advance.
Then you get the best Pura Vida experience.
Thanks again Amigos.Enjoy beautiful Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place!! Staff friendly and outgoing, hosted group of 5 of us on our last day and was by far the highlight of our trip. After an awesome zip line course, the food served was delicious and better than any restaurant we had been to so far!! Definitely will be coming back- highly recommended if looking for a fun day!

1  Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesurfercowboy, Manager at Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you for visiting us and the great review we appreciate.Zipping with us is a private adventure,we stick to the original Pura Vida flavour with no stress on the menu.
Next time you can Ride after the canopy back to the cafe and jump in the pool,so bring
swim trunks for the family.Its all Pura Vida on the ranch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Black Stallion Cafe & Surf Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing